Customer Reviews


131 Reviews
5 star:
 (110)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


46 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Creative classic that time cannot erode
This was a pioneering rock album by the band everyone aspired to be at the time, and are influenced by now. Unlike many other groundbreakers, this isn't particularly dated and still holds its own in a market that has moved on.

'Stairway to Heaven' deserves to be remembered as one of the all-time great tracks, but the others aren't fillers. More a case of...
Published on 18 May 2006 by Some Bloke

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great. Naturally
Great music, but will never beat the truly great LZ 2. Get this first to really appreciate this powerful group!
Published 6 months ago by HPVEE


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

46 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Creative classic that time cannot erode, 18 May 2006
This review is from: Led Zeppelin IV (Audio CD)
This was a pioneering rock album by the band everyone aspired to be at the time, and are influenced by now. Unlike many other groundbreakers, this isn't particularly dated and still holds its own in a market that has moved on.

'Stairway to Heaven' deserves to be remembered as one of the all-time great tracks, but the others aren't fillers. More a case of 'Stairway' as the pinnacle of the album. Plant's vocals are forthright, bluesy and angst-ridden. Page's guitar lines are ideal in each situation and provide some great riffs. Bonham's drumming really is incredible rock drumming - hard, heavy, and not always as predicted. Somehow John-Paul Jones and his bass are by comparison, merely perfect.

There's a variety here - rocky numbers like 'Black Dog' and 'Rock n Roll', then slow blues like 'When the Levy Breaks'.

Since this album, the rock guitar has become louder and heavier through Motorhead, AC/DC, Anthrax, Slayer, through to the modern thrash. Despite that, this album still sounds fresh and has an edge of creative genius that many new bands just don't have as much of.

I write this not as someone who was there when it came out and is nostalgic (I'm too young!) but someone who found it after discovering the modern rock and metal world. And it's still, really, that good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you don't have it get it, 2 Jun 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Led Zeppelin IV (Audio CD)
This is probably one of the best rock records ever done, together with Deep Purple's Machine Head and Made in Japan. I can't find a musically bad track on it, still I'm not fond of the lyrics tainted with mysticism on Battle for Evermore. The opening track Black dog has a wonderful riff wandering over the guitar which shows why Jimmy Page (together with Tony Iommi of Black Sabbath) can take full credit for pioneering the mammoth riffs of hard rock/heavy metal, which also is shown in Misty Mountain Hop, Four Sticks and When the Levee Breaks. I don't need to say something about Stairway to Heaven as it by many is rated as the best rock song ever written. But I want to stress the mastery of three underrated gems on this wonderful record, namely Misty Mountain Hop a very heavy and hooking track, Four Sticks with its driving rhythm in 4/5 and When the Levee Breaks with its, I can't find words to explain it, wonderful guitar sound. All in all it is a record well worth the money spent. And I will give a promise: If you like rock, hard rock or heavy metal, you will not be disappointed and will also have a record to be played on, and on, and on, and on ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece, 31 Mar 2006
This review is from: Led Zeppelin IV (Audio CD)
If you look at Led Zep's major attributes: passionate vocals, pioneering guitar work, towering drums, booming rhythm, they are all here in abundance on this album. For me it is the pinnacle of their achievement, combining the mystical with the masterful. There isn't a weak track as the music moves between out and out rock 'Rock and Roll' 'Black Dog' to the lyrical 'Going to California' via the transcendent 'Battle of Evermore' and peerless anthem 'Stairway to Heaven'. I know Stairway has had hours of airplay over the years, but it is a great track, and if anything this whole album in many ways seems too obvious a choice for best album for a lot of Zep fans. But Zep 2 is less textured, Physical Graffiti less unified. I love all their albums but always come back to this one because it is satisfaction guaranteed. They just don't make them like this anymore!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The greatest album of all time. Bar none., 28 Oct 2005
By 
Mr. B. J. Allen "zosofan" (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Led Zeppelin IV (Audio CD)
Four Symbols, Zoso, IV, The Runes Album. To be honest, Led Zeppelin could have called their 4th studio album "A load of b****cks" and it wouldn't have made any difference.
Led Zeppelin IV is simply the greatest album ever recorded. In America, only Thriller, The Wall and Eagles-Very Best Of have sold more. And let's face it, in musical terms, only Pink Floyd of these three can be mentioned in the same breath as Led Zeppelin.
Just looking at the track listing is like looking at a greatesT hits album. Black Dog was the product of a jam between John Paul Jones and John Bonham. It remained a steady fixture of their live shows for years to come.
Misty Mountain Hop is simply mesmerising, fusing the brilliance of multi-instrumentalist/arranger supreme Jones with the awesome riffery of Jimmy Page, arguably the greatest guitarist of all time. I say this because Page's legacy, both as producer, live performer, songwriter and guitarist is far greater than Clapton, Beck and even Hendrix, who didn't stick around long enough to show off his sublime talents.
Going To California is essentially a nod to Joni Mitchell and gives a brief respite from the barbaric rock of numbers such as Rock & Roll and Four Sticks. To finish the album, When The Levee Breaks is just incredible. Robert Plant's wailing lyric above the blues inspired guitar lines and two-bar drum intro is simply breathtaking.
If you haven't heard any Led Zeppelin music, shame on you. And until you do, you haven't heard music. Real arse kicking music, that is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FIVE STARS ISN'T ENOUGH!, 28 Jan 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Led Zeppelin IV (Audio CD)
I hated Led Zeppelin until I was forced to listen to IV. By the time 'Black Dog' was over I'd changed my views for ever. By the time 'When The Levee Breaks'had ended Led Zeppelin had become the greatest Rock 'n' Roll band ever to give rise from these shores. Deep Purple had some SERIOUS competition. People rave about how great a guitarist Jimmy Page is (and he is) or how gifted a vocalist Robert Plant is (and he is) ,but the man who IS (or tragically was) Led Zeppelin, is John Bonham...what a drummer! The way he drives 'Black Dog' along, and the intro to 'Rock And Roll'puts him in the ranks of the immortals. The album switches from sheer gutsy heavy metal to melodic and acoustic music, to the climax to the album, where 'When The Levee Breaks' leaves you somewhere in mid air.It's unfair...this should have been a double album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When I came to the end of this cdI cried inside, 6 Dec 2005
This review is from: Led Zeppelin IV (Audio CD)
When I first bought this albumn I knew little about Led, it was just a spur of the moment thing. I can honestly say that Led are now my favourite band of all time. The true skill of the each individual musician comes through in each song on this albumn, combining their talents in the much loved pastiche of blues and rock music. Some may well have found their first albumn to stray into the territory of 'Cream', but in my humble opinion IV symbols sets Led out as the true masters of rock and roll. I just wish I had been born back when they were still playing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars essential, 3 Jun 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Led Zeppelin IV (Audio CD)
Led Zeppelin are the group who have seeped into your consciousness even if you're not aware of having actively listened to any of their music: virtually every rock group since has lifted mannerisms, riffs, attitudes from them, and when you see the variety on II you can understand what a broad inspiration they provided. From the defining, thrilling intro to Rock'n'Roll, through the power of Black Dog, to a gentle tenderness in Going to California - you wouldn't think to associate tenderness with the great cliche of Led Zeppelin and Robert Plant's religion-revealing jeans - this album wraps you up completely. Even if you think you're sick of Stairway to Heaven, hearing it again in the setting of this album freshens it up into a whole new experience. Since discovering Led Zeppelin, I just find most modern music such a let-down, it's almost painful. After a period of total unfashionability, the passion and skill of all four musicians is like a bright light next to today's two-dimensional product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The greatest album in the history of rock?, 29 May 2007
By 
This review is from: Led Zeppelin IV (Audio CD)
Many polls over the years since its release would suggest so, as "Led Zeppelin IV"

usually appears if not at the top but always in the top 3 - quite an achievement! This

album is no accident, it was forged by four excellent musicians right at the top

of their game, who worked hard creating their image with wily rock solid management

in the form of Peter Grant, relentless touring, and their trump card - "Stairway To

Heaven", often described as the greatest song ever written!

"Led Zeppelin IV" also allowed the band to mature and settle into various musical styles;

folk, prog, blues, heavy rock - but Jimmy Page always hated having his music labelled,

he found it restricting. There is also another powerful personality influencing this album,

hotly debated theories abound about the "prescence" of Aleister Crowley - true or not,

it all adds to the mystique of LZ, many will describe the music in detail here, but here

are the stories that surround the songs!

"Black Dog"-

LZ IV was recorded at Headley Grange studios in Hampshire, this old building had many

spooky stories attached to it, and during the band's stay they were visited by a

mysterious black labrador that hung around the place. This complex number is heavy,

bluesy, with a Muddy Waters' inspired riff.

"Rock and Roll"-

It is impossible to keep still to this good old fashioned rocker! John Bonham had just

recieved a shiny new kit, whilst practising the complicated pattern for "Four Sticks" he

momentarily lost it, and in frustration crashed out the intro for "Rock and Roll" instead -

the rest of the band joined in and jammed and a song was born!

"The Battle of Evermore"-

With mystical references to "Lord of the Rings", the magical mandolin, Sandy Denny's

haunting vocals echoeing Plant's, this song, about a walled citadel under siege, is a

pretty English folk ballad which inspired "wizard and demon" song material for years to

come by folk, prog and metal musicians alike. The song was reworked by Robert and

Jimmy in 1994, with Indian and Egyptian musicians to great effect.

"Stairway to Heaven"-

Arguably the greatest song ever written, and one people still have played at their

funerals! This song is famous across all music genres - while record hunting in a market

fair some years ago a small girl clutching LZ IV asked me "does this have Stairway to

Heaven on it?" All the songs on the album seem to revolve around this one, an

achievement the band are rightly proud of, a rock masterpiece - their most proggish?

As with every great song (such as "Lucy in the Sky"), the song had detractors from

fundamentalist religious groups and ministers claiming backmasked secret and satanic

messages were in the song lauding Satan! ...time for another listen, I must have

missed those!

"Misty Mountain Hop"-

Very similar to "Black Dog" a bluesy riff and complex drumming patterns, the song is

about every hippie's favourite pastime smoking pot, and an invitation by the Police to

come to tea! Could this be the first rap song?

"Four Sticks"-

Such a complicated drum pattern Bonzo struggled to learn, he ended up with two sticks

in each hand to great effect, a hypnotic song with a great heavy riff.

"Going to California"-

An American folk style song this time, the song is a tribute to Joni Mitchell and the

band's musical spiritual home.

"When the Levee Breaks"-

A much-sampled classic, the amazing drum sound on this track was achieved by placing

Bonham's kit beneath the stairwell at Headley Grange. Bonham's drum sound is

legendary on this track, an amazing psychedelic trip written around an old blues song

by Memphis Minnie, Zeppelin were often accused of ripping off black music, nowadays

rappin' black musicians are "ripping" off Led Zeppelin! Also Michael Jackson's "Bad" bore

many similarities to "Hearbreaker", so there!

Whatever one's musical background or tastes "Led Zeppelin IV" deserves a place in any

music collection, it has come full circle and is "cool" again, absolutely essential listening,

and a huge influence on many music genres including prog!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Their finest hour, 22 July 2004
This review is from: Led Zeppelin IV (Audio CD)
Untitled (AKA Led Zeppelin IV, The "Rune" Album, Four Symbols, Zoso, and countless other names (1971.)) Led Zeppelin's fourth album.
It was in 1971 that Led Zeppelin would release their fourth studio album. Although the album was often referred to as The Rune Album or Zoso due to the symbols featured on the packaging, for ease of reference most fans call it Led Zeppelin IV. By now Robert Plant, Jimmy Page, John Paul Jones, and John Bonham were really beginning to realize their musical potential. With most bands, there is one album that the vast majority of fans tend to call that band's best work. With Led Zeppelin that album would have to be Led Zeppelin IV. So, are all the fans who call it their finest hour right, or is it just subpar by the band's standards? Read on for my review of this album.
Anyone who calls this album the finest Led Zeppelin album knows what he or she is talking about. Their other albums are great, but this one is a masterpiece among masterpieces. Kicking off the quintessential rock masterpiece is Black Dog. This is one of the band's most memorable rockers ever created, and Jimmy Page serves up some of his finest guitar playing here. Next up is another hard rocker, the appropriately titled Rock And Roll. It's one of the band's biggest hits, and why not? I'm not surprised this song (and most of the others on this album) still get played on the radio on a regular basis. Next up is one of the band's true masterpieces, The Battle Of Evermore. Although not one of the most popular songs on the album, you're going to hear fans of the band praise it constantly. This little epic shows just what Led Zeppelin is capable of performing, and that there more than "just another rock band." The next track, Stairway To Heaven, is probably the most popular song that this album spawned. It's slower and more melodic than most of the band's material, but that doesn't make it any less excellent. There's no denying this song's status as a rock classic. Next up we go back to the rockers with Misty Mountain Hop. This is an interesting track, because it fuses elements of hard rock with elements of pop! What's even more surprising is that the end result is very good! Four Sticks, the next composition present on the album, is probably the least known track featured here, but that doesn't mean it's a bad one. It's a solid rocker through and through. For Going To California, the band slows things down a bit again, creating one of their most memorable tunes that explores the softer side. And, of course, the album is concluded with the classic When The Levee Breaks. It's early power rock at its finest, and above all, it's an excellent way to close out a great album. In the end, this album just plain rocks.
There have been numerous issues of this album released over the years, but really, they're all the same other than their packaging. Don't bother shelling out the extra cash to get one of those foreign LP-style replica packages - it's just not worth it. The domestic versions are exactly the same and cost considerably less.
What can I say? If you're a fan of classic rock and you don't own this album, there is really no excuse for not owning it. If you haven't made the purchase yet, I strongly suggest doing so. As I've stated in my other Led Zeppelin reviews, a hits compilation can't do these guys justice - so either buy all of their albums, or just get them all at once with the Complete Studio Recordings box set. Led Zeppelin were gods of classic hard rock, and their fourth album proves it like no other release can.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, but lacking the song I bought the album for., 9 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Led Zeppelin IV (Audio CD)
I guess I should've checked the tracks on the album before I bought it, but I couldn't help but be disappointed when I played it to find that it lacked Bohemian Rhapsody.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Led Zeppelin IV
Led Zeppelin IV by Led Zeppelin (Audio CD - 1997)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews