Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars essential, 12 Jun 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: BBC Sessions (Audio CD)
If you love the studio albums, want a little more looseness but don't want to sit through bootlegs seemingly recorded in a coal scuttle, this album is an absolute must, if only for Robert Plant's hysterical screaming blues version of Something Else. (Why must every woman have to 'go walking in the park' with him? Don't they have cinemas in Wolverhampton?) The three different versions of Communication Breakdown take you in three totally different directions and the production qualities are fantastic throughout. Proof that, on a good night and pre-flaming stage gongs, they probably were just as good live, if not better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Led Zeppelin Live as they should be listened to..., 24 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: BBC Sessions (Audio CD)
Led Zeppelin were a live band. They had such incredible talant. The studio albums were good but rock music is about live performances and in my opinion Zeppelin were hard to beat. This album is all about the second CD for me. From the start of "Immigrant Song" you are in at the deep end. It is early Zeppelin for sure but it is easy to see why they still move so many people to this day (me included). It is such a shame that more of the live material is not released, I don't care if there is the occasional mistake, that's what it's about, it's live! Whilst the studio stuff on the first CD is nice to listen to buy this one for the second CD because it's what Zep were all about...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Magic Moment in Time from a Magic Band, 11 July 2002
By 
N. S. Rushton (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BBC Sessions (Audio CD)
Being too young to experience Led Zeppelin the first time around I had to come at them second-hand, after realising, in about 1995, that guitar-based music was in its death throes and the future rested with dance music. But hey, who needs to listen to second-rate guitar bands doing the same thing for the 1000th time when you can immerse yourself in the most fertile and innovative period in modern music production -- 1968-71. At the forefront of the explosion that happened at this time were the Zep, and this album captures them in their natural habitat: live and alive. If you're new to LZ then the second or fourth album are the best places to start, but as soon as you've caught the bug and realised how astounding their music is, you will want to hear them live. This BBC sessions album is a much better bet than the double live record 'The Song Remains the Same', because the recording quality is superior, and it was recorded 69-71 when these four musicians were at their creative zenith -- a fact that translates to these live performances with shocking clarity. Put your skin-tight flares on, pretend you've got long hair, and immerse yourself in the sound of the most vital band of the most important period in twentieth-century music. The live sound captures LZ's blues obsession more clearly than the studio albums, especially on the blues reworkings of classic tracks like 'You Shook Me' (twice on this album just in case you missed it the first time round) and 'I Can't Quit you Baby'. Although top marks must go to the amazing 'new' blues creation of 'Travelling Riverside Blues' (Robert Johnson isn't given a credit), previously unreleased. Jimmy Page takes us to slide guitar heaven. It is simply amazing. CD two has some classics from Led Zeppelin IV, which were being recorded here 8 months before the album release. Its probably the only time you'll hear LZ live without the opening notes of 'Stairway to Heaven' being greeted with orgasmic woops. And catch the dizzy, heady atmosphere of the times when during 'How Many More Times' Robert Plant cries 'I don't know what I'm saying, but I'm having a good time'! Page, Plant, Jones, and Bonham at their incredible best -- worth 10 times the asking price... but I'm sure the three surviving lads don't really need the royalties.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars JOHN PEEL, 18 April 2009
By 
Adam P. Morris (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BBC Sessions (Audio CD)
Its the 40th anniversary of the release of Led Zeppelin I and II this year. March 69 and October 69.

Having bought them when they came out, it makes me think how time flies away.

I still love Led Zeppelin, they remain one of the greatest rock bands of all time, if not the greatest of all. This is a MUST HAVE for the 2nd CD alone, the complete recording of a John Peel In Concert broadcast for the BBC in 1971. It was recorded in April 1971, a month after they had finished recording Led Zeppelin IV and it captrues them at the height of their creativity when the spark was still strong and before they entered the stratospheric heights of selling 50 million albums and being the biggest band in the universe.

I suspect it was probably the first time Stairway to Heaven was aired to the public at large.

Its stunning to brilliant all the way through, from Peel's dry introduction to the last note dying note.

Jimmy Page's guitar work is mind blowing and the raw nakedness of live radio sound recording emphasises the quality of the musicianship in this band. It also highlights the outstanding abilities of the often under rated John Paul Jones, a man who arranged a lot of the material and who could play melodic keyboards with his hands whilst holding down monster basslines using bass triggered by pedals controlled with his feet.

Yes this band are deservedly immortal and this is a highly recommended purchase for those who love the studio albums and want different versions of the first four.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars absolutely brilliant, 2 Feb 2000
By 
This review is from: BBC Sessions (Audio CD)
the best Led Zeppelin cd i have ever heard and the best value album i have seen in a long time: an exciting re-working of their classic standards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Music wasn't like this before, and-sadly-hasn't been since., 30 July 2000
This review is from: BBC Sessions (Audio CD)
I listened to the two hour long concerts which make up most of this album and taped them at the time, the tapes died ages ago. Incredibly it took the BBC 30 years to get the recordings out. It's hard to express what I felt at the time, no one had made music like this, the power was immense, you had no idea what was coming next, I didn't even know if I liked it!
The best tracks are from the two concerts rather than the sessions - the BBC screwed up - they should have released the two concerts in their entirity and put the session tracks on a third CD.
Some of this music is the most electrifying ever recorded, you may find it hard to cope with at first but I think it's the greatest recorded live rock music there is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ThankYou....The best Led Zep recordings !!?? BigSi UK, 8 July 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: BBC Sessions (Audio CD)
These must be as near Perfect Recordings as you can ever hope for, Pump the Volume up, and not a Crackle from 30+ years ago can be heard .... Brilliant.
If you are looking for a Zeppelin C.D this one will Give you Hours of Pleasure, Must have been at least 3 to 4 Hours .
i have most Zep Albums, but this is by Far the most Interesting.
Just imagine being there and hearing this music for the 1st time,
And 30 years later, nothing can touch its Creativity.
Borrow it...Buy it....But Definatly Listern to it .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth having, 8 Oct 2009
By 
Kevin Slater (West Mids, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BBC Sessions (Audio CD)
I've been a long time fan of Led Zeppelin but somehow never got round to buying this particular album. So, with a few quid to spare, I thought I'd plug a gap in my collection. This is a fantastic representation of Led Zeppelin in their natural habitat - that is - live. The sheer excitement and exuberance demonstrated here show why Zep rose to be one the greatest and most influential bands of all time. No doubt the sessions have been "cleaned up" but the content of this album - particularly some of the less frequently heard stuff - is as close to hearing them live that you'll get now 9other than bootleg recordings that will, ineviatbly, be of lower quality). If you're a fan and don't have this - get it. If you're casually interested in what it's all about, this is a great place to start. I wish I'd bought it year ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blues Led, 23 April 2009
By 
Mr. D. A. Russell "The dreaming monk" (Ilfracombe,Devon UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: BBC Sessions (Audio CD)
This is Zeppelin at their Best,blues led all the way. The guitar work is brilliant on the early tracks and Jimmy excels himself on the later songs.I would recommend this album above "The song remains the same".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Brilliant.. .. They truly are a super group, 4 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: BBC Sessions (Audio CD)
This album proves that Led Zeppelin were one of the best live performing bands ever. The playing is faultless and the different versions of songs like Communication Breakdown are immense. My personal favourites are Whole lotta love/Medley and Thank You. If your a Zep fan this is an essential purchase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

BBC Sessions
BBC Sessions by Led Zeppelin (Audio CD - 1997)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews