Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars125
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 July 2012
In 1971 I can remember writing to a London promoter to see when Neil Young was going to play in London. Alas, it was after I set sail (or in this case flew like a blue arsed fly) to the New World or in this case Auckland. But I had my vinyl copy of "After the Godrush" to help me in my self imposed exile. Canada or NZ I was asked. I chose NZ-was that life? Well that is a different tale. But this album of Neil Young on release was big amongst certain pimply adolescents of boys trying to climb up a notch into manhood. See we liked the inner fold-out of Neil's so patched jeans there was more patch than jean. Cool or what? And the music..."Don't let it bring you down". Something the half throttled screech of post voice break could sing along with. Then the hard rock of "Southern Man"-what did we care there was a band somewhere in the deep south called Skinned Leonard who were building up a bottle of hate to let down on poor neil's unsuspecting head. He was just telling it as he had read it. It was and still is, a gem of an album. Even the slick card sharp "Cripple Creek Ferry" like a wart on the butt of perfection was just a bit of Neil frippery to end on. There is a lot to like about Neil Young and a lot to breathe through the nose over. But you know, the man has delivered and this was one hell of a stake to put in the ground and lay claim to life after the goldrush. More Klondike anyone.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2000
First of all, i was disappointed by the fact that the album is not very long (about 35 mins). However, when i actually listened to the album, i was not disappointed at all. The songs are so timeless, it is posible to listen to them lots of times after one another and they do not get boring. It is such a strong album. It is a great mix of country and rock, a mix of Everybody Knows This Is Nowhere (brilliant too) and Harvest (excellent). Tell Me Why is a melancholy opener followed up by one of the greatest tracks Neil has done. Actually, now i think about it, all of the tracks are excellent. There are rockers showing off Neil's skill on the guitar and there are quiet, reflective tracks. 'Oh Lonesome Me' has one of the best harmonies i have heard and 'Southern Man' is acidic and a great rock track.
This album is, along with Harvest, the best way to introduce yourself to the work of Neil Young. As i said, get this, and you will soon be getting all of his albums!!
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2008
If you want to try the music of Neil Young then this is a good one to start with but beware, being a Neil Young fan is addictive and expensive although its also very rewarding. With over 30 solo albums to his name, plus being a part of Crosby, Nash, Stills and Young and Buffalo Springfield too, you've stumbled across one of the most prolific and brilliant singer-songwriters ever to grace our wonderful planet.

Released in 1970, this was Young's third solo album and the most succesful until the release of Harvest two years later. Many people class this as his best piece of work and its certainly his most complete studio album in my opinion.

The album went multi Platinum in the states and has appeared on a number of "greatest albums of all time" lists. As usual Young played many of the instruments on the album including guitar, piano, and harmonica and wrote all of the songs with the exception of Oh Lonesome Me which is an old Nashville number.

There are many great tracks on the album but the stand out tracks for me are After the Goldrush (one of my favourite tracks of all time) and Only Love Can Break Your Heart (US single).
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
`After the Gold Rush' is one of those seminal albums and required listening for fans of Neil Young, both existing and new. This is the album that really kicked off his solo career and it has some great songs on it. Neil Young sings in his usual plaintive style and his vocals suit the themes of the songs perfectly. I love `Southern Man' which was his indictment of deep south bigotry and it has some excellent guitar towards the end. `Don't Let It Bring You Down' is another standout track as well. Written before his super successful `Harvest' album, this album shows where Neil Young's style was heading and these two album compliment each other superbly. To go back to Neil Young's roots this is a great place to start, it has plenty of his early folk style playing and engaging lyrics as well, that I enjoy reading along with the songs for the poetry they create. Well worth a try.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
As we all know, Neil Young has famously resisted the remastered reissue of his huge catalogue on CD because of what he feels is the format's less than stellar representation of analogue tapes' 'original sound' - and almost a full 20 years after 1989's first issue of "Gold Rush" on a dullard CD - it looks like the guy is having the last laugh - because this meticulously prepared tape transfer is GLORIOUS. It really is.

First to the details...

UK and Europe released 10 August 2009 - "After The Gold Rush" by NEIL YOUNG on Reprise 9362-49790-1 (Barcode 093624979012) is a 'Neil Young Archives - Original Release Series' Remaster (NYA ORS) and carries the HDCD code on the label and rear inlay (High Definition Compatible Digital). It's also Part 3 of 4 of the "Official Release Series Discs 1-4" 2012 Reissue that bundles his first four solo albums together into one card slipcase.

Until now, 2004's "Greatest Hits" set (which offered us three Gold Rush tracks remastered into HDCD sound quality) was the only real indication of just how good the album 'could' sound (this is the first time the 'entire' album has been given a sonic upgrade). The Audio Tape Restoration and Analog-To-HDCD Digital Transfer of the Original Master Tapes was carried out by JOHN NOWLAND (24-Bit 176 KHZ) with the Editing and Mastering done by TIM MULLIGAN - and they've done a stunning job.

"After The Gold Rush" (35:03 minutes):
1. Tell Me Why
2. After The Gold Rush
3. Only Love Can Break Your Heart
4. Southern Man
5. Till The Morning Comes
6. Oh Lonesome Me
7. Don't Let It Bring You Down
8. Birds
9. When You Dance, I Can Really Love
10. I Believe In You
11. Cripple Creek
"After The Gold Rush" was released in September 1970 on Reprise Records MS 6383 in the USA and Reprise RSLP 6383 in the UK (it went to Number 8 in the USA and Number 7 in the UK). It was reissued on the Reprise 'K' label variant in the early Seventies when the company went over to 'Kinney' Music.

The inlay faithfully reproduces the foldout lyric sheet with his black and white grainy handwritten lyrics and the print isn't cramped either - it's very readable. (The Harvest inlay has the textured feel of the original LP sleeve and lyric insert too - a nice touch).

Also - as these are the first four albums in a long reissue campaign - to identify them from the old CDs, the upper part of the outer spine has his new NYA OSR logo at the top and an 'issue' number beneath - D1, D2, D3, D4...on upwards of course.

However, the big and obvious disappointment is the complete lack of musical extras or any new info in the booklet; they're in "The Archives Vol.1 1963-1972" box set that's still sitting in shop windows at varying extortionate prices. Still - at mid price - this remaster of "Gold Rush" is great value for money and with this hugely upgraded sound - it makes you focus on the music as is and not anything else.

Some have complained that the sound is a little underwhelming after all the hype that has preceded these releases - I don't think that at all. The danger in remastering would be the cranking of everything, ultra-treble the lot - but I'm hearing ALL the instruments on this carefully prepared remaster - especially the bass and drums which now have a clarity that is so sweet rather than flashy. The sound is very subtle - there's no brashness, very little hiss.

So many highlights - the meaty guitars of "Southern Man" and the slyly lovely cover of Don Gibson's "Oh Lonesome Me" is great too. But then there's a triple whammy of "Don't Let It Bring You Down", the beautiful "Birds" (lyrics above) and the rocking "When You Dance, I Can Really Love". Each is so beautifully done but in different ways. They're not bombastic, nor trebled up to the nines, but subtle - the music is just THERE in your speakers to a point where everything seems new and up for grabs again. Fans will love it and feel like they're revisited long cherished old friends while newcomers will now understand what all the 5-star fuss is about.

The gold sticker on the jewel case of each of these issues says "Because Sound Matters" - and I think Rock's great curmudgeon has actually proved that point...

PS: I've reviewed "Everybody Knows This Is Nowhere", "Neil Young" and "Harvest" also - just as good soundwise - and the August 2012 Reprise/NYA 4 x HDCD Reissue Box Set "Official Release Series Discs 1-4" in a card slipcase...
11 comment|23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2009
This album sprang to my mind when I watched Neil Young's
superb performance at Glastonbury this year.
I had to purchase the CD having already got the vinyl version
and the songs sound as intriguing and fresh as they did in the Seventies.
"Look at Mother Nature on the run,in the Nineteen Seventies" makes perfect
sense,a forewarning of global warming and the environmental crisis the world is now facing.

Neil Young is a visionary and a legendary songwriter.
The current generation is enjoying a rebirth of his work and
its most welcome.

I especially like Don't Let It Bring You Down and Birds,the latter song
is poignant and heartbreaking.

Most of the songs on this album drip with emotion,deeply felt
opinions and immortal words.

Highly recommended.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 7 October 2010
Arguably the man's finest work, Neil Young has never been one for unnecessarily padding out a song, and this album demonstrates that. A great collection of rock, folk, and ballad in Young's own unique style, the only blip for me being cripple creek ferry. The man has a real gift for plucking great tunes out of the air, a gift displayed superbly here.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2013
I have the original on vinyl which is well worn and past it's best. This reissue is amazing quality. The sleeve is thick laminated board complete with the insert and quality heavy weight vinyl. The music, of course, is superb and my neighbours can now hear it without the pops and crackles.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2011
Over 40 years old, and this album still stands the test of that period of time. Consisting mainly of a set of melancholic, bitter-sweet songs - notably Birds, Only Love Can Break Your Heart and Oh Lonesome Me - the standout is the searing Southern Man, featuring its legendary extended guitar work out. Young's vocals are outstanding throughout, and the band never put a foot wrong. Some have criticised the more whimsical short tracks Til the Morning Comes and and the album closer Cripple Creek Ferry, but in my view they're melodic episodes which lighten the intensity of the mood. Highly recommended.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 20 December 2008
Arguably one of his top five, I often think of this as an "electric" album, because of the wonderful rockers "Southern Man" and "When You Dance (I can really love)" but really it's predominantly acoustic, with some very nice fingerpick guitar and piano work. Full of beautiful melody and thoughtful lyrics, the songs range in style from the plaintive, tear-jerking Birds, through the jaunty Cripple Creek Ferry, to the storming guitar-crunching rock of the aforementioned Southern Man and When You Dance. One of those definitive albums that any music-lover will enjoy.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)