Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A must have
I'm a young Alice fan, first attracted by 'Wayne's World' and seeing repeats of 'Schools Out' on the BBCs Top of the Pops 2. So, like the heathen I am, I feel more inclined to rave about the later albums - and I do love 'Trash' best of all. Sometimes, whilst appreciating the quality and ground-breaking nature of albums like 'Love it to Death', it can be difficult to love...
Published on 10 July 2005

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a rock'n'roll comedy act
Quite possibly a mistake - it's fun rock'n'roll, but it's not up to par with the best of 'em. But as a comedy slash spooky act, he's quite good
Published 1 month ago by Michael Patriksson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Great Album, 15 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Killer (Audio CD)
I remember Me and My Friend going out at dinner hour from School to each buy a copy of this Album in 1972! Happy days. I can't believe this Album is now nearly 44 years old. I enjoy it now as much as I did then, superb music and lyrics from a very underrated Band in my opinion. Under My Wheels, Be My Lover and Dead Babies are My own personal favourite tracks on the Album but there isn't a bad track on the whole Album, great stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars killer alice cooper, 21 Jun. 2009
By 
E. Brown (s/land england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Killer (Audio CD)
in my opinion this is a excellent album that can be appreciated by old and young alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Cooper, 29 Mar. 2015
By 
John F (Staffordshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Killer (Audio CD)
In my opinion 'Killer', released in late '71 with it's stylishly decadent cover, is one of Alive Cooper's best albums. Although Alice and the boys had relocated to Pontiac by this time there's a definite High Desert vibe here. Highlights are the alternately rocking/funereal title track, the atmospheric portrait of a gunslinger that is 'Desperado', the jittery, pounding 'You Drive Me Nervous' and the elaborate, eastern-tinged 'Halo of Flies'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 23 Jan. 2012
By 
N. Thompson (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Killer (US Release) (MP3 Download)
This is an excellent introduction to the early material of Alice Cooper. If all you've heard is the more familiar & recent hits then this album will show you why the band were so huge in the 70's. Inventive, well made, great lyrics. The musicianship is superb. This is a must have album for any rock fan not just Alice Cooper fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Killer album..., 17 Feb. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Killer (Audio CD)
This is the earliest of Alice Cooper's albums that I own, and to all intents and purposes shows where his music evolves from. Each of his albums seems to have a theme, this one's being the shadier side of life, combining songs about spies (Halo Of Flies), about murderers (Killer), and about the unsavoury subject of child mortalities (Dead Babies).
The albums production is good, there is no doubt about that, and I would have given it 5 stars were it not for Desperado, which, considering the pace and themes of the rest of the songs, doesn't seem to fit in very well. Aside from that, all the songs are superb, with his band both showing off their ability to turn the most unsuitable topics into very catchy songs that you will soon be singing, and their sheer musical talent. Halo Of Flies was written simply to raise the middle finger to the critics, who were (at the time it was written) complaining that the band was all about vulgar stage-shows and had a severe lack of talent. This song certainly proves them wrong, and the album as a whole is simply superb.
I would advise anyone trying to sample early Alice Cooper to buy both Killer and School's Out (1971 and 1972 respectively), since they are both superb early albums, with a great mix of songs on both, and they will make a steady foundation to build your collection upon, too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars nostalgia, 11 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Killer (Audio CD)
that's the reason I bought this cd back in the good old days when the devil may care but I did not .Well I can now tell you it is still a good album ,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great rock music, 18 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Killer (Audio CD)
I bought this as a kid in 72 and have missed listening to it for too long. Some great tracks, especially Under my wheels, fantastic reunion!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quick Reviews!, 5 Sept. 2012
By 
This review is from: Killer (Audio CD)
Alice Cooper's fourth album marks the bands move from trippy late 60s rock and early 70s garage rock into a territory all of their own, incorporating a multitude of genres, themes, and ideas and giving it all the now trademark gruesome, dangerous Alice twist. The eight songs contain classic all out rockers, inventive ballads, and one mini progressive masterpiece. Controversial and misunderstood at the time it has since been recognized as a great album but inexplicably still misses out on being a critic's darling. Here Alice cemented himself (before he was known as a mostly solo artist) as a highly influential, clever, but ultimately underrated songwriter. His lyrics rage from sharp, cutting into some issues which no-one else would dare touch, to witty, to touching all rounded with innuendo and imagery. The music is full with famous guitar riffs, bluesy and hard in some parts, tender and...pretty in others and some songs show an expanse of instruments and musical ideas- everything is coherent. If you don't know much about Alice or where to start, pick this- it is still their best album, an untouched, rotten gem.

`Under My Wheels' gives the album an explosive intro and within a few seconds it is clear that the band have grown into a different beast from how they appear on previous albums. This is a straightforward commercial rock song which recalls the American hits of the 50s but with that vitriolic Cooper twist. Catchy, with superb guitar solos and riffs, and with some smooth brass parts, it is a strong first track which sets the tone for the album in that the songs are less complicated and confused than previous releases.

`Be My Lover' continues the commercial vibe being filled with catchy melodies and powered by a classic rock riff. There are the usual lyrical witticisms from the band including a smart and funny precursor to Floyd's `By the way, which one's Pink?' The song is notably short meaning there is no filler, yet there is time for a slowing down and crashing finale which leads fittingly into the next track.

`Halo Of Flies' is the epic of the album and stands out still as the best epic the group has recorded in any incarnation. Even though this was a bit of a joke song about trying to copy Progressive bands, Cooper manage to outdo said bands and indeed set the bar for all those hit epics to come- Bohemian Rhapsody, Stairway To Heaven etc. With a mammoth instrumental introduction which moves swiftly through many of the songs various phases, Alice eventually starts to sing over a nursery rhyme style rhythm with an oriental flavour. Before long this shifts to a galloping section with several inspired breaks before speeding up for mad rock middle. We follow this up with lovely strings parts and bouncy riffs as the band show that they can do prog better than anyone. As this section can only go so far the band lets the song crumble into chaos as the instruments, melodies, and ideas all get mashed together for a bizarre, fantastic, and truly Alice ending.

`Desperado' is one of the great quiet Cooper songs with one of their best riffs leading the way. With a Wild West feel and lyrics about drunken outlaws, this is in many ways the lead track from the album. It tells the lonely story of a killer struggling through life and justifying his action to those meets, all the while giving a wry synopsis of his soon to be victim's final moments. The guitar part is gorgeous and the string parts add greatly to the soothing nature, juxtaposed by Cooper's screamed vocals.

`You Drive Me Nervous' brings the album back up to speed with a sleazy number more akin to what we expect from Alice. Once again the melodies are catchy and the chorus is one which will be drilled into head. It's another short track but not a moment is wasted and if anything it feels more like an early punk song.

`Yeah Yeah Yeah' follows in the same vein except it has a slightly softer core. The comedy lyrics are still there, clever as always, but there is more heart to what is written here. This could well be the catchiest song on the album and it's one of those songs that I swear I already knew the first time I'd heard it. We even get a harmonica solo in the middle to play off the main riff.

`Dead Babies' leads us into more familiar dark Alice territory- taking a subject matter that no-one else would dare cover and making a wonderful singalong song out of it. The bass riff is one of the best of all time- instantly memorable and truly chilling especially given the lyrics and themes surrounding it. Any controversy surrounding the song misses the point of the lyrics- that bad parents are often to blame for these tragedies. The chorus has a great melody but is it one you would want to scream along to- I guess that's where a large part of the dark humour comes from.

`Killer' is the experimental ending to the album, one which opens with strange effects and meshing tunes before a couple of twirling lead parts come to the fore. Cooper sings this one with a deeper, cleaner voice in man place, saving his trademarks only for certain moments. I'd say that this is the weakest track on the album as, unlike Halo Of Flies, the various sections of the song don't gel together as well as they should. That said, some of those parts are terrific and it concludes the story of the album, although I'm not sold on all the screaming parts in the middle of the song (before the excellent funeral dirge part).

I would usually recommend would be Alice fans to go for one of the Greatest Hits collections as there they will get his most well known and commercial tracks but also get exposed in an easier fashion to some of his lesser known, darker, album material. If pointing towards any one album I would send them this way rather than the experimentalism of School's Out, the 80s of Trash, or anywhere else. This features some of their standout hits as well as some of their darkest material and their epics and experiments. This is the best album from one of the most criminally misunderstood bands in the world, and as such is a most in any rock collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Alice Cooper: Killers, 11 Aug. 2010
By 
John Barber (BIRMINGHAM, WEST MIDLANDS UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Killer (Audio CD)
A very strong and well put together album, by Alice Cooper, maybe not as good as "Billion Dollar Babies," but still one of his best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Killer- Alice Cooper, 13 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Killer (Audio CD)
Awesome Alice. I have this on vinyl which I cherish, now on CD to reminisce, great music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Killer
Killer by Alice Cooper (Audio CD - 1989)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews