Customer Reviews


171 Reviews
5 star:
 (132)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Led Zeppelin 2014 The Paris gig.......
OK, so all of the previous owners are familiar with the material here, best described by someone elsewhere in the reviews here as a collection of thinly disguised blues covers, to pad things out, along with a couple of new songs that Jimmy had been working on with the Yardbirds. I can't argue with that, but what I can say is that Zep took that stuff and made it their own...
Published 2 months ago by Smitty Werbenjaegermanjensen (...

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing and expensive
Nice packaging but the bonus live LP is very patchy - I've heard many better bootlegs. The studio LP is of course perfection.
Published 24 days ago by Eleanor Hamilton


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 418 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Disc 1 Superb! gets 5 stars but Disc 2 Paris concert mmmm only average -good bootleg quality in places, 4 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just bought this. 5 stars for the remastered version of the original album (disc 1). Wow forgot how good this album was - amazing! 5 stars for the packaging and although the musicianship on the Paris concert (disc 2) is brilliant sound reproduction is a bit iffy - maybe average to good bootleg quality.
However still giving 5 stars for purchase - what a wonderful album !
I really love this first album from Led Zeppelin, along with my other early favourites; Free's Tons of Sobs, Jethro Tull's This Was, Savoy Brown's Blue Matter, Atomic Rooster's first and Steamhammer's Reflection.
Not doing an overview of the individual tracks - no need.
You've just got to buy this and indulge in a magnificent blast from the past!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why did I wait so long before getting this?, 30 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Led Zeppelin (Audio CD)
I had Led Zep 2 a full thirty years before getting this one recently. I always had a perception that this would be somehow not the finished article, perhaps a rushed lo-fi recording padded out with cover versions. How wrong could I be? It's brilliant, quite possibly the best of the lot. The band seem to have found their sound straight away (unlike many bands who take several albums to really gel). There's an extra something special happening here, an energy, a chemistry between the musicians, that elevates this above the later albums. For example, closer How Many More Times simply explodes out of the speakers when the full band come in. It's genuinely exciting rock music and it's not hard to see how this album began the process of changing the game for hard rock. It's also got a big, full-blooded sound that no other album I can think of from that era can match. For 1969, this big warm sound is almost miraculous - strange how Page seemed to progressively forget his production skills, as later albums sounded ever thinner and harsher
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome first album undimmed by the passing of 42 years, 3 Sep 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Led Zeppelin (Audio CD)
I'm not a big fan of remastered vinyl albums but this one is an exception (although I've only my 42 year old vinyl copy to compare it with!)Normally the remastering leaves a clinical,clear, yet lifeless recording,but as the technology evolves, that seems to be less of a problem. There is a striking clarity about it, the acoustic and electric guitar and drums sound as if they are being played live in the room.

For most people I guess "the" Led Zeppelin album is the 4th or "runes" album, but certainly amongst me and my sixth form mates of that era, the first album was the best, more coherent than the live offerings of Cream, it showcased the talents of the band members perfectly, it's hard to grasp how different this band were then, I'd never seen anyone play a guitar with a violin bow! Perhaps there is a certain naivete in the choice of songs, some of them covers that most of us had not heard of then, but the rawness and sheer power of the performances before fame, booze, drugs and over inflated egos is refreshing. I saw them numerous times between 1971 and 1977 or so and, like the album, the most electrifying performances were the early ones. If you are looking for 30 minute guitar or drum solos you will be disappointed, but if you believe that the great performances are more about what you don't play, the soul you put into it and the space in a performance then you'll love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 30 Aug 2011
By 
Abstract (Nottinghamshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Led Zeppelin (Audio CD)
What a splendid job that has been done on this masterpiece.....

If you liked this album before, you'll like this better. The sound is crisp and clear and Page's guitar notes can actually be picked out individually, if you have a half decent system to play the cd on.

In comparison, the original cd feels muddy and turgid. On this remastered version it really does come to life.

I'd put off buying this as it wasn't my favourite Led Zep offering, but it is now.............. Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Zeppelin takes off, 18 July 2011
By 
Doyle (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Led Zeppelin (Audio CD)
Every rock music fan has their defining Led Zeppelin moment or defining zep album. For some it's the potent riffery of '2', for some it's the diversity of Physical Graffitti, with me it's 'Presence' but in truth, each album is a defining moment, (even 'In through the out door' had its moments!) and as such each is a snapshot of where the band were musically at the time. Led Zeppelin 1 (or the first album, as you prefer) is special as it set the template for what was to come. The template got added to, expanded, extended, sometimes twisted about, but this debut carries all the elements that make Led Zeppelin so special, the breadth of scope from the blistering hard rock of communication breakdown through the acoustic shimmering beauty of 'Black mountain side' to the raw blues of You shook me and 'How many more times. 'Good times bad times' comes charging out of the traps like a (black) dog on heat only to make way for the delicacy of the acoustic intro to 'Babe I'm gonna leave you' which soon packs a fair wallop itself as the juggernaut gets going. Then its Plant in fine voice, playing off Page for Willie Dixon's 'You shook me' before the 'tour de force that is 'Dazed and confused' I much prefer this version to the 27 minute behemoth that clogs up a who;e side (side??) of the live soundtrack, 'The song remains the same'
Just to show that Page isn't the only mad musical genius, JPJ turns in some beautifully uplifting organ playing for 'Your time is gonna come' which melts into a change of mood for 'Black Mountain side' which is in turn steamrolled by possibly the most savage riff that they ever committed to vinyl in Communication breakdown. No need for any pointless meandering here, they make their statement of intent in 2 and a half minutes. The ghost of Willie Dixon turns up again on 'I can't quit you, baby' nodding his approval of these white boys that bleed the blues before the final tour de force of 'How many more times' Plant is at his absolute best as he declares 'I've got you in the sights of my gun' in this 'jammed' blues rock classic.
It's as good a starting point as any if Led Zep have previously passed you by and you want to see what the fuss is about, you will not be disappointed. Don't forget to work your way to 'Physical Graffitti' and Presence to see how the music progressed, but witness here a young band with all their raw enthusiasm and fire. Some will say that it didn't get any better than this, and I would be hard pushed to contest that point. Enjoy, and rock out!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 12 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Led Zeppelin (Audio CD)
Definitely a must buy, if you are a music lover. Impossible to miss any album from Led Zeppelin! Apart from that, CD in great conditions and received in perfect timing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars fantastic debut, 10 April 2011
By 
Mr Blackwell (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Led Zeppelin (Audio CD)
From the moment i hear the joyous,uplifting strains of 'Good Times,Bad Times' i'm smiling instantly,never ceases to lift my mood,same with the beautiful 'Your Time Is Gonna Gome',two underated tracks in the Zeppelin catalogue.This is a quite astonishing debut disc from a band finding its way(albeit Page & Jones) were experienced session/live performers.

Highlights are a plenty but special mention must go to 'Communication Breakdown',the riff that launched a thousand metal bands,the downright sinister bass line for 'Dazed n Confused',the studio version my favourite ,as it usually stretched out far too long live and the quite frankly under rated 'How Many More Times'- possibly the best album closer in rock history,one of their greatest tracks ever.

The rest pretty much by the numbers blues tracks,well played and the superb 'Black Mountain Side' One of the best debut discs ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The start of a rock legacy, 28 Jan 2011
By 
This review is from: Led Zeppelin (Audio CD)
This album is a truly awesome achievement, Page's guitar work sounds fantastic especially for the riff on communication breakdown, also the vocals are some of the best in rock music, especially on dazed and confused. If you like rock music or led zeppelin then this is just essential as they are one of the most influential and greatest rock bands of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Sonic Blast From The 60's., 29 Nov 2009
By 
S. Muzyka (Rugby,Warwickshire,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Led Zeppelin (Audio CD)
One can only imagine the impact this record had when it exploded onto the English music scene. As a debut album its quite simply stunning, bursting with confidence, fantastic arrangements and sublime musicianship. The band had only just got together prior to the recording which makes it even more impressive. Recorded in a total of just 30 hours studio time for around 1500 (which the notoriously tight-fisted Jimmy Page always reminds people was paid for solely by him) its definitely a case of a band hitting the ground running. From the thunderous intro of 'Good Times, Bad Times' to the explosive speaker-hopping climax of 'How Many More Times' the album certainly leaves an indelible impact. That's not to say it's all Crash-Bang-Wallop though. 'Black Mountain Side' is a pleasant diversion and comes at just the right point in the sequence, while 'Babe I'm Gonna Leave You' also features some brilliant acoustic work from Page. Perhaps the biggest impact was in the crisp, clear and powerful production. Both Page and John Paul Jones had played on hundreds of sessions for acts as diverse as The Who, Tom Jones, Lulu, Donovan and even Val Doonican(!). Jimmy Page in particular took a lot of notice of microphone placement, sound balance/mixing and production. Armed with the knowledge of what, in his opinion, worked and what didn't he set about giving Zeppelin a sound that did the songs justice. The brilliant English sound engineer/producer Glyn Johns was on hand to help twiddle the knobs but the overall control was Page's. Right from the first track it's the drum sound that grabs the attention. Using a combination of distance and close miking that hadn't been tried before the drums were allowed to 'breathe', creating a bigger sound that took in the ambience of the room. The fact that John Bonham (along with Keith Moon) was the greatest drummer ever certainly helped. The guitar sound was also incredible, considering Page was just using an Amp with one 12-inch speaker and a booster pedal for the solos. Robert Plant, just 20 at the time, delivered some searing vocal performances and the contributions of Jones on bass and keyboards are of the highest quality. The standout track is obviously 'Dazed And Confused' but just about every track is perfect and as a first statement of intent, Zeppelin showed the established acts of the 60's it was time to step up in quality yet again. The fact that 1969 also saw the release of 'Abbey Road' 'Let It Bleed' 'Tommy' and The Kinks 'Arthur' indicated that the big groups had got the message. Zeppelin's own follow-up also appeared this year and managed to consolidate (if not improve) on this magnificent introduction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This album could change your life!, 21 Mar 2009
By 
R. Lewis (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Led Zeppelin (Audio CD)
A bold claim you may think (if not slighty insane or at the very least rather sad), but if the truth be told, this LP did indeed change my life. After hearing it at the age of 13 I've never looked back and to this day I have not found a more perfect album. Breathtaking in every way, it is an essential example of blues/rock that scores ten out of ten in every respect (even the cover art is iconic)!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 418 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Led Zeppelin
Led Zeppelin by Led Zeppelin (Audio CD - 1994)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews