Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
32
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£4.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 April 2001
Probably one of the most greatest albums I have had the fortune to purchase. The album starts off with meat plow, nothing extra special, moving rapidly into vasoline. As the album progress the tracks get bettrer. A favouritetrack of mine being big empty, featured on the crow soundtrack. The album ends with a hidden track done in the style of a sleazy club singer. In my mind well worth a purchase, You will not be disappointed with this album>
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2010
Back in the mid 1990's when I was in my angst ridden late teens and early twenties, STP were the centre of my musical universe. They were 'my' band, and as far as I was concerned, the best band ever. Since then I've discovered Zeppelin, Sabbath, AC/DC etc and realised they're not the best band ever, bit I still have huge affection for them. This is easily the bands' recorded peak, and they clearly wanted this album to sound like it was made in the 70's. And I mean this as a compliment as, for my money, the 70's was rock's golden era. For the most part, STP pulled it off. There were a few non more 90's moments ('Lounge Fly', 'Army Ants' anyone?) but in the main, you can imagine this being knocked out while Zeppelin and (Deep) Purple rehearsed next door. The most classic sounding song is probably old favourite 'Interstate Love Song', its timeless southern fried riffs making it sound a lot older than it actually is (in a good way, of course). Then there is the albums undoubted masterpiece, 'Silvergun Superman' with its mix of heavy stop-start riffing and spacey, wide open chorus', on which versatile guitarist Dean DeLeo wrings out his finest solo as the song stumbles to a halt. You even have a Zeppelin style accoustic singalong thrown in too ('Pretty Penny'), which would be unremarkable were it not for Weiland's crystal clear and almost beautiful vocal. Unfortunately, STP were never quite this good again, and while their other albums had their moments, overall they were frustratingly inconsistant. But if you want to discover a decent band that have been perhaps a little overlooked by history, this is as good a place to start as any, so long as you can accept that you'll have to lower your expections when it comes to their other works.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2014
By far Purple, Stone Temple Pilots second album is their best effort. Almost flawless-with Weiland having his strongest voice. Purple isn't as over produced as their debut and benefits from that. It also showcases the bands other influences which were more veered towards Led Zeppelin and David Bowie than what the media thought- grunge hangers on.

A superb album, and an essential purchase.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2006
It really is a puzzle to me why Stone Temple Pilots are pretty much best known for their singer fronting Velvet Revolver. All five of their albums are top quality as far as I'm concerned, and this, their second, is the best of all. We'll all have our favourites, from the grunge/country inspired "Interstate Love Song", to the thrusting and crawling "Vaseline", and my own personal favourite, the brilliant "Kitchenware and Candy Bars", which builds tension superbly before releasing you at the end. How this song isn't a bona fide rock classic acknowledged by millions is beyond me; it's one of the best kept secrets in rock. I find it impossible to listen to this song in my car without spanking the steering wheel and screaming the chorus at the top of my weak and feeble voice.

But beyond all that, it is an album without any slack whatsoever. Okay then, "Pretty Penny" I'm not too keen on, but plenty of others are, and "Silvergun Superman" more than makes up for it. This is a genuine rock classic album, that should sit in everyone's record collection.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2001
Where this differs to other STP recordings is that the textures are more lush and the overall vibe a little more psychedelic. It marks a great turning point for the band as they nailed a sound that killed off the Pearl Jam comparisons instantly. Scott Weilands ethereal, trippy lyrics wash over the tunes and the mix is irresistable. And there are tonnes of great tunes, notably Interstae Lovesong, Big Empty, Still Remains and Kitchenware and Candybars. This isn't very grungey, owing more to Bowie and the Airplane than Kurt Cobain. This is a delicious record that should pride any self-respecting rock fan's collection.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2001
This is certainly STP's best album, from the slow-moving 'Big Empty' to the hook-filled (and one of the greatest songs ever recorded) 'Interstate Love Song' to the incredibly strange hidden track '12 gacious melodies'; this album has it all!
A classic grunge album, and an almost "void-filling" addition to any music collection..
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2012
STP proves themselves a heavyweight band with this release.

On PURPLE, we see Weiland and Co. grabbing not for hardhitting riffs so much as credibility with the critics. They had been roasted with their debut CORE because of the heavy sludge attack of that record. Stone Temple Pilots were accused of being rather dull copy-cat `artists', learning from Pearl Jam and Nirvana their entire bag of tricks and then replicating it with rather boring results. CORE's main problem, of course, is it gets very bogged down in the full assault of that heavy grunge sound, and Stone Temple Pilots don't rely on much else to carry the record through.

The critics this time were fairly right. With the exception of the four singles (Wicked Garden, Sex Type Thing, Creep, and Plush), which stand as some of the very best songs of the early 1990s and as important as anything Nirvana, Pearl Jam, and the other grungies were doing at the time. These tracks were tempered with melodicism, heavy-hitting music, and a great acoustic sound which rivals even Alice in Chains (who I believe has the best acoustic sound of any of the grunge heavy weights).

PURPLE is miles ahead of their debut. While they still retain the trademark sludge of grunge, they temper it greatly and vary things up enough to make their sound much more interesting, and in the process give the other grunge bands a run for their money.

Of course, recrafting your sound does not make the new record any better than the old one unless you have songs to go along with it (Sixteen Stone vs. Razorblade Suitcase). This is where PURPLE shines. As far as I'm concerned this record plays like a greatest hits record, or a compilation of essential early 1990s tracks. Without exception, every song on here is as good as the singles I cited from CORE. Stone Temple Pilots turned in a set that almost every song sounds like it has the potential to be a radio hit, and while critics and fans may cringe thinking that means they've sold out, Stone Temple Pilots sound their best when they're doing rock that could get on the radio*.

PURPLE sounds much more commercially minded than CORE, but in this case that's not a weakness or artistic compromise. Instead, PURPLE sounds much more like a band that has at long last come into their signature sound, and they're damn good at what they do. Just like The Who's MEATY, BEATY, BIG, & BOUNCY, everyone of these tracks shows an excellent band producing high quality singles which ranks as the best music from that time. The thing that sets PURPLE apart artistically, with its commercial sound, is it sounds genuine and a natural evolution of the band, and never once feels manufactured at all (if you want manufactured grunge-by-numbers rock get SIXTEEN STONE by Bush). PURPLE sounds both legitimate artistically and exhilarting musically, making it one of the most exciting records of the early 1990s.

Buy Purple now, as it stands as one of the essential records from the 1990s. Stone Temple Pilot never topped it, but resting on the strength of this and their other singles they will be sure to be remembered.

Mike London

*Well, not all the songs sound like a hit grunge single. The last track, 12 Gracious Melodies, is a hilarious novelty track. I wish they had put "Tripping on a Hole in a Paper Heart" on here. It so fits the sound on Purple, enough so that I almost think it's an outtake from this record.. That and "Dancing Days" too. I knew that song from STP and didn't know it was a Zeppelin track until much later, so I always think of the STP version of it. Shocked me when I learned it was Zeppelin because I was so used to STP singing it, and to tell the truth I think STP does a better job.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2002
STP is a great band, no denying. This album shows that they still like their grunge, but are no rip-offs. This album has no filler. It's hidden track, "12 Gracious Melodies", is so unique, I can't help but get into it.
But also, there are other highlights. The song "Lounge Fly" is one of the best, with a cool-sounding, but weird intro, and the chorus is played well, with an acoustic vibe to it, as well as Scott's good vocals.
The punky "Unglued" is also a highlight of the album. It shows that the band have not forgotten that they're heavy. It's short, but excellent.
However, "Kitchenware & Candybars" is excellent, with an REM-esque sound in the orchestra.
This album sort of predicted the follow-ups to this album, another thing great about it. Some parts of "Army Ants" seemed to say what Tiny Music would be, and in general, they sort of summed up their material with the latest two albums. If you loved the good music from seven years ago, there's no reason to not own the best of that year, Purple.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2013
Around the time of their debut 'Core', i had written Stone Temple Pilots off as mere copyists who jumped upon the grunge bandwagon. It took about a minute of hearing the first single 'Vaseline', from this, their second album, to realise that i had got it all wrong. Forget the difficult second album syndrome that affects other bands, as 'Purple' is STP's classic. The grunge scene was pretty dark, to say the least, so to their credit STP found their niche by adding a fair dose of glam, sex & sleaze to the hard rock riffs, with a bit of psychedelia thrown in. I still listen to this album, almost twenty years after its release, and i'm still taken aback by just how good it is.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 29 May 2007
Stone Temple Pilots are a bit of a cult band these days. Obviously, the band split quite a while ago with their singer going on to front Velvet Revolver who are clearly a more commercial proposition. However, I don't think I'm alone in suggesting that overall Velvet R are yet to match the quality, authenticity and soul of some of the material produced by the Stone Temple Pilots back in the 90s. This album, representing the band's second offering, probably demonstrates this more than any other STP release.

Despite the 13 years since its original release, this is still a fresh-sounding and hugely rewarding album. It contains for me some of the band's very best songs - Interstate Love Song, Still Remains, Pretty Penny, Silvergun Superman, Big Empty and the final and incredibly powerful track, Kitchenware & Candy Bars.

Whilst never achieving the same status as such grunge heavyweights as Pearl Jam, Soundgarden and Nirvana, Stone Temple Pilots produced classic grunge rock every bit as good as their more commercial contemporaries.

If you are a fan of the genre, you cannot fail to warm to this band. This has to be considered every bit as strong as their seminal debut album Core. Highly recommended to all fans of grunge and alternative rock/metal.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£3.95
£6.38
£12.81
£5.95

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)