Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars their most underated...
Unfairly ignored materpiece from my favourite band. True, Lowell George was getting edged out by now but this still contains some of the best musical moments of the seventies. " Long Distance Love" will reduce any grown man to tears while " Down Below the Borderline" shimmers in its own funky glory. Richie Haywards drumming inspired me to learn and his work on "Day and...
Published on 21 Nov 2003 by Graham S. Curtis

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sonic Disappointment
Well, the music will always get five stars and I have loved this album since it was first released.

This review is more about the sonic quality of this 2012 Rockbeat Records release and in particular the eight tracks from the original album when compared to the 1980's Warner CD.
This release is louder, but normally that can be dealt with using the volume...
Published on 14 July 2012 by Oscat


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars their most underated..., 21 Nov 2003
This review is from: The Last Record Album (Audio CD)
Unfairly ignored materpiece from my favourite band. True, Lowell George was getting edged out by now but this still contains some of the best musical moments of the seventies. " Long Distance Love" will reduce any grown man to tears while " Down Below the Borderline" shimmers in its own funky glory. Richie Haywards drumming inspired me to learn and his work on "Day and Night"( he had just recovered from a bad motorcycle accident)still inspires me today. Yes, everyone prefers their earlier stuff but to me this is my most plated album ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smooth as Jelly, 16 April 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Record Album (Audio CD)
This album by Little Feat has to be the "I MUST HAVE in my Little Feat collection" appeal.All the songs have that wonderful feel you would expect from a band at their very best."Long Distance Love" has to be one of the classic love songs of all time...beautifully played and sung with great feeling by Lowell George."Down below the borderline" has a tremendous groove about it that sticks in your memory.The production is flawless....has all the right ingredience for a Little Feat album.Not a single poor song on this one!Smooth as jelly!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sonic Disappointment, 14 July 2012
By 
This review is from: Last Record Album (Audio CD)
Well, the music will always get five stars and I have loved this album since it was first released.

This review is more about the sonic quality of this 2012 Rockbeat Records release and in particular the eight tracks from the original album when compared to the 1980's Warner CD.
This release is louder, but normally that can be dealt with using the volume dial, it appears to have no extra detail, in fact I find the spacing of instruments and particularly the hi hat and percussion better on 1980's CD.
The rather flat production of the original recording is still there. I have spent the afternoon tyring convince myself that it sounds better and IMHO I can't. Normally with a good remaster it brings it to life, that is not the case here.
There is nothing on the cover to actually say they have been remastered and compared to High Roller from the same sessions but remastered for Hotcakes and Outtakes, and included here, the difference is astounding, if the original tracks had had the same treatment I would have been very happy. But as it stands I am one disappointed Little Feat fan.

I also got the double of Time Loves a Hero and Down on the Farm remastered by Phil Kinrade for Edsel -- the 1980's versions have now been given away. I hope Edsel will do the same for previous albums including this one.
Remember opinion is subjective, but at this price I expected much much more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finger clickin' good, 10 Sep 2009
By 
Huck Flynn "huckleberry" (northern ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Last Record Album (Audio CD)
Despite the brilliance of Dixie Chicken and Feats Don't Fail Me Now, this remains my favourite Feat album - Lowell George is still a big influence, writing, singing and playing to the fore with his gritty rocky style, but the songs have a growing complexity and fusion of southern boogie, funk, soul, latin jazz and blues influences - Skynyrd, Steely Dan, Doobies, Crusaders, Zappa and beyond - that makes it such a wonderful experience. Bill Payne's keyboards are a dominating force in many of the songs and the twin guitars provide a strong but complementary contrast, Barrere's subtle funk and George's scintillating slide. The rhythm section is immense too, not an easy task following the complex and subtle shifts in some of the songs. The material is uniformly excellent and the mix lets all the great musicians standout and captures the raw energy and emotion of a top live band, even in the studio setting. George's voice is superb as ever, rough edged on the funkier stuff, smooth and seductive on the slower ballads like "Long Distance Love".
At only about 32 minutes long it is quite short but the intensity is relentless and there are a few bonus live tracks although not up to the standard of the rest of the original album. Little Feat at their hottest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic, 5 April 2013
This review is from: The Last Record Album (Audio CD)
I was lucky enough to be introduced to Little Feat in the seventies and having listened to all their albums can say without hesitation that this is their finest album period.(Dixie Chicken a very close second) I have played this over and over again and it never gets stale, it is probably their most accessible album. Standout tracks for me are Long Distance Love, Somebody's leavin' and Mercenary Territory - brilliant. This is one album that I'm certain you won't regret having in your collection. Buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Litte Feat's Classic Album, 21 Jun 2011
By 
TonyTee (Abingdon, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Last Record Album (Audio CD)
This is my favourite Little Feat album, good tight songs played with lots of funk. A must for any Little Feat collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I can't top that last review, 1 Feb 2006
By 
B. Mills "shinytinhead" (bristol) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Last Record Album (Audio CD)
I bought this as a lad with my pocket money and I'm still grooving to it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars one of the greatest 70s bands, 19 Oct 2013
By 
M. Beardon - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Record Album (Audio CD)
This is my favourite Little Feat Album. Lowell George's voice and arrangements are legendary. I don't think any other band gets near to it. Wonderful stuff
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Little Feat, 30 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Record Album (Audio CD)
Only recently got to know of this band through listening to them being interviewed on Radio 2. I just had to buy some of their music. This album is stunningly superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Little Feat, Big Band, 18 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Record Album (Audio CD)
This is a great band, always have been, sadly just a couple of gigs next year. This album is great what else can you say, Little Feat are up there with all the great rock bands.
Colin B
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Last Record Album
The Last Record Album by Little Feat (Audio CD - 1988)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews