Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Prime Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars307
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£8.74+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

From the moment i hear the joyous,uplifting strains of 'Good Times,Bad Times' i'm smiling instantly,never ceases to lift my mood,same with the beautiful 'Your Time Is Gonna Gome',two underated tracks in the Zeppelin catalogue.This is a quite astonishing debut disc from a band finding its way(albeit Page & Jones) were experienced session/live performers.

Highlights are a plenty but special mention must go to 'Communication Breakdown',the riff that launched a thousand metal bands,the downright sinister bass line for 'Dazed n Confused',the studio version my favourite ,as it usually stretched out far too long live and the quite frankly under rated 'How Many More Times'- possibly the best album closer in rock history,one of their greatest tracks ever.

The rest pretty much by the numbers blues tracks,well played and the superb 'Black Mountain Side' One of the best debut discs ever.

2014 remaster update.... original album unbelievably sounds even better,excellent remaster enhancing an already superb disc.,the bonus disc is an average quality audio worth having for the historical value.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2011
I had Led Zep 2 a full thirty years before getting this one recently. I always had a perception that this would be somehow not the finished article, perhaps a rushed lo-fi recording padded out with cover versions. How wrong could I be? It's brilliant, quite possibly the best of the lot. The band seem to have found their sound straight away (unlike many bands who take several albums to really gel). There's an extra something special happening here, an energy, a chemistry between the musicians, that elevates this above the later albums. For example, closer How Many More Times simply explodes out of the speakers when the full band come in. It's genuinely exciting rock music and it's not hard to see how this album began the process of changing the game for hard rock. It's also got a big, full-blooded sound that no other album I can think of from that era can match. For 1969, this big warm sound is almost miraculous - strange how Page seemed to progressively forget his production skills, as later albums sounded ever thinner and harsher
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 2 June 2014
"Led Zeppelin"'s debut is certainly a contender for the best debut ever by a British band. There is no doubt about that and no need to discuss the contents because if you're buying this rather than the single disc version then you know that already, except to say that the re-remastering means that it sounds as good today as it ever did. The bonus disc here is what you're really interested in. In all honesty, it's a bit of a disappointment. Yes, it's 1969 Led Zeppelin, but the recording leaves much to be desired. It's quite muddy and echoey, at times John Bonham's drums disappear from the mix altogether, although Robert Plant's vocals cut through great and he is in fine voice on the night. For me, it's not quite as electric as the "Danmarks Radio" set or other existing stuff from 1969. Still, better than nothing. I would have liked a 5:1 mix, as that's all the rage these days and has brought new life to material by Zeppelin's peers Yes, Jethro Tull & King Crimson's back catologue. Also a tad disappointed with the booklet, plenty photos, but no essays on recording/touring etc. The meat here is as juicy as it always has been, but the potatoes are a bit harder to chew.
0Comment|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2006
A fantastic debut album and one of the best albums ever from one of the greatest if not the greatest band ever. Zeppelin's 'dazed and confused' is my favorite record a class record, the opener 'good times, bad times' is also awesome, a band on top form from start of there career to the end. Class songs like 'communication breakdown' the cover of 'you shook me' is great, 'black mountain side is also great, 'how many more times' is also a class record, later that year came Zeppelin II which to me is there best a great album, brillant. Truly amazing an album not to be missed.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2002
Zeppelin's début effort is a remarkable achievement. The "knock-knock" wake-up call of the surprisingly commercial opener "Good Times Bad Times" gives way to the labyrinthine acoustics of "Babe I'm Gonna Leave You". This is followed by Willie Dixon's blues tune "I Can't Quit You Baby", in an arrangement which steals from and improves upon the Jeff Beck Group's rendition. This segues into the moody, hallucenogenic "Dazed and Confused", a cornerstone of Zeppelin performances for years to come. What was side two opens with "Your Time is Gonna Come", in which a guitar figure pinched from Traffic's "Dear Mr. Fantasy" complements JP Jones' organics perfectly. This track leads straight into Page's eastern-styled acoustic piece "Black Mountain Side", which is followed by the high-speed riffage of "Communication Breakdown". Back to the Dixon songbook for "I Can't Quit You Baby", and then onto the album's finalé, the histrionic "How Many More Times", which freely borrows from Howlin' Wolf, Booker T and the MGs and a host of other sources, whilst remaining defiantly Zeppelin. Recorded in a mere thirty hours, and more than thirty years on, this sounds fresh, vital and powerful.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2006
I have them all and this is still the one I keep listening to most of all. I don't think they ever bettered this. If all you know of Zeppelin is IV or Physical Grafitti (everybody seems to have those two albums!), then you should listen to this.

Zeppelin's debut is a superb feast of blues-inspired rock music. The opener 'Good Times, Bad Times' is one of the best opening tracks on a debut album ever - simple as that. This is followed by 'Babe I'm Gonna Leave You' probably the track on this album which most points to the direction that Zeppelin would later follow, a mix of soft folky acoustics and hard rock. Then comes one of the album's blues cover versions, 'You Shook Me' a superb rendiditon with the great thumping drums of John Bonham. After that its the standout track to best all others. 'Dazed and Confused' is my favourite Zeppelin track of all. It just doesn't get any better than this. Lengthy, yes - but not a single second of this track leaves the mark, just completely sublime.

Then we have the feast of the second half of the album. The beautiful classical imagery of John-Paul Jones' keyboards on 'Your Time is Gonna Come' together with Plant's superb vocals, this is almost Gospel music! The acoustic 'Black Mountain Side' follows with Page proving he can play acoustic guitar with as much finesse as he plays the electric guitar. The commercial sounding 'Communication Breakdown' follows, probably my least favourite track on the album. Nothing wrong with it, it just doesn't stand comparison with the scope of the rest of the album. The album finishes on a bluesy note with 'I Can't Quit You Baby' and 'How Many More Times' which approaches 'Dazed and Confused' and almost makes it above it as the best track but it can't possibly be as good as that one!

A stunning album - one of the greatest ever.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2014
Just bought this. 5 stars for the remastered version of the original album (disc 1). Wow forgot how good this album was - amazing! 5 stars for the packaging and although the musicianship on the Paris concert (disc 2) is brilliant sound reproduction is a bit iffy - maybe average to good bootleg quality.
However still giving 5 stars for purchase - what a wonderful album !
I really love this first album from Led Zeppelin, along with my other early favourites; Free's Tons of Sobs, Jethro Tull's This Was, Savoy Brown's Blue Matter, Atomic Rooster's first and Steamhammer's Reflection.
Not doing an overview of the individual tracks - no need.
You've just got to buy this and indulge in a magnificent blast from the past!!!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2006
If you want to hear where later tracks from Led Zeppelin cast their roots from then this is a definite album to get your hands on. The band already had their classic and individual sound at this stage and everything about this album is mind blowing. Led Zeppelin I is an album you need to listen to at full blast. It has some of the catchiest guitar riffs of all time, and to be honest quite a lot of the stuff they were later best known for appears on this album.

I usually find Led Zeppelin albums considerably difficult to get into (despite the fact I adore the band), but this one slotted into my favourites straight away, whereas usually it takes me a few weeks before I start liking the album. This is a must-have for any fan of Led Zeppelin.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2014
I bought this on vinyl in the days when there was no choice of format, unless you count recording onto tape for your Phillip's portable tape machine. At the time I was a huge Cream fan but on the first listening this surpassed anything that they had done. The vinyl is still in my collection and does get the occasional play. This CD has enhanced the sound and with the addition of the live CD it really does make excellent listening. After all this time the opening few notes of Dazed & Confused still excites me. If you've not really listened to Led Zeppelin in the past this CD will I'm sure get you hooked on them.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2014
Maybe my ears are not as finely honed as some but for me the Concert CD (October 1969) is easily the best of the bonus CDs attached to the reissues of Led Zep 1-3. I played it in the car twice and then on my Ruark R4 and the sound quality is nowhere near as bad as some reviews I read. Indeed the sheer energy and confidence that jumps out of each track, when you consider the age of the band at that time, is breath taking. You also get to hear White Summer which is not included on any of the studio albums. Plus you get the remastered version of what must be the most self assured debut album of all time.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)