Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "...Remember The Days When We Never Had A Dime...", 26 July 2009
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Give Me The Night (Audio CD)
*** THIS REVIEW IS FOR THE SHM-CD 2009 REMASTER ***

Released in July 1980 on Warner Brothers K 56823 in the UK and HS 3453 in the USA, George Benson's "Give Me The Night" was a huge record at the time (it peaked at No. 3 in both countries).

And like Michael Jackson's "Off The Wall" from 1978 before it - its fusion of soul, funk and jazz was popular everywhere - crossing over every rock barrier like never before (it was Grammy nominated and won too).

Yet except for a few remastered tracks on the excellent 2CD "Anthology" set from 2000 on Rhino, the entire album has been languishing around for over two decades now on one of those awful Eighties CDs with dullard murky sound. Until now...

Released 24 June 2009 in Japan-only on Warner Bros WPCR-13453 - this 24-bit remastered version is an audiophile CD on their SUPER HIGH MATERIALS format (playable on all players - 42:51 minutes).

And coming from an era that is probably the most derided in history by music lovers - especially when it comes to bombastic sound and ham-fisted production excesses - this SHM version is a BEAUTIFULLY REALIZED CD REMASTER - it really is.

It doesn't say who 24-bit remastered this album, but whoever did it, has produced the most awesome result because the sound quality is just GLORIOUS - I mean BEAUTIFUL. Of course the album always had the immaculate production values of QUINCY JONES and the stunning array of top session men to thank for its polish anyway - but this newly upgraded version is just wonderful. It's neither falsely loud nor brash - there's no audible hiss, but it's also not clinically clean - there's air around the instruments - it's just warm and THERE.

You hear all the instrumentation - especially the bass and rhythm sections. The wildly underrated funky-as-James-Brown's-DNA instrumental "Off Broadway" is just stunning now - as is David Wolinski's brilliantly soulful and sleek "Midnight Love Affair" - WOWSER!
(There's an argument raging around the net at the moment about sly remastering techniques, pumping up the loudness of reissues for the so-called `iPod' generation - which essentially produces downloads that sound better but lack any real dynamic range. I mention this because to my ears there's none of that on here.)
The jewel case is standard and there's the black and gold obi strip inside; the SHM CD itself feels slightly heavier to ordinary CDs - more substantial - it seems to hold better as it plays in the tray somehow - steady. The 8-page booklet is disappointingly the same as US/Euro issues (has session details though) and the extra foldout page of info about the album that you get in these Japanese issues is - well in Japanese - so its kinda useless.

Gripes - no Euro/USA issue so it costs as an import - and it wouldn't have taken much to include the edited single mixes of "Give Me The Night" and "Love X Love" as bonus tracks, but somehow this CD isn't about ramming the disc chocker full of extras - it's about the best sound - and on that front they've achieved their goal with absolute knobs on.

With 6 of it's 10 killer songs written by Britain's ROD TEMPERTON and the immaculate production values of veteran sound man QUINCY JONES, "Give Me The Night" practically set up the template for the album that would literally take over the world three years later - Michael Jackson's "Thriller" (Quincy produced and Temperton wrote 3 of its 9 songs including the title track).

Ok - this version is expensive and it's probably even awkward to obtain, but I've loved rehearing "Give Me The Night" in this stunning sound quality - beautiful stuff - and recommended big time.

PS: It's available mail-order from Amazon sites or two superb Japanese CD sites I use - CD JAPAN at "cdjapan.co.jp" and MUNDO at "mediawars.ne.jp".

"Give Me The Night" is also a part of the Japanese-Only 2009 "Warner Bros. Jazz & Fusion SHM-CD Collection" series - in alphabetical order the other 19 titles are:

1. Breezin' - GEORGE BENSON (1976)
(Warner Bros. WPCR-13452)
2. Larry Carlton - LARRY CARLTON (1978)
(Warner Bros. WPCR-13446)
3. Sleepwalk - LARRY CARLTON (1982)
(Warner Bros. WPCR-13448)
4. Strikes Twice - LARRY CARLTON (1980)
(Warner Bros. WPCR-13447)
5. Amandla - MILES DAVIS (1989)
(Warner Bros. WPCR-13443)
6. Doo-Bop - MILES DAVIS (1991)
(Warner Bros. WPCR-13444)
7. Live Around The World - MILES DAVIS (1996)
(Warner Bros. WPCR-13445)
8. Siesta - MILES DAVIS and MARCUS MILLER (1982)
(Warner Bros WPCR-13442)
9. Tutu - MILES DAVIS (1986)
(Warner Bros WPCR-13441)
10. Teasin' - CORNELL DUPREE (1974)
(Warner Bros. WPCR-13457)
11. Between The Sheets - FOURPLAY (1993)
[Featuring Bob James, Lee Ritenour, Nathan East and Harvey Mason]
(Warner Bros. WPCR-13460)
12. Fourplay - FOURPLAY (1991)
(Warner Bros. WPCR-13459)
13. Word Of Mouth - JACO PASTORIUS (1981)
(Warner Bros. WPCR-13454)
14. Rit - LEE RITENOUR (1981)
(Warner Bros. WPCR-13456)
15. The Captain's Journey - LEE RITENOUR (1978)
(Warner Bros. WPCR-13455)
16. Magnetic - STEPS AHEAD [feat Michael Brecker] (1986)
(Warner Bros. WPCR-13458)
17. More Stuff - STUFF (1977)
(Warner Bros. WPCR-13450)
18. Stuff - STUFF (1976)
(Warner Bros. WPCR-13449)
19. Winelight - GROVER WASHINGTON, Jr. (1980)
(Warner Bros. WPCR-13451)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality, 2 Sep 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Give Me The Night (Audio CD)
I picked this up in a bargain bin in Singapore, along with Morbid Angel's Domination - 2 real fine, if diametrically opposing, guitar albums. I only knew the title track, but it had Quincy Jones' name as producer, so I bet on there being at last a couple more decent tracks - the whole album holds together real well, mixing jazzy instrumental/vocal tracks with more contemporaneous soul gear. Quality late night stuff...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classy meeting of jazz and dance music, 24 Nov 2006
By 
D. J. H. Thorn "davethorn13" (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Give Me The Night (Audio CD)
I don't have much time for music that goes under the banner of disco, soul, etc., but occasionally those genres throw up something that I can't ignore. I've always had a liking for the title track of this album and, knowing that Benson is a renowned jazz performer and that he has some of the best assistance possible here, I took a chance. What a delight. Benson's jazz background shows up regularly, but 'Give Me The Night' is no less accessible an album. It has strong songs, such as 'Star Of The Story', great grooves and classy arrangements, courtesy of Quincy Jones. Perhaps 'Love X Love' is a touch too mild for an opening track, but 'Off Broadway' certainly kicks off. I'm not so sure Benson did anything as good as this 1980 album again. Later songs such as 'In Your Eyes' seem to be more in the smooth, Luther Van Dross mould and do nothing for me. But 'Give Me The Night' is a fine album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars masterful !, 18 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Give Me The Night (Audio CD)
A must have for Benson fan's. 1980 was a great year for crossover artist's, and George was no exception. A masterstroke collaboration btween Benson and Quincy Jones make this a classic. No album fillers here, every track superb. Paricular favorites include "midnight love affair "and " Off Broadway " Benson fans will have read all this before, but hey, why not?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Goosebumps..., 18 Dec 2003
By 
Andy Millward (Tiptree, Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Give Me The Night (Audio CD)
Remember where you were when you first heard Give Me The Night? I do, vividly. I was hitch-hiking across the USA in summer, 1980, and got a lift with a restaurant designer who took me from Fort Worth, Texas to Phoenix, Arizona. As we drove across the vast expanse of Texas desert, with only coyotes, cacti, oil donkeys, distant mountains and blue sky for company. The guy played this album, fresh out, all through the journey. And what a revelation it was!
What stands out in my memory was the title track, and in particular the eerie backing vocals: "alright...tonight." To this day, I feel a tingle of excitement down my spine when I hear that track, and the whole album come to that. George Benson takes me back to the wide open spaces of George Bush country!
George himself bears parallels to Nat King Cole. Both were talented musicians who unfortunately possessed seductive voices best suited for the smooth & easy end of soul. And who remembers Nat's jazz piano nowadays? George is a brilliant jazz guitarist, but hardly ever breaks out into improvisation these days - why should he when he can make albums like this so effortlessly!
Why only 4 stars? I never did forgive George for the sloppy and sentimental Moody's Mood. Worse still, Amy Winehouse recorded it, too. Still, everyone makes mistakes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars cd, 27 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Give Me The Night (Audio CD)
a really good album.i had the album on tape format years ago still sounds good ,it is a timeless classic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely album, 26 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Give Me The Night (MP3 Download)
If you love easy soul then this is the album for you, very easy to listen to with his own distinguished tone......really nice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Great classic album., 11 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Give Me The Night (Audio CD)
Classic brilliance from George Benson. Every track will satisfy your soul. A tad expensive for an old school album like this. However the delivery was on the the money, so absolutely a great purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great CD by legendary artist, 20 May 2013
By 
Mrs. D. Roach "Di," (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Give Me The Night (Audio CD)
what a classic album buy an iconic artist. George Benson at his best with some of his most memorable tracks. Love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Album, 13 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Give Me The Night (Audio CD)
Brought this to complete CD collection of his early work, an enjoyable album which at least has some links to early Jazz past.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Give Me The Night
Give Me The Night by George Benson (Audio CD - 1984)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews