Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Slightly disappointing
Having owned and enjoyed a vinyl copy of this album for over 30 years I was rather annoyed to discover that "Heart of the Sunrise" and "Perpetual Change" have been replaced by, what I consider to be, inferior versions.
The original album was utterly stunning; I loved it from the first play. I only bought the MP3 download because my vinyl is too badly worn to...
Published on 23 Feb 2010 by P. C. Thomas

versus
17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars MP3: beware what you do and don't get
I owned this on vinyl years ago (yes, a triple album it was). This review is specifically about the MP3 download version. Beware: it includes studio tracks that interrupt the flow of the live album.

Very annoyed to find that it's not the triple album; it's some (most?) of that, plus some tracks from other albums.

Yessongs, yup, I did want that. But...
Published on 23 Aug 2010 by C. Arthur


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Slightly disappointing, 23 Feb 2010
By 
P. C. Thomas "Yes man" (Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Yessongs (MP3 Download)
Having owned and enjoyed a vinyl copy of this album for over 30 years I was rather annoyed to discover that "Heart of the Sunrise" and "Perpetual Change" have been replaced by, what I consider to be, inferior versions.
The original album was utterly stunning; I loved it from the first play. I only bought the MP3 download because my vinyl is too badly worn to digitize.
If you are replacing your vinyl, beware.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


57 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Retrospectively amazing, 3 May 2004
By 
S. G. Gilman "Simon Gilman" (Stockport) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yessongs (Audio CD)
With "Keys to Ascension", the Symphonic Tour and most recently the 35th Anniversary concert recordings, you can hear how Yes have mastered their back catalogue to give outstanding, mature renditions of their classic material from the 1970s; they're so on top of the songs that there's the kind of range of nuance and interpretation that you can only get from artists of their calibre. How amazing, then, to return to 1972 and hear how they delivered the songs when they were still in their twenties. The contemporary criticism of their music was often that they over-arranged, that there was posture, pretention and almost painfully meticulous production. "Yessongs" blasts this criticism out of the water. Not only does the complexity and breadth of the music shine through, but it's delivered with a blistering energy that never really came out in the studio albums.
The main difference between these live versions and the originals is that this is the first time we hear Alan White on drums, and he drives the songs along with a kick (literally) that brings them right into the rock genre. You can't fault former drummer Bill Bruford's skill - he appears in this recording on "Perpetual Change", with a typically paradiddling top-kit solo - but it's White that lifts the rest of the material.
Highlights are "Heart of the Sunrise", so powerfully rendered that it sometimes sounds as if it'll fly off into chaos; "And You and I", where the original's final theme is transplanted to the top of the song to give it a new roundedness; Rick Wakeman's showcase "Excerpts from the Six Wives of Henry VIII", incredible when you remember the limitations of 1970s technology; "The Fish", proving that Chris Squire is not only a great bass player but a pioneer of the instrument; and "Starship Trooper", which lifts off with a great roar from the crowd and never lets up.

Moments to listen for: Steve Howe nearly messing up towards the end of "Heart of the Sunrise"; Wakeman clowning on the intro to "Perpetual Change"; Jon Anderson rendering the opening bassoon from Stravinsky's "Rite of Spring" before Wakeman's solo; Squire's nod to "Friends" from "Led Zeppelin III" during "The Fish"; and the great piano riff that slides in to introduce "Yours is no Disgrace".
OK, the production is almost as thin as a bootleg, but don't let that put you off. If you're a fan, then this is the album to play to Yes-haters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not a Rhino remaster, 10 May 2013
By 
C. Blackman "Evil_C" (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yessongs (Audio CD)
Potential customers for this CD should note that notwithstanding the claims of Amazon in the product description, this is not a Rhino remaster, but the Joe Gaswirt remaster from 1994. The date (26 September 1994) is correct, but the 'Label' and 'Format Description' are misleading. I do not believe that Rhino has ever remastered this live set, so if you're expecting an improved sound like the other Rhino Yes remasters then you'll be disappointed. Caveat emptor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hitting the spot all over again with a triumphant Yes!, 17 Sep 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yessongs (Audio CD)
Loved this album ever since I bought it in the mid seventies. All the way back then I had never seen a triple album before so really surprised this time round to unwrap the new re-mastered CD with its slim little jewel case) Bless...

Very happy to report the sound quality is a bit better, clearer and with a touch more body/punch. I was relieved because even though the album is a classic the sound was originally terrible (Especially after many plays on your record player) so it's great to hear it cleaned up. I had no trouble with disc 2 as some reviewers have stated...

All Yes fans will have there favorite parts from this recording. For me it is tracks like "Perpetual Change" "Long Distance Runaround" "Yours is No Disgrace" and "Starship Trooper" because the raw energy and sometimes savage power of the bands performance is simply breathtaking; plus the extended solos in theses tracks are wonderful and I feel in a way have never been bettered. Sometimes the power is a little too much for example "And You and I" is a little spoilt by the lack of subtlety, but it's only a small detail and indeed a matter of individual taste.

Incidentally I found it interesting that both Wakemans solo offering and Howe's "Mood For A day" although listened to with pleasure on the first run through, I find now that I tend to skip theses tracks as older and wiser ears find them a wee bit more trivial and flowery. Contrary to this is Chris Squires bass solo on "Fish" Which I now find more impressive than ever: this powerful and stunning exhibition of virtuoso playing surely goes down in history as one of the most exciting bass solos ever. Chris for me was always the heart of "Yes".

Jon Anderson's sometimes slight lack of confidence shows in his voice, and Bill Bruford's drum solo starts great but kinda loses steam in the middle, but overall an incredible live performance that is now a good 25 years old.

So Yes all cleaned up and fresh faced ready to please your ears all over again. Well done those people) Very highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gigantic, 21 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Yessongs (Audio CD)
Absolutely awesome, these are the definitive performances of almost every track for me. Especially the absolutely unstoppable rush of "Yours Is No Disgrace"... Wow! And you can feel the awe of the audience (and the band themselves) as they unleash "Close To The Edge" on an unsuspecting world. The inbuilt tension and musical ambition of Yes erupts like a volcano on this album. Beats the crap out of later live albums when they were too rich and the material wasn't fresh any more. Buy this and Relayer and you have the essence. Never mind the less-than-perfect sound quality, this is a LIVE album, in the electrical sense too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A comprehensive tour of early material live!, 12 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yessongs (Audio CD)
My wife and I will be seeing Yes with at the Albert Hall in May and it will be interesting to see how the music from this era comes across live over forty years on as they will be playing both 'The Yes album' and 'Close to the edge' live along with 'Going for the one' which was recorded five years later. But this album catches them at the peak of their creative powers in the 70s. The only thing that lets this down is the production which is only to be expected from such an old live recording, hence minus one star. Also, I have read that Alan White wasn't over pleased with his own performance having just joined the band and not really having got to grips with all the dynamics of what was extremely complicated music! But besides that it oozes with energy and some fantastic playing. Yes were never a great in the studio, lousy onstage band and this album proves they could deliver some of the most innovative music of that time confidently in a live setting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It`s ALL here!, 8 Dec 2007
By 
J. Robertson (Dundee, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Yessongs (Audio CD)
Well, where to begin with an album like this?
I first bought this album in June 1983 (on my 16th birthday) after my very first flush of hearing YES music. At the time most of the music on this album went over my head...it was too fiddly...it was too...um..."where are the songs?, the melodies?, the passion?"
I was a novice YES fan but I gave this album time to grow on me (it`s still finding it`s niche to this very day!)...within a few days I was comparing studio versions to live versions and this album confirmed that YES were a band who played music way, WAY beyond the expected rituals of live performance. I found it all, here on this album!
To the modern, generic, happening `person-about-town` this album may seem like a classic case of `70`s self indulgent live performance nonsense, you may well be correct? Thing is...there are bands out there who consider themselves to be at the forefront of `modern rock` (they, and their fans know who they are) and it is to them this album may be of great benefit.
Here is a band recorded live in 1972 using vintage amplifiers, vintage recording techniques (yes, on some tracks the sound is less than, a lOT less than perfect!) and vintage instruments (mellotrons and mini-moogs on tour...braver men than I)...these musicians really had to WORK for every note they aspired to.
Here is a band who aren`t simply turning everything up to `eleven` and hoping their rocktastic riffs will blow their audience away...instead here is a band at their youthful peak using imagination, invention and creativity at every turn to mould a legacy which would hold them in good stead well over thirty years after this live album was first released.
In 1972 THIS was how good live music could be!
Here we are in 2007 and `quasi-prog` bands are still trying to usurp it`s glory, maybe it`s time they looked forward, as all they aspire to is all here on this album.
Oh! ...I forgot...
...the songs are amazing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars MP3: beware what you do and don't get, 23 Aug 2010
By 
C. Arthur (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Yessongs (MP3 Download)
I owned this on vinyl years ago (yes, a triple album it was). This review is specifically about the MP3 download version. Beware: it includes studio tracks that interrupt the flow of the live album.

Very annoyed to find that it's not the triple album; it's some (most?) of that, plus some tracks from other albums.

Yessongs, yup, I did want that. But if I'd wanted to buy Fragile or The Yes Album, or tracks from that, I would have bought those. So I'm not pleased to find that this contains two tracks from those studio albums. It's a LIVE album (or was originally) so let's have the LIVE tracks.

Whoever thought it would be a good idea to screw up the track listing of what is a really great live album (echo everything that people say about Alan White's drumming) by including studio tracks: that was stupid, and means I'm going to be very wary about downloads. Though of course you have to be very wary of *everything* in back catalogue these days, especially if it contains the dreaded word "remastered". This usually means "higher-priced and not sounding as good as you remember it, and possibly with fewer tracks too." There's a version of Yessongs over on iTunes which fits that moniker exactly - avoid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Theirs is no disgrace, 30 Mar 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yessongs (Audio CD)
I saw Yes play this set of some of their best music just after they had released Close To The Edge, when Bill Bruford left to join King Crimson and Alan White joined. This live album was originally released as a triple LP adorned with a new set of Roger Dean paintings to accompany the music. The remastered double CD can only reproduce the art as an insert but the music is as good as ever and captures the group at their peak with the definitive line-up of Anderson, Squire, Howe, Wakeman and White (who ably replaced Bruford). Highlights include a great rendition of 'Perpetual Change' and probably the best version of 'Yours Is No Disgrace' I've heard with Wakeman in full flow on his banks of keyboards. It captures the sheer magnificence of their music in its heyday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Who Mastered the CDs?, 25 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yessongs (Audio CD)
I have the original vinyl records; it has now seen better days after 40 years and 3-4 house moves so I decided to replace it with this CD set.

Given that creating the same sequence and continuity of all the songs in a 2 CDs based set (from a 3 vinyl record based-set) may not be straight froward who (which dump-ass) decided "break-off" the continuity of the songs that existed in the vinyl records when remastering them onto the CD?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Yessongs
Yessongs by Yes (Audio CD - 1994)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews