Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, solid 70s rock n' roll
Bad Company's second album, 1974's "Straight Shooter", may not be quite as strong as its predecessor, although it does come close. But it's still better than anything than Bad Company put out afterwards, and it stands alongside their self-titled debut LP as the group's strongest effort.
And it features two real 70s rock classics, the ballad "Shooting Star", and the...
Published on 3 Sep 2003 by Docendo Discimus

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great band - did they really fulfil their potential ?
I have to agree with most of the comments from all the reviewers here with particular reference to "Shooting Star" and "Feel Like Makin' Love".

(Incidentally does anyone remember in the days before computers when Radio One DJ Johnnie Walker put together a spliced tape of the little guitar break in the middle of "Feel Like Makin' Love" to a solo that was about 3...
Published on 3 July 2008 by SMc


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, solid 70s rock n' roll, 3 Sep 2003
By 
Docendo Discimus (Vita scholae) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Straight Shooter (Audio CD)
Bad Company's second album, 1974's "Straight Shooter", may not be quite as strong as its predecessor, although it does come close. But it's still better than anything than Bad Company put out afterwards, and it stands alongside their self-titled debut LP as the group's strongest effort.
And it features two real 70s rock classics, the ballad "Shooting Star", and the Grammy-winning "Feel Like Makin' Love", a slow tune that opens with a folkish acoustic guitar riff, before evolving into a swaggering, guitar-driven blues-rock workout.
The ballad-slash-slow blues "Weep No More", written by drummer Simon Kirke, is excellent as well, and "Good Lovin' Gone Bad" and "Deal With The Preacher" are good, solid hard rock. Lead guitarist Mick Ralphs is particularly excellent all the way through.
The remaining three songs are slightly less remarkable ("Wild Fire Woman" has a pretty catchy chorus, though), but "Straight Shooter" remains a good, solid collecion of 70s rock, and one of Bad Company's two must-own albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Company!!, 18 Aug 2006
By 
9ftneil "9ftneil" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Straight Shooter (Audio CD)
Ignore the previous reviewer's comments this is Bad Company at their very best and easily compares with their stunning debut. Like that debut this 1975 follow up is chock full of classics from the stomping Good Lovin' Gone Bad, the bump n' grind sweatfest of Feel Like Makin' Love (surely one of Rock's horniest paeans to the horizontal art), raw Blues/Rock of Deal With The Preacher and Mick Ralph's mesmerising slide riffs on the scorching Wild Fire Woman. With Paul Rodgers amazing soulful vocals, Mick Ralph's tasty and economic riffs, Simon Kirke's rock solid drums and Boz Burrel's sinuous bass lines this album cemented Bad Co's position as peerless blues/rock giants who took up that mantle after Led Zep's more experimental forays (Houses of the Holy, Physical Graffiti) saw them moving away into more prog flavoured waters. With Bad Co what you get is no frills, no fuss, no histrionics and no flabby excess just pure stonking blues filled whiskey soaked rock with great melodies and incredible hooks. The albums highlight is undoubtedly Shooting Star an epic tale of a guitar gunslinger who hits the big time only to die tragically - considering Rodgers' old sparring partner in Free Paul Kossoff died less than a year after this album's release it now seems oddly prophetic and would stand as the perfect eulogy on the great Koss's extraordinary talents. The sweet honky tonk of Weep No More with it's acoustic guitar and orchestral strings is simple and emotional with none of that cloying sentimental cheesiness that affects rock bands when they go for a hit ballad (Whitesnake anyone?). Likewise the soulful Anna and Call On Me, with it's tasteful keys, recall the stunning ballads of Rodgers previous band Free and so make this album a perfect package - and a firm fan with female rockers too.

Sadly the rot began to set in with the next album Run With The Pack and by 77's Burning Sky Bad Co were a pale shadow of a once great band. This album is their peak and should be in the collection of any fan of classic driving bluesy rock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If you want some classic rock..., 21 Nov 2009
By 
Gheos9 (London, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Straight Shooter (Audio CD)
Straight Shooter contains some fantastic music and Paul Rodgers voice is top notch as you would expect. I have always found it difficult however to really enjoy 'Weep no more', 'Anna' and 'Call On Me'...I know that some really like these tracks, but I find I am never drawn to the album because of these tracks - in fact I skip them when loading my MP3 player. The 3 tracks mentioned are interesting as they offer a balance to the album in some ways - but I love the other tracks more. What a start with 'Good lovin' gone bad' and then into 'Feel like making love' - a great opening double act!! 'Shooting Star' is a tale that always gets me singing along with and I love 'Deal with the preacher' and 'Wild Fire Woman' - 2 great rock songs IMHO.
The tracks I love are so good that I feel the album is worth 5 stars overall. There's a great overall sound to the album and Rodgers voice is so good you might enjoy the tracks I don't..!! Certainly worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Their best came second!, 19 Nov 2008
By 
This review is from: Straight Shooter (Audio CD)
Many would agree that this album represents Bad Company at their most confident. Does that translate to quality? I say it does. This is their greatest achievement.

Contrary to popular belief, this was not a copy of the first BC album. SS is sassier, heavier, and more consistent, viz:

Good Lovin' Gone Bad - It may have those Ralphs trademarks, but is certainly not a Can't Get Enough clone. For a start, it was never a Mott the Hoople song! (CGE actually dates from 1970, when MtH were an Island Band.) This is tough hard rock at its most memorable, and crunchy.

Feel Like Making Love - A unique (apart from track 4) mix of acoustic wistfulness and heavy rock fire. Outrageous, in a nice way. And who can argue with THAT guitar solo?

Weep No More - A beautiful song that shows what a romantic Simon Kirke is. The other three make this a sublime moment too. Perfect.

Shooting Star - Structured like track 2, but still its own song. Simple but very effective. The heaviness that brings the song to its climax is again shocking amongst the country-esque charm of the verses.

Deal with the Preacher - Heavy and funky (hear Boz' clever bass-lines), with a great lyric about indecision over commitment. A great fave with the late Tommy Vance, bless him. One of Ralphs' greatest solos, rivalling Blackmore or Santana at the time.

Wildfire Women - The sort of laid-back heaviness that Bad Co excelled at. Slide guitar adds a certain musical menace. This shows Rodgers stretching out more than any other song I can think of. A gem.

Anna - Again Mr Kirke does the heartfelt thing. Possibly the most Free-like moment here. No flash, just feeling.

Call on Me - The perfect way to end an album. This is an uptempo ballad, with a funky backbeat. The lyrics are as evocative as the music. And one should again mention Ralphs' guitar artistry. He puts emotion before technique, but has the technical ability to make it work.

Sorry this review is so overwhelmingly positive - this can make for very boring reading! - but this album is so inspired and well-made that I couldn't find a single fault to get arty (or arsey) over. Buy with confidence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Much Of The Same, 14 May 2002
This review is from: Straight Shooter (Audio CD)
I felt like giving it four stars but it is better than that. Mainly the same formula that worked so well on their debut set, this has a bit of a kick to it, the original just pips this album but this is still a classic. My personal favourite from this album is 'Deal With Preacher' because of it's infectious guitar riff and great drumming. Other songs to look out for are the classic 'Feel Like Makin' Love', 'Good Lovin' Gone Bad' and 'Shooting Star'. Rodgers has a few ballads crammed in for good measure, these being 'Weep No More' and 'Anna'. If you like the first album, you'll love this one too. Buy It!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Revisiting an old favourite, 20 Jun 2011
By 
Sean Maguire "skin bin" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Straight Shooter (Audio CD)
I bought the vynl version of 'straight Shooter' shortly after it was released. I loved Free and Bad Company a good combination of solid rock and blues. I have been meaning to buy the cd version of this album for a long time, but tonight i will make the purchase and i know i will not be dissapointed, because the songs on this album are classics and still resonate in my head.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More energetic than their first album, 18 May 2010
By 
Aquinas "summa" (celestial heights, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Straight Shooter (Audio CD)
Bad Company had some good tunes but I always felt there was a moody feel to their music bordering almost on being depressive - However, this album unlike the first one has more drive and energy and thus the moody element is more subdued. Anyway the album is atmospheric and reminds me of the 70s - how would i feel about it as pure music if it did not have connections for me, as music inevitably does with time and place? That I do not know!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Straight Shooter, Bad Company - More classic rock from acknowledged masters of the genre, 23 Mar 2011
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Straight Shooter (Audio CD)
Following from their self titled debut, this is the second release from seventies supergroup Bad Company. Featuring vocalist par excellence Paul Rodgers, drummer Simon Kirke, guitarist Mick Ralphs and bassist Boz Burrell, this picks up pretty much where the previous album left off, with track after track of classic blues rock. There are powerful rhythms, driving beats, great guitar breaks and hooks, and of course some classic powerful vocals from Rodgers.

There is track after track of classic rock here - tune into any rock radio station for an hour and the chances are that you will hear a track of this album. And there is a reason for this, it is superbly done, well crafted rock that really uplifts you and leaves you wanting more. An absolutely classic album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 July 2014
This review is from: Straight Shooter (Audio CD)
brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Straight Shooter, 11 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Straight Shooter (Audio CD)
Its Bad Company, gutsy sometimes and somtimes not, but always with the Bad Company quality. Great musicianship and recording .But if your looking for heavy then I would look else where. This is more quality rock /blues
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Straight Shooter
Straight Shooter by Bad Company (Audio CD)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews