Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A moogtastic switched on classical experience
If you enjoyed the classic seventies 'switched on' series of electronic versions of classical and contemporary tunes, this is the soundtrack for you. The version of the William Tell Overture simply has to be heard to be believed. The album also features a very short and sweet ditty which goes by the name of 'I want to marry a lighthouse keeper' by someone whose name...
Published on 17 Mar 2000 by joeardy@hotmail.com

versus
20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent early electronica...and some other stuff
This is a fairly commercial representation of the soundtrack to the film, featuring a selection of well known classical (e.g. Pomp & Circumstance) and easy-listening (Gene Kelly’s “Singing in the Rain”) music interspersed with pieces by the pioneering electronic music artist Walter (Wendy) Carlos.
It is the music by Carlos that is the most...
Published on 25 Oct 2002


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A moogtastic switched on classical experience, 17 Mar 2000
This review is from: A Clockwork Orange (Audio CD)
If you enjoyed the classic seventies 'switched on' series of electronic versions of classical and contemporary tunes, this is the soundtrack for you. The version of the William Tell Overture simply has to be heard to be believed. The album also features a very short and sweet ditty which goes by the name of 'I want to marry a lighthouse keeper' by someone whose name escapes me, which rocks any party! Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent early electronica...and some other stuff, 25 Oct 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: A Clockwork Orange (Audio CD)
This is a fairly commercial representation of the soundtrack to the film, featuring a selection of well known classical (e.g. Pomp & Circumstance) and easy-listening (Gene Kelly’s “Singing in the Rain”) music interspersed with pieces by the pioneering electronic music artist Walter (Wendy) Carlos.
It is the music by Carlos that is the most challenging on the ear, and all the more interesting for it. Most has stood the test of time, and still manages to convey the atmosphere of futuristic bleakness that the film portrayed so very well. Other tracks, in particular those with early examples of voice synthesis, now seem horribly dated however, and serve to amuse rather than amaze, although their significance in the development of synthesised music is no less great. In fact it is easy to trace the influence of Carlos’ music on later work by Kraftwerk, Jean-Michel Jarre and the instrumentals of David Bowie’s Low/Heroes period, especially in the opening track and in “Timesteps”, an original composition by Carlos.
Unfortunately, in order to fit in the classical tracks, much of the Carlos music appears here as abridged versions, and as such you can often be left wanting more (the high-tempo e-version of the William Tell Overture is only a shade over 1 minute long!).
There is an alternative soundtrack album available that ditches the classical/easy listening tracks and focuses purely on the Carlos music. Full versions of many of the tracks on the above soundtrack are present (including “Timesteps”), as well as other tracks that did not make it onto the above album. If I were to make the purchase over again, it is this album that would get my money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars this is for the classical chilling out mood, 19 Feb 2004
By 
This review is from: Clockwork Orange [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Well just cos this is classic ladies and gentlemen doesnt meen that teens like me wont like it i have the film and this soundtrack is just as amazing believe me. well worth every penny! Its got classical slow and classical fast and electro stuff in it its for the chilling type or just to bring back those memories of the film believe me this is a well worth buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Iconic film, iconic soundtrack, O my brothers..., 18 Aug 2009
This review is from: A Clockwork Orange (Audio CD)
I've listened to a lot of soundtracks and this is quite possibly the only one which is as good in the film as it is on its own. In the film, what you see visually, the music compliments perfectly. Stanley Kubrick made every scene in A Clockwork Orange iconic and the soundtrack is every bit as stoke of genius of the director himself. Get it, buy it, enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fabulous., 2 Feb 2009
By 
A. Deakin (ENGLAND.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Clockwork Orange (Audio CD)
is essentially the quickest way to describe it.
beautiful is a close second.
it's such a perfect album, with it's stunning classical pieces twinned with two beautifully simplistic, mainly vocal songs.
it just works, all the classical pieces have such an awe inspiring quality, and it's replay value is limitless.
BUY BUY BUY
now.
maybe twice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Suspicious and Sinister, 16 April 2003
By 
Mr. GJ Borrows "[green eyes]" (Liverpool, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Clockwork Orange (Audio CD)
Having to do a music GCSE has begun to enlighten me on the joys of classical music. Howver, after being recommended this by a friend, I have found one of the most excellent soundtracks ever recorded.
The opening piece, Title Music from a Clockwork Orange is a sinister peice, at times envoking terror within the listener. This piece sets a tone for the rest of the album. The following piece, the classical Thieving Magpies, although a happy piece, cannot be looked upon without suspicion of something evil. This continues with similar pieces in the soundtrack.
My personal favoruites on the album coincide with Alex's, Ninth Symphony, Second Movement. Both versions are very good.
There is also two very good laid back pieces, which marr the actual album. I want to marry a lighthouse keeper is an amusing track, which only adds to the tension induced. The outro, I'm Singing in the Rain, I can only visualise as Alex's face staring at the camera. Horryfying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 July 2014
This review is from: A Clockwork Orange (Audio CD)
Superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent soundtrack, 28 Jun 2014
By 
Mario Brogan (Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Clockwork Orange (Audio CD)
Nice selection of classical pieces some of which modernly re arranged. If you want to decide the length of my reviews, write them yourself!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgia and association, 28 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Clockwork Orange (Audio CD)
Watched the film on first release at the age of 15 and the soundtrack/music as always stuck with me. Guessing the reason for my 5 stars is more for a personal nostalgic reasons, than an unbiased critical opinion. A mixture of soundscapes and intriguing oddities.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars present, 28 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Clockwork Orange (Audio CD)
bought as present for friends birthday, It certainly took us back to when it was first bought out, excellent thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Clockwork Orange
A Clockwork Orange by Various Artists - Soundtracks - Film Scores (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews