Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dixie Chicken Flies High
The sixties and seventies produced some truly great popular music, but Little Feat were one of the few bands who took the genre onto an altogether higher plain. The album Sailin' Shoes (1972) brought the first indications of a truly mature musicality and the brilliance of Dixie Chicken (1973) was the manifestation of this promise. Moving away from the formulaic and into...
Published on 27 May 2000

versus
1 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Studio Feat No Fire
This is a decent album, with a wide range of styles in evidence, but the numbers simply don't catch fire like they did live. Fat Man in the Bath Tub and On Your Way Down are both still great, and this is a worthwhile purchase at today's cheap prices, but check out the live gigs especially Winterland Valaentine's Day 1976.
Published on 16 Aug 2009 by Mr. A. D. Bickerstaffe


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dixie Chicken Flies High, 27 May 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Dixie Chicken (Audio CD)
The sixties and seventies produced some truly great popular music, but Little Feat were one of the few bands who took the genre onto an altogether higher plain. The album Sailin' Shoes (1972) brought the first indications of a truly mature musicality and the brilliance of Dixie Chicken (1973) was the manifestation of this promise. Moving away from the formulaic and into a rarefied territory of their own making, the band drew heavily on their southern roots to produce an album which never fails to impress and frequently induces nothing less than awe. Lowell George was, of course, the indispensable catalyst in this intriguing mix, and his talents, as songwriter, vocalist, guitarist, producer and arranger, don't waver for one second. The band don't let him down either and it would be hard to imagine such artistry without their consummate musicianship. There seems little point in even trying to describe in detail such a varied and textured album as Dixie Chicken; it's best just to buy it and listen - and then treat yourself to Sailin' Shoes and the follow-up, Feats Don't Fail Me Now (1974). Another 'must buy', an album of bits and pieces compiled after the death of Lowell George, is Hoy! Hoy! (1981). There's material on this most other bands would sell their souls for, but which George discarded. But his solo album, Thanks I'll Eat It Here (1979), is possibly the only other work that, on its own terms, truly equals the great Dixie Chicken. Ian Nicol.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Next Record Album You Should Buy, 19 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Dixie Chicken (Audio CD)
This album must be one of the most underrated of all time. Little Feat are often dismissed as mere critics' darlings, but they made some of the most wonderful pop music of the 1970's. Although the previous two albums, "Little Feat" and "Sailin' Shoes" are pretty damn good, and "Feats Don't Fail Me Now" and "The Last Record Album" are superb, this is the album where it all comes together.
Far and away the best Little Feat album (quite an achievement), "Dixie Chicken"'s stew of soul, rock, r'n'b, blues, funk and country is dazzling and seemingly effortless. The breadth of melodic and rhythmic invention on display here just shows up so many other rock acts as the dullards they are. It seems almost criminal to pick highlights, but the title track, "Two Trains", "On Your Way Down" and the mighty "Fat Man in the Bathtub" stand out. Even the instrumental, "Lafayette Railroad" is fantastic. Only "Walking All Night" lets the side down, and it's still not bad.
Do yourself a favour - get this now. You'll be listening to it for as long as you like music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FIRST GREAT FEAT, 26 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Dixie Chicken (Audio CD)
Little Feat really hit the jackpot with Dixie Chicken - every ingredient in that spicy musical musical recipe was hot and tasty - brilliant playing, earthy vocals and fantastic songs. There's not a song less than excellent and several classics - the title, Two Trains, Fat Man, Juliette but also my all time favourite (though not original) Feat number "On Your Way Down". Rhythmically the band are just perfect, the tightest funkiest groove imaginable, paynes keyboards magnificent and george's slide guitar is a dream. Little Feat at their imperious best although "Feats Don't Fail Me" and "Last Record Album" are also great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The very best in southern funk blues with gospel tones, 15 Dec 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Dixie Chicken (Audio CD)
It doesn't get better than this. Lowell George was a brilliant songwriter and performer who burned himself out much too quickly. Dixie Chicken belongs with Eat A Peach, Layla & Other Assorted Love Songs, Skeletons in the Closet and Let It Be as one of the very best rock has to offer, particularly for aspiring blues guitarists and keyboardists -- and for those who do not know the original Little Feat, let this be the beginning of a wonderful new musical indulgence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Southern Soul & Rock & Roll, 22 Nov 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Dixie Chicken (Audio CD)
I'd only got into Little Feat in the last year as one of my mates who knew I was into the Doobies recommended them to me, but what a band!
Dixie Chicken is definitely up their with their best, I also happen to love Sailin' Shoes, Feats Don't Fail Me Now and Last Record Album. The first 4 tracks are absolutely sublime, Two Trains being a masterpiece as is On Your Way Down. Fat Man in the Bathtub is also magnificent and throughout Lowell's amazing voice is just sheer perfection.
Added to that, the whole band's brilliant playing (in particular Ken Gradney's bass and Bill Payne's keyboards) and their tightness as a group just make it an album I want to listen to again & again.
If you haven't got into them or if you have but haven't listened to this album, you've just got to do it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rock and soul doctoring, 24 July 2008
By 
Jeffrey M. Black "jblack437" (Stockport) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dixie Chicken (Audio CD)
I defy you to find four opening tracks better than what was once side one of Dixie Chicken. Ideally, buy it with its successor, 'Feats Don't Fail Me Now'.

In the dark days before punk's scorched earth policy, Little Feat were one of the few saving graces. An unassumedly multi-racial band that welded together funk, soul and country, fronted by their leader Lowell George. Unfortunately, Lowell died prematurely and these albums represent the peak of the band's career.

From the comedic title track and 'Fat Man In the Bathtub', the soulful blues of 'On Your Way Down' and 'Two Trains' to the stoned run-out of 'Lafayette Railroad', it doesn't put a foot wrong.

If you like rock with the roll still in it, you won't regret buying this. Truly neglected genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love it, 14 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dixie Chicken (Audio CD)
If you like rock, blues, anything which comes into those genres, then you'll enjoy this. Little Feat was brilliant at what it did best and if you like Ry Cooder then I'd thoroughly recommend Little Feat. Dixie Chicken is only one album, but I can assure you there are a hellofva lot more great tracks on other CD's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Feats certainly don't fail here!, 22 Nov 2011
This review is from: Dixie Chicken (Audio CD)
I think I have most of Little Feat's albums on vinyl and Feats Don't Fail me now was the first I ever purchased and remains my favorite. It's a great mix of blues, southern soul and rock and the musicianship is superb. The late Lowell George must be one of the best slide players ever and I would rank him even higher than Duane Allman. Favourite track? Hard to pick one as they are all great, but I am partial to 'Fat Man in The Bathtub' but the whole record seems to flow almost seamlessly with each track blending into the next. The transfer to CD sounds pretty good to me. Little Feat don't seem to get the critical acclaim they deserve and those curious to find out more would do well to start off here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Favourite, 25 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dixie Chicken (Audio CD)
I have played this album again and again over the years - its very atmospheric with a range of songs from comic to dark.

Great band and this is my favourite album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one of the classics, 20 April 2009
By 
Ms. A. Wright "Angie W" (Lincolnshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dixie Chicken (Audio CD)
Dixie ChickenI decided to revisit Little Feat having heard and enjoyed them in the late seventies and I can certainly say I was not disappointed. Every track on this album is an absolute winner. The spontaneity and creativity of the musicianship shines through and they were not scared of leaving space and freedom in the music. Highlights for me are Roll Um Easy and Fat Man in the Bathtub.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dixie Chicken
Dixie Chicken by Little Feat (Audio CD - 1988)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews