Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars A Little Love
I am sat here listening to this disc, having owned it since the dark old days of Vinyl (now back at twice the price!) and I had the urge to come on and give this one a little love. Probably everything negative you've heard about the album is correct - it's odd, angular, and has lots of synth on it, and female backing vocals often when you least expect it.

But...
Published 8 days ago by Vaughan

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Plants 'Kid A'?
Well not quite, but this is certainly the furthest he strayed from the music he is known and loved for. Full of staccato rhythms, beeping sythns and sighing female backing vocals this album is a long way from Led Zeppelin.
When he slows thing down and plays it a bit more straight as on 'Little by Little' it works well, but for the most part while interesting it lacks...
Published on 20 Jan 2003 by Lendrick


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars A Little Love, 15 Sep 2014
I am sat here listening to this disc, having owned it since the dark old days of Vinyl (now back at twice the price!) and I had the urge to come on and give this one a little love. Probably everything negative you've heard about the album is correct - it's odd, angular, and has lots of synth on it, and female backing vocals often when you least expect it.

But the sound - my goodness does this ever fill a room with vibes. The guitar work, not often mentioned in connection with this one is stellar, but what really makes the difference is the percussion - both acoustic and electronic. It shakes walls.

Given all the elements I'd say this album probably took a lot more arranging then the other early solo efforts. There's a lot going on during every song, this is a band who found a strange corner to reside in, and it suits them, and they're wringing every ounce of sweat out of being, well, strange. It's the kind of album you could really regret - or really love. I've always been the latter.

Oh sure Little by Little is the most conventional song and gets the headlines. But really, by the time this album came out Plant had moved way beyond Led Zep and they shouldn't really be mentioned in the same breadth.

Plant has done what so many fail at - he hit the big time with a name act, had all the excess and madness, and then quietly moved away in worlds we couldn't of guessed at before hearing them for the first time. I can perfectly understand why some would hate this. But for me it's so joyous, the sound so loud and detailed - layered - that I can't do anything other than wallow in it's luxuries.

Tis a five.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Plants 'Kid A'?, 20 Jan 2003
By 
Lendrick (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Shaken and Stirred (Audio CD)
Well not quite, but this is certainly the furthest he strayed from the music he is known and loved for. Full of staccato rhythms, beeping sythns and sighing female backing vocals this album is a long way from Led Zeppelin.
When he slows thing down and plays it a bit more straight as on 'Little by Little' it works well, but for the most part while interesting it lacks strong songs and is to self consciously 'different' be really enjoyable.
Apparently this was hisreaction against the 'poodle rock' of Bon Jovi & others so prevalent in 1985 when this was released. Having got it out if his system he them moved on to better things with 'Now and Zen'.
Shaken and Stirred is really for completists only.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rob Plant Moving In a new direction!, 11 Dec 2004
This review is from: Shaken and Stirred (Audio CD)
I have always been a great zep fan and i think this particular album rob plant brought out is brave,but it pushes my buttons! It might not be the led zep of old but hey it aint meant to be! It is robert plant moving in a new direction and i think this album is a great effort.Normally there is always at least 1 track that you just cant stand!but not here.Every track is different and original.A must for any rob plant fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Transitional Electro-blues/rap, 23 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The album of an artist in transition. Having established himself outside of Led Zeppelin, Robert continues to expand musical boundaries- with mixed results -on this his third solo outing. From the now trite sounding 'Too Loud' - where he has tried too hard to follow current trends, something LZ never did- to the superb 'Trouble Your Money', Shaken'n'Stirred sounds like an artist trying to move from one place to another.
Despite the superb use of backing vocals, something completely new for Robert Plant, some of the songs here sound like synth riffs linked together in search of a song, and unfortunately in some cases, a soul. At least we can say we now know what happens when you put one of the greatest blues/rock voices with a bunch of unblues/rock instruments. Electro-blues/rap?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Robert Plant's Shaken 'n Stirred, 15 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another great album by one of my favourite musicians, Robert Plant. The range of his musical exploration album by album is diverse and vast!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can never go wrong with the Plant!, 3 Nov 2012
By 
D. J. Collison "Derek" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shaken and Stirred (Audio CD)
Another cracking solo from a unique vocalist. This album is well worth the listen for any Plant / Zeppelin fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Shaken and Stirred
Shaken and Stirred by Robert Plant (Audio CD - 1990)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews