Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
12
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
3
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£14.77+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 March 2013
This album contains a deal of the songs that the Doobies still perform around the world today Along with 'The Captain & Me' 'Stampede' and 'What Once Were Vices' etc they are all classics as well as the album covers This is one of their most famous covers precedes the charity calendars concept by many years. Listen to The Music is the most famous track played daily around the world; but every track is a different style of music and shows their unique versatility.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2008
This is a classic West coast rock in southern drawl light sunny barbie (BBQ) reefer sharing kind of way. they did nt do a thing wrong when this came out `Listen to the music` the single ridin`high in the singles charts air play a plenty. US sold out tour Europe stretching her neck to see what the noise was.. just hearing this brings back the warm sunny seventies. great album . great band.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2007
I LOVED the Doobies when Tom Johnston was their lead vocalist! I don't recall what happened in later years that he was replaced, but it's his voice I assoicate with my favorite DB songs.

They were a kind of "Hippie-Southern Rock" sound, with these guys & a similar group--- Creedence Clearwater Revival --- it made you think of long, lazy summer days hangin' out with the good old boys down South!
11 comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2014
Released over 40 years ago this music just gets better especially compared to the image and hype that seems to be taking over the music business today. A superb 2nd album by the Doobie Brothers. The mix of light rock; Listen to the Music, Rockin' down the Highway to the acoustic Toulouse St, White Sun is excellent. Tom Johnston and Pat Simmons excel on vocals and guitar as always. Great musicianship and an album which has an excellent cover of Don't Start me Talkin'; the Doobie Brothers were fantastic and a real band!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2013
The Doobie's never fail to please! This was one of their albums I'd never replaced from vinyl, now I have it and it's one of their best!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2014
This is a funny one . There is nothing wrong with the playing or the singing or the songs for that matter . The problem is that they seem to have forgotten that they were a bar band who had the ability to rise a little above the others and reach the recording studios . Here , on track after track , they offer good impersonations of their various peers . Strangely enough they don't sound at all like Sonny Boy Williamson on Don't Start Me to Talkin' . Perhaps too many doobies were smoked when they made this one .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2014
I'd forgotten how much I enjoyed this album in my early twenties. Fantastic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2015
Still sounds good after fourty years
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2016
great albumn
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2015
Excellent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£3.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)