Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A moogtastic switched on classical experience
If you enjoyed the classic seventies 'switched on' series of electronic versions of classical and contemporary tunes, this is the soundtrack for you. The version of the William Tell Overture simply has to be heard to be believed. The album also features a very short and sweet ditty which goes by the name of 'I want to marry a lighthouse keeper' by someone whose name...
Published on 17 Mar. 2000 by joeardy@hotmail.com

versus
21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent early electronica...and some other stuff
This is a fairly commercial representation of the soundtrack to the film, featuring a selection of well known classical (e.g. Pomp & Circumstance) and easy-listening (Gene Kelly’s “Singing in the Rain”) music interspersed with pieces by the pioneering electronic music artist Walter (Wendy) Carlos.
It is the music by Carlos that is the most...
Published on 25 Oct. 2002


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A moogtastic switched on classical experience, 17 Mar. 2000
This review is from: A Clockwork Orange (Audio CD)
If you enjoyed the classic seventies 'switched on' series of electronic versions of classical and contemporary tunes, this is the soundtrack for you. The version of the William Tell Overture simply has to be heard to be believed. The album also features a very short and sweet ditty which goes by the name of 'I want to marry a lighthouse keeper' by someone whose name escapes me, which rocks any party! Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent early electronica...and some other stuff, 25 Oct. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: A Clockwork Orange (Audio CD)
This is a fairly commercial representation of the soundtrack to the film, featuring a selection of well known classical (e.g. Pomp & Circumstance) and easy-listening (Gene Kelly’s “Singing in the Rain”) music interspersed with pieces by the pioneering electronic music artist Walter (Wendy) Carlos.
It is the music by Carlos that is the most challenging on the ear, and all the more interesting for it. Most has stood the test of time, and still manages to convey the atmosphere of futuristic bleakness that the film portrayed so very well. Other tracks, in particular those with early examples of voice synthesis, now seem horribly dated however, and serve to amuse rather than amaze, although their significance in the development of synthesised music is no less great. In fact it is easy to trace the influence of Carlos’ music on later work by Kraftwerk, Jean-Michel Jarre and the instrumentals of David Bowie’s Low/Heroes period, especially in the opening track and in “Timesteps”, an original composition by Carlos.
Unfortunately, in order to fit in the classical tracks, much of the Carlos music appears here as abridged versions, and as such you can often be left wanting more (the high-tempo e-version of the William Tell Overture is only a shade over 1 minute long!).
There is an alternative soundtrack album available that ditches the classical/easy listening tracks and focuses purely on the Carlos music. Full versions of many of the tracks on the above soundtrack are present (including “Timesteps”), as well as other tracks that did not make it onto the above album. If I were to make the purchase over again, it is this album that would get my money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars this is for the classical chilling out mood, 19 Feb. 2004
By 
This review is from: Clockwork Orange [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Well just cos this is classic ladies and gentlemen doesnt meen that teens like me wont like it i have the film and this soundtrack is just as amazing believe me. well worth every penny! Its got classical slow and classical fast and electro stuff in it its for the chilling type or just to bring back those memories of the film believe me this is a well worth buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Iconic film, iconic soundtrack, O my brothers..., 18 Aug. 2009
This review is from: A Clockwork Orange (Audio CD)
I've listened to a lot of soundtracks and this is quite possibly the only one which is as good in the film as it is on its own. In the film, what you see visually, the music compliments perfectly. Stanley Kubrick made every scene in A Clockwork Orange iconic and the soundtrack is every bit as stoke of genius of the director himself. Get it, buy it, enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fabulous., 2 Feb. 2009
By 
A. Deakin (ENGLAND.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Clockwork Orange (Audio CD)
is essentially the quickest way to describe it.
beautiful is a close second.
it's such a perfect album, with it's stunning classical pieces twinned with two beautifully simplistic, mainly vocal songs.
it just works, all the classical pieces have such an awe inspiring quality, and it's replay value is limitless.
BUY BUY BUY
now.
maybe twice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Old Moloko Plus, 23 Nov. 2013
By 
Brian Hamilton "brianhamilton14" (Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Clockwork Orange (Audio CD)
Some soundtracks are of such importance that they almost eclipse the movie they are designed to support and complement.

So it is with this, when the irascible Stanley Kubrick tackled the tangled Burgess novel, complete with nadsat slang, he undertook a task that really pushed the boundaries of storytelling and cinematography. So, it is without a doubt that the soundtrack would need to follow this pattern.

And, it does. Speeded up classic music played through (now) vintage synthesizers was the perfect accompaniment to the sometimes frenetic action displayed on screen and the slow-time, dirge like pieces matched the drug(ging) sequences very well.

On its own this stands out as a superb album, the novelty of hearing classics in a fresh format never seems to grow old.

Peerless, superb and evocative of a watershed moment in cinema.

Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Suspicious and Sinister, 16 April 2003
By 
Mr. GJ Borrows "[green eyes]" (Liverpool, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Clockwork Orange (Audio CD)
Having to do a music GCSE has begun to enlighten me on the joys of classical music. Howver, after being recommended this by a friend, I have found one of the most excellent soundtracks ever recorded.
The opening piece, Title Music from a Clockwork Orange is a sinister peice, at times envoking terror within the listener. This piece sets a tone for the rest of the album. The following piece, the classical Thieving Magpies, although a happy piece, cannot be looked upon without suspicion of something evil. This continues with similar pieces in the soundtrack.
My personal favoruites on the album coincide with Alex's, Ninth Symphony, Second Movement. Both versions are very good.
There is also two very good laid back pieces, which marr the actual album. I want to marry a lighthouse keeper is an amusing track, which only adds to the tension induced. The outro, I'm Singing in the Rain, I can only visualise as Alex's face staring at the camera. Horryfying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Clockwork Orange (Audio CD)
a brilliant album brings back amazing memories from my youth and watching the movie when it was first released.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A "Classic" - Pun Intended, 27 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Clockwork Orange (Audio CD)
This film and its soundtrack made me begin to appreciate the power of Classical Music as opposed to pop.
I had this on vinyl in the 70s and had to have it on CD.
Beethoven is still a hero. Can't beat a little bit of "Ludwig Van"! Also Rossini became a favourite of mine!
Though the film is now a little "dated" the soundtrack will live forever!!
(I still like rock by the way!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A clockwork orange-soundtrack, 31 May 2005
This review is from: A Clockwork Orange (Audio CD)
If you were to listen to this beutiful piece of music, and then watch the film it features in, you'd never think either were related. I'm not a huge fan of classical music, but am a fan of the movie, and so had to give this album a try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Clockwork Orange
A Clockwork Orange by Various Artists - Soundtracks - Film Scores (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews