Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cracking
Ry Cooder is probably best know to contemporary music buyers as the manbehind the Buena Vista Social Club, which was an unexpected runaway hit afew years back. Well, I say unexpected, but not so if you've been payingattention to his output over the last 30 years. This CD is a simmilar ideato Buena Vista - get a bunch of less-well know but very talented musicians- and play...
Published on 22 April 2004 by A. Macfarlane

versus
24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Skilful Blend
The rediscovery of a rich indigenous American musical history didn't begin with O Brother Where Art Thou, though it gave a timely boost to an undervalued genre. Somehow the blues and folk archives of Alan Lomax and Harry Smith, and music handed down through families over generations and kept alive, needed to be woven into a whole that was both true to a tradition and yet...
Published on 5 Jun. 2004 by Lozarithm


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Raw Music, 30 July 2013
By 
R. H. Ervine (Gateshead U K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chicken Skin Music (Audio CD)
Never a performer to tow the line - his gritty playing and words are tremendous - refreshes the soul and relaxes the mind
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I really love his work, 22 July 2014
This review is from: Chicken Skin Music (Audio CD)
Sadly this didn't live up to my expectations as there were not many tracks on Ry's album. I really love his work, and the mix of music he plays. Surely he must be one of the best guitarists, I hear the 8th best in the world. I loved the dvd I saw on you tube and bought the Bona Vista Social Club, now I am catching up with the rest of his albums, which are myriad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ry cooder, 30 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chicken Skin Music (Audio CD)
if you love Ry Cooder and his type of music this is a great C D to have in your collection. The tracks are all new and worth a listen. Buy it you will not regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chicken Skin Music (Audio CD)
Brilliant cd, just as expected, great service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 July 2014
By 
D. Todd (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chicken Skin Music (Audio CD)
Great album arrived promptly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ry does in Jim Reeves and others, 28 Jun. 2014
This review is from: Chicken Skin Music (Audio CD)
If this album does not flip your wig it may be time for medical tests to be carried out for signs of life . This is arguably Mr. Cooder's finest album except , of course , for the sublime Paradise And Lunch . Others have reviewed the various tracks to a higher standard than I can manage and I will not , therefore , attempt to compete . I will digress with the tale of my cousin Carole being badly mashed up in a car crash . As she and the other inmates lay in varios states of disintegration the ward tannoy boomed out Jim Reeves sincerely warbling There Won't Be Many Coming Home . Jim's signature tune was He'll Have To Go and here Ry takes him and turns him over and does him in by making maudlin crap moving . Two bits of trivia - Flaco is Spanish for skinny and , pace the World Cup ,the Hawaian boys were clearly proud to pull their brightly colored shirts on .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chicken Skin Music (Audio CD)
brilliant timeless music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 28 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chicken Skin Music (Audio CD)
Ry Cooder classic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chicken Skin Music (Audio CD)
Brilliant album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Chicken Skin Music
Chicken Skin Music by Ry Cooder (Audio CD - 1988)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews