Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Power Pop at it's best
Fountains Of Wayne are somewhat of an overlooked band. Recently they gained a bit of success due to Stacy's Mom and pretty much got lumped in as a novelty act due to nature of the lyrics in the song. While a catchy song, it is by no means the best Fountains Of Wayne have achieved. This album was released in '97 and it's probably one of the best pop-rock albums of the last...
Published on 3 Mar. 2005 by craigk1984

versus
2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Whats the fuss about - its OK?
i have caught up with these after their heyday - but being a fan of alt rock and pop rock i thought I'd give them a go (especially the cd was only a quid!)

my first impressions are that i was a little dissapointed after all the 5* reviews on here - It annoys me how most people give every album they like 5* and just describe how much they love it rather thanthe...
Published on 16 Oct. 2008 by Mr. D. Thompson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Power Pop at it's best, 3 Mar. 2005
By 
craigk1984 "craigk1984" (Jedburgh) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Fountains Of Wayne (Audio CD)
Fountains Of Wayne are somewhat of an overlooked band. Recently they gained a bit of success due to Stacy's Mom and pretty much got lumped in as a novelty act due to nature of the lyrics in the song. While a catchy song, it is by no means the best Fountains Of Wayne have achieved. This album was released in '97 and it's probably one of the best pop-rock albums of the last decade.
Most of the songs are around 3 minutes in length and are bouncy cheery pop songs. Some are fairly reminiscent of Stacy's Mom, most notably Radiation Vibe and Survival Car whereas others are more mellow but still catchy and after a few listens you'll find yourself singing along.
This is how pop music should sound and it's unfortunate that they are not more popular but everyone who discovers this album will know it's true quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He's got his arms around every man's dream, with crumbs in his beard from the seafood special, 14 Nov. 2007
By 
A. Marczak "mazzarak" (Mordor) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Fountains Of Wayne (Audio CD)
The lady in the music shop was most displeased when I deprived them of their only copy of this album back 10 years ago. I don't even remember where I heard "Radiation Vibe" for the first time, but it's been th only time I've felt compelled to to go a gig based on one song.

Imagine my joy then when the Varsity in Wolverhampton was filled with guitar pop, and tune after tune left me compelled again to go to my local record store in Selly Oak and get the CD.

(there's not many chances to say I was there at the beginning)

The songs on this album are perfect in form, proper 3 minute songs that don't leave any space to waste. "Leave The Biker" always makes me laugh, and this is an album full of wry observations of American life with a strangely British undertone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Underrated band, a promising debut!, 8 Sept. 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Fountains Of Wayne (Audio CD)
Fountains of Wayne are another example of a great band who have released a good handful of albums and singles, and then they record a song that becomes so popular that it seems to overshadow the rest of their work.

'Stacy's Mom' was a big hit for them in 2003, the song had humorous lyrics and after everyone (particularly when I was at school) caught onto it, the song became something of a novelty record, and I fear so did the band to many people.

Almost ten years before that, this American power pop band released their self entitled debut, which contained the hits 'Radiation Vibe' (still quite remembered today, bouncy track with a good chorus) and 'Sink to the Bottom' (far superior to 'Stacy's Mom'). The whole album was great fun and decent catchy pop rock music.

It still sounds great today and more people should know that it's out there. It's alternative music that is fairly typical of the '90's and the quality is consistent. If you happen to have stumbled across the album and are reading this review, if you only like the one song - do not hesitate to buy this CD, you'll find much more to love here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars These Guys Deserve More Credit!, 17 Dec. 2004
This review is from: Fountains Of Wayne (Audio CD)
Fountains of Wayne must be one of the most under-rated bands of today.The only reason i got to hear of them was by hearing Stacy's Mom on radio 2 one day.After getting hooked on that track i quicky looked for the other albums.I have to agree with the other writers when they say there isnt a bad track on this album and the variation in each song makes sure you never get bored.If you havent already got this album then i advise you to buy it.....along with the other two!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime power-pop/geek-rock masterpiece!, 10 Dec. 2003
By 
Kevin O'Keefe (Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fountains Of Wayne (Audio CD)
This album to me is perhaps one of the greatest albums of the last few years. There is a depth to these songs that will slowly reveal themselves long after the initial melodic rush has left you reeling. I disagree entirely with the view that FoW are too ironic/clever or insincere to write moving and profound songs ('Sick Day' and 'You Curse at Girls' I would argue can stand up alongside the finest Simon and Garfunkel compositions - no joke). Even an arguably 'slighter' effort such as 'Drop the Biker' possesses a cruel truth that, I would guess, most blokes can identify with (i.e. why do the most undeserving men always seem to get the most desirable women?) - yet wrapped up in some rather fine riffage.
I won't bore you by describing all the individual songs suffice it to say that there is not one single filler on here - really, this album is that consistent. Additionally there appears to me a palpable sense of purpose in the running order and mood of these tracks that often leaves me with the sense that I've listened to a complete and coherent musical statement (you know, rather like the way Sgt Pepper's makes you feel after you've listened to it from start to finish).
Since this album they were to never scale these heights again. But I suppose that's the price of producing perfection with the first effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A really top drawer album, 19 Mar. 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fountains Of Wayne (Audio CD)
A week after buying their latest album ( Welcome Interstate Managers ) I got this album. It's another great set of songs, just as good as WIM. The best tracks are Leave The Biker and Please Don't Rock Me Tonight, but there's not one poor track on the album. Fountains of Wayne seem to produce albums where every track is different and I feel that is a big plus for a group. All I can say is go and buy it, in todays world of manufactered music is great to find a band with talent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Jewel-case crunch, 9 Nov. 2014
By 
Rooksby (United KIngdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fountains Of Wayne (Audio CD)
I was having a clear-out this weekend. I knocked over a teetering pile of ancient CDs & FoW's debut ended up on top of the heap (in more ways than one). I gave it a listen out of half-arsed nostalgia & was very surprised at how little it has dated. I'd forgotten how fine a record it was/is, not a bad song on it really, though some are obviously better than others. Definitely an album to hang onto, rather than pack off to the local car-boot sale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I am still listenig to this!, 2 Feb. 2008
This review is from: Fountains Of Wayne (Audio CD)
This is such a great album. Taken as a whole, it is just so much fun to listen to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Oh man! Life get's better- now available on amazing quality VINYL, 8 Jan. 2013
By 
P. Miller - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fountains Of Wayne [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Discovered FoW in 2007 after Traffic and Weather and having become resigned to entering my 5th decade listening to pre-90's Dad-rock & pop and becoming increasingly distanced from any current artists. FoW may not be rewriting the musical landscape but they do their thing with poise, awesome lyrics and a power pop sensibility second to none. And now, just to make life even sweeter, their new record company have started reissuing their back catalogue on vinyl, great, heavyweight slabs of it. Check 'em out man. Part of me never wants a relatively undiscovered personal favourite to go mainstream, but that's pure musical snobbery. FoW deserve much wider recognition - whether they achieve it is down to you. Vinyl, CD or download. It makes total sense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 12 Dec. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Fountains Of Wayne (Audio CD)
This album is packed with great songs, mostly catchy and cheery. Best tracks are I've Got A Flair, Leave The Biker, Radiation Vibe, Sink To The Bottom - oh, there are just so many it's difficult to pick. Punchy, in yer face album - 12 tracks in less than 40 minutes, a great ride.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fountains Of Wayne
Fountains Of Wayne by Fountains Of Wayne (Audio CD - 1997)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews