Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Underrated BUT highly enjoyable!
Everyone seems to forget the six albums done during the Fleetwood Mac 'wilderness years,' between Peter Green's departure and the arrival of Buckingham and Nicks. Yet,many of the albums were of the highest calibre and Bare Trees was one of them. It features the lovely 'Sentimental Lady' by Bob Welch,who combines well with Danny Kirwan on rythnm and lead guitars. Kirwan is...
Published on 20 Oct 2000

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An overlooked side of Fleetwood Mac
I got given this album during Fleetwood Mac's 1970's heyday, and at first didn't know what to make of it. Its subdued musicianship and muted sound was a shock after the brash rock sensibility of their eponymous hit, but over the years I grew to love this atmospheric, funky little album, particularly Danny Kirwan's contributions. Bob Welch reprised his "Sentimental Lady"...
Published on 30 Nov 2005 by Adam K.


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Underrated BUT highly enjoyable!, 20 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Bare Trees (Audio CD)
Everyone seems to forget the six albums done during the Fleetwood Mac 'wilderness years,' between Peter Green's departure and the arrival of Buckingham and Nicks. Yet,many of the albums were of the highest calibre and Bare Trees was one of them. It features the lovely 'Sentimental Lady' by Bob Welch,who combines well with Danny Kirwan on rythnm and lead guitars. Kirwan is in excellent form,producing the heart-felt 'Child of Mine,' and the haunting 'Dust,' as well as enjoyable rockers 'Bare Trees' and 'Danny's Chant' - and of course 'Sunny Side of Heaven' - a powerful yet soothing composition. Christine McVie is also on top form,producing two very catchy songs - 'Spare Me A Little Of Your Love' and 'Homeward Bound.' The band,of course,would not be without the ever consistent rythmn section of John McVie and Mick Fleetwood,who are the Mac's very essence and soul. On the whole,a very enjoyable album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable mid-period Fleetwood Mac, 18 Feb 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bare Trees (Audio CD)
"Bare Trees" is one of my favourite mid-period Fleetwood Mac albums because it somehow manages to capture quite successfully, more so than some of the other albums from this era, the transition between the out-and-out blues that the band started with and the AOR that they were moving to.

It's a pleasant album that's well worth hunting out if you became a fan with some of the AOR albums (starting with "Fleetwood Mac" and "Rumours") and are interested in the history. I particularly like the opening track "Child of Mine", which still has hints of a rocky blues, and the ballad "Sentimental Lady" which is absolutely gorgeous and would have graced any of their multi-million selling albums
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An overlooked side of Fleetwood Mac, 30 Nov 2005
By 
Adam K. "adam k" (London, London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bare Trees (Audio CD)
I got given this album during Fleetwood Mac's 1970's heyday, and at first didn't know what to make of it. Its subdued musicianship and muted sound was a shock after the brash rock sensibility of their eponymous hit, but over the years I grew to love this atmospheric, funky little album, particularly Danny Kirwan's contributions. Bob Welch reprised his "Sentimental Lady" on his first solo album, earning himself a minor hit with it, and deservedly so. Christine McVie's rockier offerings sound a bit subdued, but the wonderful "Homeward Bound" wins through nonetheless, and "Sunny Side of Heaven" and "Dust" (lyrics courtesy of long-dead poet Rupert Brooke) will haunt you forever. Despite the presence of Mr Welch, it's a resolutely English affair, a long way from the West Coast rock that made them famous and which most people are acquainted with. Nevertheless, I liked it enough to buy the CD, and am glad I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars five kirwan delights, 8 Nov 2013
By 
James S. Prichard "texan" (houston) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bare Trees (Audio CD)
well, danny 's 5 songs are his last with fleetwood mac. as with all of his songs these are a joy for several lifetimes. he released many more solo wonders after these.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars formative, 2 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bare Trees (Audio CD)
The classic Rumours line-up may have produced the more well-known output but this early 70s work showed equally melodic and indicasted what was to come with the best rock band
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Deserves a Listen, 5 Feb 2011
By 
F. Perry (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bare Trees (Audio CD)
Very much a grower of an album from the mid period Mac.On 1st listening only Bob Welsh's "Sentimetal Lady" really sticks but gradually the tracks give up a host of hidden pleasures particularly the Danny Kirwan numbers. Great album cover by John McVie and it also boasts the weirdest Mac track ever in the closing recitation of a poem by an elderly lady. Overall worth a visit though not abslutely essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is perhaps my favorite Mac lineup--great trippy, 15 Oct 2014
This review is from: Bare Trees (Audio CD)
This is perhaps my favorite Mac lineup--great trippy, literate, beautiful music. I love the guitars and keyboards underlaying the great vocals. Sunny Side of Heaven is one of my all-time favorite instrumentals; it's where I think my wife who recently died resides, reminding my just in general of this gentle, loving, kind woman--just like the song. I wore this album out when it originally came out, and I love to recite the old woman's poem that is the last cut, especially this time of year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Often Overlooked little gem of an album with some great songs, 21 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bare Trees (Audio CD)
Most people think of fleetwood mac as a band who hit big in the late 70's and 80's with lindsey buckingham and Steve nicks. However before then they also made some great albums

When they first began in the 60's they were a blues band and had a different lineup. They had a amazing guitar player who was called peter Green and he was their leader for a few years leaving at the end of the 60's. It's arguable as to what is the best album from this period but for me I like ' And the band plays on ' (1969).

After Peter left there were further line up changes and then the band settled on what i call their middle period and for me is my favourite. during this time they made a series of interesting albums. The best of which is arguably ' Mystery to me ' & ' heroes are hard to find ' but also this album ' Bare trees '.

Bare trees was the last album to feature a talented songwriter called Danny Kirwan who left following a mental breakdown during the subsequent tour to promote this album. Highlights of his include Dust and the title track. Sentimental Lady and Spare Me a Little of your Love, are tracks which help to show how both Bob Welch & Christine McVie were beginning to develop as songwriters. The former would go on to be hit when rerecorded by Bob a few years later after he left Fleetwood Mac. The cover photo was taken by bass player John McVie.

There is also out take from the period called Trinity which i would have put on this Cd. The album closes with an odd number consisting of an old lady reading a poem who lived next door to the band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More Filler but some Killer, 3 Jun 2007
This review is from: Bare Trees (Audio CD)
Only the second Mac album where the line-up was the same as the previous one, the group was really finding their feet as a mellower, less blues orientated band. Out of the ten tracks that are contained on this album, half of them are filler at best and `Thoughts on a Grey Day' is a poem written and spoken by someone not even in the band. Kirwans' `Danny's Chant' (which seems unfinished as the author scat sings a melody without lyrics over the tune) and `Bare Trees' are very poor, but apart from these, this had some very strong material on it. Both of Christine McVie's songs are very strong with `Spare me a Little of Your Love' is a dry run for the songs that would litter Mac albums during the Buckingham/Nicks era. Welch also contributed two songs, the best being `Sentimental Lady', which would be a solo hit (in a re-recorded version) for its author in the late 70's when he had left the band, but this is the superior version. Kirwan, who was the be sacked from the band during the tour to support this record left a great swan song in `Dust'. A haunting song which could be considered to the best song Kirwan ever recorded. Like all the Mac albums before it, there are some good, if not great songs on here surrounded by filler. The highlights are very high though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Good album but..., 7 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bare Trees (Audio CD)
The cd seems to stop working after a you play it twice, it's happened twice to me. Other then that good album before the buckingham nicks era.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bare Trees
Bare Trees by Fleetwood Mac (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews