Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Foreigner were good, this is them at their best.
At their peak Foreigner wrote some excellent records, most of which feature on this best of. Stuff like 'Urgent', 'That Was Yesterday' and 'Waiting For A Girl Like You' not only display breathtaking meldoic keyboard-laden rock but also the quality of Gramms voice and Jones' guitars. They travelled through a variety of styles as shown by this CD. Raw rock n' roll,...
Published on 14 Sep 2000

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Long, Long Way From Home
This compilation is close to being perfect with two major problems though. The first problem is the addition of 3 new songs, all of which are stinkers. Luckily those songs are the first songs on the CD so one could simply start on track 4. I know one could go on and on about such and such tracks should be included but releasing a Foreigner compilation without Long, Long...
Published on 24 Aug 2006 by gnagfloW


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Foreigner were good, this is them at their best., 14 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Very Best And Beyond (Audio CD)
At their peak Foreigner wrote some excellent records, most of which feature on this best of. Stuff like 'Urgent', 'That Was Yesterday' and 'Waiting For A Girl Like You' not only display breathtaking meldoic keyboard-laden rock but also the quality of Gramms voice and Jones' guitars. They travelled through a variety of styles as shown by this CD. Raw rock n' roll, melodic rock, accoustic rock and Classic AOR. I thoroughly recommend this album, but don't stop there. Foreigner returned in 1994 with possibly the best comback album EVER. "MR Moonlight". Check that out too NOW.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "The Very Best 'Foreign & (American)' and beyond across the world (global) rockers worth Waiting For!", 17 Jun 2009
By 
Matloub Husayn-Ali-Khan "Matloub" (South Yorkshire, Sheffield, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Very Best And Beyond (Audio CD)
I first came across "Foreigner" after hearing their haunting ballad "Waiting for a girl like you" which apparently climbed to within the top ten in the British singles charts around 1981, and I thought was less popular and I now know that this track was in fact a top global power-ballad hit and slightly less popular in the UK, at the time!

Only this week, I bought this compilation by Foreigner and on listening to the first three tracks, I was not entirely inspired until the fourth track after which there was around ten good tracks with my top five being: "I want to know what love is"; "Waiting for a girl like you"; "Feels like the first time"; "Cold As Ice" & "Urgent" in this Album excluding my less outstanding earlier tracks: "Soul Doctor"; "Prisoner of love" & "Heaven on our side" later ones with "Head games"; "Double vision"; & "That was Yesterday".

In a another review, I reminisced about Foreigner's global hit: "Waiting for a girl like you" in the context of Qawwali music within and Pakistan's classical singer Sajjad Ali turned his songs into Pop/dance numbers which set new trends in Pakistani pop music in terms of softer, slower, ballad style songs!

Overall, a good compilation and I recommend the more discerning fan/customer to definitely buy Foreigner's Definitive Album on the Rhino Label as a better & more comprehensive collection of their best hits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Juke Box Heroes, 20 April 2013
This review is from: The Very Best And Beyond (Audio CD)
Foreigner were a great band as this collection will attest. I believe that "Feels Like The First Time" is an awesome rock number. Other stand-outs from this band include "Hot Blooded", "Cold As Ice" and "Double Vision".

This album is a testament to the popularity and range of Foreigner. The thing I found a little disappointing was that the longer they went on the more MOR they became. Even so, they produced some great tracks that were hits such as "Say You Will", "Urgent" and "I Want To Know What Love Is".

This collection covers some of the best that Foreigner have to offer and is worth investing in obtaining a copy.--
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Long, Long Way From Home, 24 Aug 2006
By 
This review is from: The Very Best And Beyond (Audio CD)
This compilation is close to being perfect with two major problems though. The first problem is the addition of 3 new songs, all of which are stinkers. Luckily those songs are the first songs on the CD so one could simply start on track 4. I know one could go on and on about such and such tracks should be included but releasing a Foreigner compilation without Long, Long Way from Home as this compilation does can't be justified. This was one of their biggest hits on Rock stations, basically a staple on such stations and also a top 20 hit. Omitting that song is similar to deleting Let the Good Times Roll on a Cars compilation, not a huge hit but a staple at Rock stations. It also omitted Blue Morning, Blue Day but that is not the same travesty.

Sound quality is decent; recent re-mastered compilations provide a slight improvement but the difference is nothing to write home about.

If you only want a single Foreigner CD compilation with full length versions, this is a decent buy, provided you could live without the above mentioned tracks. If you can live with edited versions for radio airplay, get the single Rhino compilation which is a definite greatest hits compilation but falls short on being complete due to shortened versions of some of the songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It is the very best, 1 Feb 2010
By 
Duncan McDonald "Dunk" (Dundee) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Very Best And Beyond (Audio CD)
This band wrote some of the greatest soft rock songs of their generation. They sound as fresh today as they did in their hayday.

This short and snappy compilation highlights the very best. It is not a definitive collection and there are more comprehesive compilations out there that give a career spanning perspective. This picks out some of the more popular tunes.

The highlight for me is the four new songs (then) added to the mix. I think they are great and are some of the best work that they have done. These songs lift the album and demonstrate that they still have what it takes. It helps that you have a great singer in Lou Gramm fronting the band.

If you'd like a one disc intro this is perfect. I think it is a superb album that is a delight to listen to, even after all these years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent introduction to a fantastic band!, 18 Sep 2007
By 
This review is from: The Very Best And Beyond (Audio CD)
This contains an amazing collection of songs, very listenable. Lou Gramm's voice is always so distinctive. I liked the addition of three new songs, which fit in well with the older ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Foreigner cd, 2 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best And Beyond (Audio CD)
Apart from one hit track, I didn`t know much else of their work - good addition to my record collection. Glad Amazon can come up with bands of that era.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 25 Oct 2006
This review is from: The Very Best And Beyond (Audio CD)
Some great Classics from Foreigner on this ablum. I have been playing it for the last two weeks and am really enjoying all there old hits. If you ever enjoyed any of their music you will enjoy this ablum.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Music, music, music - ace, 28 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best And Beyond (Audio CD)
I bought two of these CD's for myself and a friend and was absolutely delighted with them in every way. They were in tip top condition and such good value for the money. Never again will I purchase CD's from anywhere else. Delivery was as promised and I cannot fault this supplier in any way at all - ace purchase thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best And Beyond (Audio CD)
excellent product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Very Best And Beyond
The Very Best And Beyond by Foreigner (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews