Customer Reviews


80 Reviews
5 star:
 (69)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SIMPLY THE BEST ALBUM OF ALL TIME
I have been into AC DC for 25 years and If You Want Blood has never been surpassed by any album - ever, for sweat, blood, guts, and raw energy. The energy as Riff Raff kicks off after the intro makes the hairs stand on end every time. Every track is a classic and different, from hard rock tracks like Riff Raff, Problem Child, Rosie, Boogie tracks like Bad Boy Boogie &...
Published on 9 Aug. 2002 by mark32100

versus
2 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Weak live album
These songs are some of the best rock'n'roll songs written, though after having heard lots of Bon-era bootlegs, the production does not pack a punch. That's a shame, cause this performance was obviously awesome.
Bootlegs like The Marc Bolan TV-show & Booze, blues & tattoos are both better live recordings soundwise. The later should have been released instead of If...
Published on 30 July 2004 by mars_larsson


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SIMPLY THE BEST ALBUM OF ALL TIME, 9 Aug. 2002
I have been into AC DC for 25 years and If You Want Blood has never been surpassed by any album - ever, for sweat, blood, guts, and raw energy. The energy as Riff Raff kicks off after the intro makes the hairs stand on end every time. Every track is a classic and different, from hard rock tracks like Riff Raff, Problem Child, Rosie, Boogie tracks like Bad Boy Boogie & High Voltage to Blues like the Jack. Cliff Williams' bass is pounding (it says enhanced from the vynal version) Phil Rudd & Malcolm Young are trade mark tight, Angus is - well I even play air guitar at 37 years old, and Bonn is his usual majestic self - he is the master at playing the audience. Put it in the car LOUD and the journey goes quicker. You simply must buy this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best AC/DC live album, 25 Sept. 2003
This captures early AC/DC perfectly and is one of the best live albums of all time. Bon Scott is on such great form throughout, and Angus Young just blows you away with the riffs and solos. Again, as with all the Bon Scott era albums, there is not a weak track on this album. You Could say The Jack, Problem Child, Whole Lotta Rosie, High Voltage and an epic redition of Let There Be Rock are the Highlights, but there are just no lowlights to compare them with. Right from the opening Riff Raff, the band just do not let up all the way through. Sometimes you just have to hold your hands up and say, too good. And this is definetly one of these times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It is not possible to play this album too loud!, 4 Aug. 2003
If you play it loud enough you will be physically transported to a live AC/DC gig, I tried it and it worked. Shoulda got out of the bath first though :)
It must be at least 15 years since I last heard If you Want Blood.. and listening to it now reminds me why it once was, and has become once again, my favourite live album of all time. At the moment I am unable to think of any other that begins with a more thrilling live intro than the crowd frenzy leading up to the first song; Riff Raff introduces itself reasonably politely, before punching you right in the head.
The pace from there is set for the next few tracks, then the audience are chanting 'Angus Angus...' and I remember Rosie! Apparently there was a whole lotta her, and this is a whole lotta sweaty, sexy, headbanging rock music.
Though I love all the tracks here, the other high point for me has got to be Let There Be Rock; the history of rock music according to the late Bon Scott. A man who started a tour sounding like he had just finished one.
The legendary guitar performance of Angus Young, along with his brother Malcolm, bassist Cliff Williams and drummer Phil Rudd make old school AC/DC sound raw, sleezy and just so damned exciting!
A faultless classic rock album, having said that if I really had to find a fault it would have to be the CD single style cardboard sleeve. But don't let that put you off, this album...well it Rocks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Power Age, 14 May 2004
By A Customer
In the world of computer-generated music, many rock fans are either too alienated or too removed to openly applaude the base energy submitted on this disc. As one reviewer points out above, this album must be played loud. Further, this album (I use the word unashamedly despite the fact I also have all the tracks on CD and mp3) must be played with utter disregard for neighbours, friends, partners and anyone else within a wide radius. These ten cuts, inflicted upon the listener, should be appreciated with innocence and naivety, in other words, in the manner in which they were originally delivered. If you already know AC/DC but not this album - buy it. If you have not experienced the band to date, I don't know why you're here but buy it anyway - there is no better introduction to the power age.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Live Heavy Rock Album Ever Recorded !!!!, 19 Nov. 2004
By 
A. Thornton (Yorkshire, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have owned this album on vinyl since 1979 and have played it to death...I recently decided to invest in the CD - this is probably the best live heavy rock album ever recorded and will always take me back to my early teenage years every time I play it.....there's no flashy intro tapes,no messing around between songs, no fancy gadgets, just straightforward rock n' roll played at maximum volume. There are no filler tracks on this album either - every single song is a gem. If you like your rock music live, loud and proud, do yourself a huge favour and buy this album now. You will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How good is this?, 14 July 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've recently got back to AC/DC and really,I mean REALLY, live exciting rock music cannot get any better than this. How did we ever think that Brian Johnstone 'carried-on'? Play it Loud so the entire neigbourhood can see the light. I defy anyone who likes rock guitar not to 'play' along. If this doesn't make you grin with pure happiness and make your socks roll up and down then you are dead; and you have no socks! BUY SEVERAL.NOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic live act, 21 Aug. 2006
I've just listened to this for the first time in ages, and I still think it's amazing. I had to good fortune to see the band play this live set twice on the Powerage tour, and was blown away by it - you would have been, literally, if you had got too close to the PA stacks. Loud, raw, unpretentious rock at it's best. Play it to your kids and get them away from junk you hear emanating from boy racer cars these days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 21 Oct. 2005
This album recorded in Glasgow (the home town of malcom and angus) back in 78 is perhaps the shining example of how rock and roll should be performed. With the greatest line up of the band the DC perform songs from powerage and the old faithfuls such as the jack, and high voltage. This was the first dc album I had and it changed my life. Its electric spectacular theres not a second on it which has been wasted. How i wish i was old enough to go and see them with bon ( I was two at the time). This album is at a ridiculously cheap price so go and get it. From the opening riff of riff-raff (sorry) to rocker the songs keep you in enraptured with the oral assult. Its not a whole unedited recording (they usually opened with Livewire during this time) but like Thin Lizzys Live and Dangerous it really does keep you going.
This is in the top five live albums of all time along side, live and dangerous, no sleep til hammersmith, live after death, and live in Japan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars live classic, 25 Nov. 2000
Listening to this album it is easy to believe that AC/DC gave off enough energy during a live show to power the town they were playing for the duration of the gig. This record crackles with raw energy and Bon, Angus and the boys whip up a storm with the ultimate live performance. The songs are tight and the guitar playing exciting. From the adrenalin building opener, 'Riff Raff', the band have the audience in the palms of their hands. This is as close as you can get to actually being at one of those early AC/DC gigs. Close your eyes and you are there, sweating in the stalls, as the intro to 'Whole Lotta Rosie' powers out. The impromptu audience chant of "Angus, Angus" over the opening riff has become a standard audience response to this song at every gig ever since.The album reaches a climax with a explosive version of 'Let There Be Rock' before 'Rocker' brings the house down. This is an absolutely essential live rock experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 2nd best live album ever, 10 Nov. 2009
By 
Bon Scott era ACDC.A band with fire in it's belly,almost unsurpassed musical ability,and a vocal style that can only come from drinking scotch then setting fire to your breath.An album which is seamless,flawless almost.It captures the power, the economy,the adrenaline and the sheer banzai berzerker of a band in full flight. God this record is just THRILLING!Bon,leering, roaring screaming.A rhythm section so tight, so muscular,so damn POWERFUL.Topped off by Angus,who got so zoned out in his own world while soloing it makes you wonder how the hell he played like he did-such an underestimated talent at the time.This volatile chemical mix gave birth to some of the most staggering visceral hell rock ever captured on vinyl.It's short,it's to the point it says what it needs to then goes, leaving scorched earth in its wake.Breathless dynamism and a mixture of discipline and uncontrolled,earthquake inducing headrush.Albums don't get this good anymore.Cherish it.Love it.It is part of the fabric of my life and it should be the same for everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

If You Want Blood
If You Want Blood by AC/DC (Audio CD - 1994)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews