Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the greatest listenable album I have owned, 26 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Homecoming (Audio CD)
From the opening bars of Ventura Highway ,this album hooks you with its catchy lyrics , riffs and singalong choruses.Every song is a classic of sheer genius , demanding repeated listenings until the tunes are firmly embedded in the mind. And there they stay , year in year out. Like Mr. Burns looking for his bear Bobo , this album demands to be searched out , and rediscovered again and again. From L.P. , to cassette , and now to C.D , this is a must have collectors item.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Highway home, 8 Nov 2008
By 
D. J. H. Thorn "davethorn13" (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Homecoming (Audio CD)
Accused of ripping off the various permutations of Crosby, Stills, Nash and Young, America deserve to be remembered instead for their consummate musicianship. 'Homecoming' is thirty-three minutes of mostly great music, and features succulent harmonies and deftly-crafted instrumentation, mostly based around the trio's acoustic guitars, occasionally piano and supported by a loose, but small pool of other musicians.

As with many albums, the strongest material tends to come first, though the last two tracks are just as good. 'Ventura Highway' is the best known track on show, but the swooning 'To Each His Own' and the country rock jaunt, 'Don't Cross The River' are at least its equal. 'Moon Song' is magnificent, if not as instant, featuring moments of transcendent beauty in the pauses between verses.

The quality dips a little after this. 'Only In Your Heart' is led by plodding, McCartneyesque piano, a tuneful song but more humble than its predecessors. Similarly, 'Till The Sun Comes Up Again' is gentle and melodic. These songs don't quite have the spark of the better songs. 'Cornwall Blank' rectifies this. It has the same plaintive quality as the band's huge 'A Horse With No Name' hit. 'Head and Heart' is without question the worst track, dominated by some ugly and monotonous electric piano. 'California Revisited' gets the album back on track, however, with some rousing harmonies and 'Saturn Nights' is a bewitching finale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fulfilling the promise, 15 Aug 2009
This review is from: Homecoming (Audio CD)
I am not a natural reviewer of music, but for me Homecoming is a superb follow-up to the superb "America" debut album for America.. The early America albums had variety in musical genres and miss the sugary feel of their later albums. While "America" will always be my favourite America album, Homecoming is a very, very, close second.

While as a Music reviewer, I lack the finesse of others, there is an important indicator about how great this album is - I own more than one copy of the album, including the DVD audio version , and there are very few albums that I own that the same can be said of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When youve run out of CSN to buy !, 4 Dec 2010
By 
noddy g (yorkshire,england) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Homecoming (Audio CD)
This album is great ! It really doesn't matter at all that some may say they jumped on the bandwagon set rolling by Crosby Stills and Nash, it really doesnt matter if this was recorded by the Muppetts, It's a great album!. Lyriaclly it works well, the songs are adventurous and strong and i find it a very consistant LP. Even the great Crosby Stills and Nash had great problems with keeping an album consistent and many of their LPs have real stinkers on. This though has none. I would highly recommend thsi LP to anyone who has an interest in that eras post Woodstock folk rock. This album is faultless but unfortunately , though everyone should have Americas first two LPs the quality of their Lps started to dip after Homecoming as they started to go a bit ' drippy'. But , remember them when they were great and buy this !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Understated And Quality Album From 1972., 9 Aug 2010
By 
J. Thompson "Willingale" (Essex UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Homecoming (Audio CD)
America's self titled debut from 1971 drew comparisons with Neil Young, Crosby, Stills and Nash among others.
Their first, and very successful single, A Horse With No Name, initially was not included on that album, however it is included on the 1972 version.
From 1973 Homecoming features a monster, mostly acoustic guitar single, Ventura Highway and the remainding 9 songs are in the folk/rock arena, plus some country banjo on Don't Cross The River, basically it's all good stuff.
If you like the debut, add this one ASAP.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars America's Homecoming, 2 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Homecoming (Audio CD)
I bought this to replace an LP (vinyl), bought in the 1970s. It was chosen for "Ventura Highway". I very soon discovered "Till The Sun Comes Up Again" and liked this as much if not a little better at the time. There isn't a bad track on this CD and it represents the earlier style of 70s guitar. I also chose it as I liked the band as a trio. I still like them as a duo, very much so, but this CD represents the special early days of the band and they produced this album themselves. I do have their first self titled "America" also, which was the real beginning, produced by Jeff Dexter, Ian Samwell and America. "A Horse With No Name" was on that one. That album has a song "Children" on it, which produced beautiful harmonies, giving an innocence to the song.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars america, 26 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Homecoming (Audio CD)
forgotten how good the California sound was back in time and America one of the better exponents of it, brilliant album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brill;, 12 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Homecoming (Audio CD)
Have all their music on LPs so decided to start getting them on cds, still as good as when it first came out, fantastic aquatics guitar playing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sound as good now as in the seventies, 8 April 2013
By 
S. A. Short "Hippychick" (Bristol) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Homecoming (Audio CD)
Replacing a lot of the albums I have on vinyl. This is one of two America albums I have on vinyl but find it too much of a bother to play on the turntable! Love their music which sounds just as good today as back in the seventies.My only moan would be that the cover is a little grainy.. but more than pleased with my purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great stuff !, 28 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Homecoming (Audio CD)
gentle and relaxing album - America were always seriously underrated and I could never work out why - so well crafted - great value too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Homecoming
Homecoming by America (Audio CD - 1995)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews