Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As good as the film!
Musicals aren't my thing, jazz/blues style music certainly isn't either but that didn't stop me loving the Blues Brothers film and after seeing that a few times how could I resist the soundtrack. The songs are the same as those in the film (sometimes you get these kind of soundtracks where they have originals rather than the ones in the film) and sound just as good. At...
Published on 15 Nov. 2003 by steve_3000

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars I've never seen the film!
I kept hearing various tracks from this on the radio and felt I would enjoy the album. I do and I don't. I like it when I'm in the mood (that's true of all music probably) and prefer not to listen to it all at once. Perhaps if I'd seen the film I'd be more enthusiastic and hope I've not offended and die hard Blues Brothers fans.
Published on 30 Jun. 2013 by nix1234


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As good as the film!, 15 Nov. 2003
This review is from: The Blue Brothers Soundtrack (Audio CD)
Musicals aren't my thing, jazz/blues style music certainly isn't either but that didn't stop me loving the Blues Brothers film and after seeing that a few times how could I resist the soundtrack. The songs are the same as those in the film (sometimes you get these kind of soundtracks where they have originals rather than the ones in the film) and sound just as good. At the risk of stating the obvious, if you liked the soundtrack in the film, you won't be wasting your money on this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best soundtracks ever, 16 Nov. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Blue Brothers Soundtrack (Audio CD)
This got to be one of the best soundtracks every! Even it you haven't seen the move (which you should) you will definitely enjoy this album. It contains some of the best sounds ever written like "Sweet Home Chicago" and "Think". Aretha Franklin, Ray Charles, Cab Calloway...the list goes on...what finer collection can there be? I can recommend this CD to anybody, regardless of age and music taste, there is something for everyone in there. It's a classic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every one should have this in their CD collection!, 18 Nov. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Blue Brothers Soundtrack (Audio CD)
Absolutely fantastic stuff. A must for every Jake and Elwood fan, and one to put in your car!! Includes a good cross-reference of Soul, Blues and R&B's finest, including a gospel track performed by the Godfather of Soul himself - James Brown. Next, buy the pre-movie "Briefcase Full of Blues" album and the post-movie "Made In America" album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Fun, 19 Jun. 2005
This review is from: The Blue Brothers Soundtrack (Audio CD)
I'd like to start this review by saying that I am an 18 year old, who's main musical interests lie in rock, heavy metal and punk.
However, after a friend got me watching the film, I found myself astounded by the amazingly un-natural cool this music can have.
In the film itself the music fits right into place, with star performances from such talent as Aretha Franklin and James Brown.
Having loved the film I got the soundtrack and was not disappointed. This is some of the funkiest, FUNNEST music I've heard in a long time. Whilst rock n' roll provides danger and aggressiveness, this music provides class, style, fun and, dare I say it, magic.
Love it to bits. (Plus theme from Rawhide is totally amazing!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yowza!, 14 Jan. 2004
By 
Andy Millward (Tiptree, Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Blue Brothers Soundtrack (Audio CD)
This is what music's all about - a gustsy band delivering classic blues/soul, aided and abetted by some of the living legends that made it all possible - and a reminder of a fine film into the bargain.
Cover versions are always dangerous in the wrong hands, but here the debt to the originals is acknowledged, and arrangements show how to score a hit second time around. You thought Duane Eddy's version of Peter Gunn was nigh on perfect? Try the growling horns here for size!
If there is a criticism, it's that Dan Ackroyd and the late John Belushi were not great vocal performers, though they certainly put in plenty of energy. Jailhouse Rock needs a deeper range, and Belushi ain't an Elvis.
There again, when you've got the likes of James Brown, Aretha Franklin and Ray Charles batting on your side, how can you go wrong? I could wax lyrical about all these tracks, but a special mention must go to Aretha's classic Think; listen to the soaring voice - that's how to do it, girl! Soul lives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great place to start!, 19 July 2007
By 
Angharad Jones (Sheffield, England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Blue Brothers Soundtrack (Audio CD)
Like the last reviewer, and many, many others, The Blues Brothers was a film I first watched when I was about 10 and it introduced me to a whole new world of music.

This soundtrack was the first record I ever owned and it is where I first heard a lot of artists that I may otherwise never of heard of, since I had only really listened to pop and ska before.

This is a great collection and younger people especially will find it it very educational. If you enjoy the soundtrack it would also be a good idea to look up some of the other artists featured in the film but not on the soundtrack, like Sam and Dave and John Lee Hooker.

A fun film and a fun soundtrack, try the other Blues Brothers recordings too, you won't regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blues Brothers Soundtrack!, 2 April 2014
By 
MrE (E Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Blue Brothers Soundtrack (Audio CD)
All of the great songs from the Blues Brothers movie. If you haven't seen the film then can i suggest that you do. Great music and a funny script. The music really is great to listen to, nobody comes close to the BBs when it comes to Blues music. Great stuff and good value!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blues Brothers Soundtrack - Shake a tailfeather and gimme some BLUES!, 9 Jun. 2011
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Blue Brothers Soundtrack (Audio CD)
This is a classic album by anyone's standards. Jake and Elwood Blues (played by John Belushi and Dan Ackroyd) backed by the Blues Band (made up of musicians famously associated with the likes of Howlin' Wolf, the Bar-Keys and Booker T and the MG's) work their way through a series of blues, rhythm and blues, soul and even some jazz classics. Aided and abetted by legends such as James Brown, Aretha Franklin and Cab Calloway, this is an album full of life, energy and great music. It is guaranteed to have you up and dancing in no time.

A great album of invigorating music. Buy it, you won't regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars john belushi alive and working on the blues brothers 3000 script, 25 Jan. 2013
By 
news from hollywood:

following newest allegations, john belushi survived his overdosing
on speedball (a mix from heroine and cocaine) and is in perfectly fine
shape, living a rather comfortable life in switzerland.
he's alleged to have told reporters that that he needed the time-out in
order to start out again all over, only this time a little slower, and,
not like like before going any whatsoever short distance in the fast
lane. furthermore he said that he had used the time for founding a band
and touring - albeit incognito- europe. naming the band the original
brothers, he himself used the noms de plume "jake b. curley", "john
player" and "dee jay pat", following his mood and a desire to go
unrecognized, currently only emplying the "dee jay pat" pseudonyme owing
to feeling especially comfortable.
his brother elwood took the name of "helmood blues", putting up
residence in australia and not being unproductive over the course of the
last five years either.

as a matter of course he accompanied his brother toring europe, doing
quite a few gigs together just like in the good ole days. all along,
they enjoyed european audiences just as much as comments saying they
were a more than formidable "cover" of the all star band, nobody
recognising them for who they were. all the more ironic must see
m the band name chosen, the original brothers.

helmood supported his brother in any posssible way, taking the audiences
by his unmistakable dance style (which some thought to be epileptic
seizures) as well as his laconic ways; mostly though by his hohner
blues harp play, of which he is said to own twenty models.

meanwhile helmood had also been working intensively on a solo project by
the name "flash and the pain". starting out as pure persiflage of pop
music, helmood claims it to have no whatsoever artistic pretense, its
sole intent being an entertainment to audiences, going by the motto of
the king of comedy-charles chaplin to the unknowing: "a day without a
laugh is a day wasted. smile trough your fear an sorrow!" the only thing
put on in this are the hats. Asked about naminig the band, helmood
didn't give an further comment than that it's had its origins in the
commonwealth countries. smiling impishly, he then descended an imaginary
stairwell saying " pfwow, i still look sharp if you like nick cave, 1989
was a wonderful year and i got the blues. google this!".

he used two album covers of his solo projects to prepare the comeback of
his brother by appearing singly seated next to the drum set on the cover
of the first album, while on that of the last ( est. pub. sep 2012) his
brother is literally in the picture again.

concerning the contents of the script, only so much is known that the
band of brother is underway again in the name of the lord, although this
time in europe and not by the cause of securing an orphanage but world
peace, no less.

further along the plot we meet the illegitimate father of jake blues,
wild bill kelso of "1941" fame acquaintancing his later wife after the
normandy landings. the marriage isn't one of longevity though. going
along with an american tank driver, she conceives a second son two years
later and decides on emigration to the united states. Settling in
chicago, she can't keep the boys with her and puts them in an orphanage.

Being there the brothers bring up the question of what their lives would
have been like being brought up in europe, the matter gaing ever more
importance. their orphanage "stepfather" curtis advises them to seek
counsel in church. Attending a mass, the two are encompassed by a ray of
light obviously from heaven, lifting them up, while they hear a meek
voice saying:" my boys, it's me, your father. everything will be fine. i
have an assignment for you: mind the peace in the world, the world
peace", finally pulling them upwards and out of sight.

they find find themselves again in front of a school, looking at a class
schedule labeled "stundenplan kw3 1986 einzelhandel IV"
helmood quotes: "this feels like the philadelphia project."
his brother glances at him and muses: " you mean, you imagine it fells
like that?"
helmood curtly replies: "yup."

not being in command of the language, it doesn't mean a thing to them.
they turn around watching the rear of a car, namely an audi 200 turbo
with a sticker saying "120 with eyes open better than 50 with a
mind shut", only they don't understand this just the same. they shrug, jake
glancing at his watch saying: "it's almost 9. we need to go to work." they
enter the car and blast off, tyres screeching. helmood though was deeply
immersed in his thoughts. whoever knew him good enough also knew his
life was running like a film in his eyes. he thought of the scripts of
"popsicle iced lolly 9", "prince valiant" or "westwards". driving trough a
rainbow, jake said: "judy, i miss you so badly", helmood repliying: "say
something, liza, but speak leiser minelli!". jake gave a "yo man",
starting to sing "judy, judy, don't be moody, judy, judy, don't be blue.
judy, judy, baby, baby, judy, judy, i love you." the audi suddenly
turned into a chevy impala and disappeared into the tyrolean entrance
of the arlberg tunnel, the sun beginning to set above the mountain.

the mission continues. they're under way once more in the name of the
lord. concerning world peace.
Blues Brothers Cartoon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Will have you jumping in your living room, 6 May 2002
This review is from: The Blue Brothers Soundtrack (Audio CD)
This is one of the best soundtracks i have ever heard and i can listern to it again and again and never get bored.The Movie is great and it's car chases a legend and even here the music is just right.
It must have been hard to choose this small selection to go on this album, with such a vast collection of excellent artists on show.
Shake a Tail feather is a great track and my kids love it. Everbody loves "Everybody needs somebody to love which is a good while doing the dusting!Question do you know all the words to Minnie The Moocher? Cab Calloway was cool.Least liked track is "The Old Landmark, and that is only because i do not understand James Brown. Buy this and watch the film and enjoy some timeless music,it would be a crime not too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Blue Brothers Soundtrack
The Blue Brothers Soundtrack by The Blues Brothers (Audio CD - 1995)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews