Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ...the beginning of the end...
A Night On The Town and Atlantic Crossing were the albums that saw Rod Stewart junk his old buddies in The Faces, bring in a host of top notch session musicians and move fully into the world of adult contemporary music. For a lot of people it was where he lost his mojo, but as he teetered on the edge of becoming a fully fledged cartoon character, there were still some...
Published on 3 July 2009 by Mr. H

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good music but weak remasters
I bought this and Atlantic Crossing at the same time and was so disappointed with these weak and tinny remasters. The music's great but that really lets it down, for me.
Published on 27 April 2011 by Pete


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ...the beginning of the end..., 3 July 2009
By 
Mr. H "Mr H" (Embra) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
A Night On The Town and Atlantic Crossing were the albums that saw Rod Stewart junk his old buddies in The Faces, bring in a host of top notch session musicians and move fully into the world of adult contemporary music. For a lot of people it was where he lost his mojo, but as he teetered on the edge of becoming a fully fledged cartoon character, there were still some songs worth listening to.

Starting with the lesser of the two, A Night On The Town, from 1976, solidified the success of Atlantic Crossing, but with a stodgier set of songs, and the final smoothing of the rough edges. That smoothing helped create a couple of massive hit singles in the shape of "Tonight's The Night (Gonna Be Alright)" and "The Killing Of Georgie (Part I and II)", both from the ever diminishing pen of Rod himself. This remastered set comes as a 2-CD edition, with the first one adding in B-side "Rosie". The second set adds in early versions of the whole album and B-side, along with a studio outtake called "Share" and an alternate version of the Beatles tune "Get Back". The earlier versions actually work very well, as they're less polished than the issued ones. However, the album isn't a classic with only the aforementioned "Tonight's The Night..." and "The First Cut Is The Deepest" making the cut on my personal best of Rod.

Moving back nine months (yes only nine months) we have Atlantic Crossing, the last truly essential Rod Stewart album. Despite the cries of sell out and the move to Los Angeles, this album saw the friction between his past and his future creating something a bit special. Some of the songs were recorded in Muscle Shoals, Alabama and even if the Fast Side / Slow Side split doesn't work as well on CD, this still remains a cracker. Now I loathe "Sailing" as much as the next man, but by the time you get there, you've already heard fabulous renditions of "Three Time Loser", "Drift Away", "Stone Cold Sober" and the big, non-Sailing hits, "I Don't Want To Talk About It" and "This Old Heart Of Mine", the latter recorded with the MGs. Not to forget my favourite of them all, the Barry Goldberg / Gerry Goffin song "It's Not The Spotlight". The main album is augmented with an extra instrumental featuring The Atlantic Crossing Drum & Pipe Band playing the "Skye Boat Song", so you may want to hit pause after "Still Love You".

Over on the second disc you can hear alternate versions of the entire album, along with three outtakes well worth hearing, as Rod takes on covers of the Bee Gee's "To Love Somebody", Lee Dorsey's "Holy Cow" and Elvis Presley's "Return To Sender". If you're someone who wrote Rod Stewart off after his first couple of solo albums, then you really should give this one a chance. It's well worth the price of admission.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of Rod's original ballad albums, 7 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: A Night On The Town (Audio CD)
This is a classic Rod Stewart ballad album. It has such great depth of human emotion in tracks such as The Killing of Georgie, Yhe First Cut is the Deepest and Tonights the Night. You can almost imagine the great man in the role of some of the lyrics and the experiences of his life. Combined with other tracks on the album that are complete contrast. Great rock tracks such as the Ball Trap and Wild Side of Life. This is a classic album that has something for all tastes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Variation on a theme. Great stuff and very worthwhile, 21 July 2009
By 
Variation on a theme. Great stuff and very worthwhile.

When our Rodders brought out *Atlantic Crossing* and *A Night on The Town* all those years ago, they were instant classics and the boy sure done good, which was great for us. Since then he's gone a bit la-di-da but what the heck. These new 2CD compo of original and alternates is a brilliant idea. What it shows is just how good and perceptive the guys were who released the original albums. They were the best cuts by far. That said it's always lovely to hear variations from the original artist and these are deserving of purchase in their own right. What is also clear is the originals have been touched up in that Rods voice is so clear and pronounced in these tracks, it really stands out on it's own. Another great plus I'd say.

If you liked the originals you will love these for sure.

As for Rodders? God Bless you my son for bringing all back home to me :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth a night on the town!!! CLASSIC ROD., 19 Aug 2009
By 
Mr. Paul Edwards "edzeleven" (Leics. UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This was my first album of my adult period (as opposed to my teenage years). It still gets played many times each year and I will always enjoy listening to it!
CLASSIC ROD STEWART
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Night on the Town (Audio CD)
Very Pleased.Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great music, 30 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a must for rod stewart fans as I believe it is best album with slow and fast beats and his best vocals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rod never disappoints!, 26 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have always been a fan of Rod Stewart and I am now collecting a lot of his old stuff (plus his latest album). ''A Night on the Town'' is a valuable addition to my collection and it's been a pleasure to listen to it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 14 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Night On The Town (Audio CD)
Fabulous but I can't rave on and on enough to fill in the gaps required here, theres too much space and I've said it all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!!!, 1 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Night on the Town (Audio CD)
Excellent seller
fast delivery
Still love to listen to this album after so many years and was a must buy after my original got lost during a move
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Rod at his best, 22 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Night On The Town (Audio CD)
Not my favourite singer but Rod is always good to listen to and this recording is,in my opinion, one of his best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Night on the Town
Night on the Town by Rod Stewart (Audio CD - 1990)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews