Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars109
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.11+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 May 2007
Since 1973, Bette Midler has been recording ballads to rockers, show tunes to star standards. She has interpreted some of the best versions of American pop and has crafted some lesser known songs into her own. Her checkerboard singles chart history has only warranted this one and only collection of Greatest Hits. However, it does not scan all of her hits! I hope that someday, this superstar has a box set of single mixes (Chapel Of Love, Married Men), 12" mixes (Strangers In The Night, Moonlight Dancing) and rare b-sides (Samedi Et Vendredi, Bang You're Dead)(to name a few) collection.

This set includes her mega hit classics The Rose to From A Distance, to the lesser known concert favorites Hello In There to Miss Otis Regrets.

Missing are her early AC hits In The mood, Strangers In The Night, Old Cape Cod, You're Moving Out Today (would be nice to hear the 3:17 European version on CD), Storybook Children, Married Men and so on.

There is another version of this CD available that adds To Deserve You in two versions. The single mix and the #1 dance mix version. They also added Beast Of Burden (would love to hear the live video version released as a 12" on CD) and Favorite Waste Of Time.

Hopefully we can see an expansive collection of all sorts from The Divine Miss M's legacy! She deserves it! A true one of a kind performer!
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2000
This album was a surprise when released, since it was something I never thought would be possible, since it is so magical. There were three major surprises on the album. One was "When A Man Loves A Woman" from The Rose soundtrack. It is beautiful to hear her sing this, compared to other remake artists like Michael Bolton. I wish this song was even more commercial at the time in 1979- 1980. That was always a classic from her. The second surprise was One More For My Baby (And One More For The Road), song Bette sung at the last Johnny Carson show. The third surprise, but not last for sure, was "Shiver Me Timbers", taking from the "Live At Last" album. Lew Hahn and Arif Mardin were responsible for managing this song, and it is one of her best and powerful tunes. It also does not surprise me Arif Mardin and Lew Hahn managed this performance, as they seemed to be the two men that saved performers when they were falling apart. That's right. Mr. Mardin and Mr. Hahn produced the last Culture Club album in the 1980's, "From Luxury To Heartache", and anyone who bought it knew it was just as solid as the first two Culture Club albums. In a way, the same applies to Bette Midler. With her music carrier, Bette was not really on the top in the beginning and middle 1980's. Then came Arif Mardin who produced the Beaches soundtrack, and Bette went to number one. That's right. The best two studio songs on this greatest hits album are "WIng Beneath My Wings" from Beaches and "From A Distance" from "Some People's Lives", both songs produced by Arif Mardin. As a matter of fact, this whole album is produced and compiled by Arif Mardin and Bette Midler, and it is a classic surprise. Even from the first thoughtful song, "Hello In There", we know we bought a classic. It is also fun to hear Bette sing "Chapel Of Love". She is just great. "Friends" is a fun song as well. Let's say it openly, this is a real greatest hits album, with each song being entertaining, and the original studio versions. As a matter of fact, The Rose is even more enjoyable on this album as we get to hear the song complete without screaming in the beginning of the song like on The Rose soundtrack. Kudos to the most lovable female singer of our time, and to one of our best and greatest producers, Arif Mardin. Thanks for reading.
0Comment|54 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2004
Bette Midler is one of the most popular and one of the most talented superstars on the planet. She has produced a numerous and large amount of number one hits, and this album is all about that topic. This album contains Award Winning songs "Wind Beneath My Wings (1989)", "The Rose (1979)", and many more!
All of her hits and deeply-fan loved songs are included on this Greatest Hits album, and this album DEFINETELY deserves 5 stars!
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2009
Bette Midler is one of those artists who seem to have been around forever and so it is easy to forget just how good they can be.

I came across this collection of her songs one day when idly looking through the CD and download collection available on Amazon and for the fist time I decided to try downloading rather than waiting for a CD to arrive.

Later the same day I was walking our dog in the park and listening to some really great numbers. This was fine for me but the sight of a sixty something year old connected to his MP3 and singing his way along was alarming to some of the younger generation, who appear to consider the availability of music on the move as something for their use only. My canine friend has no such concerns and happily danced along.

In summary I can say that this is a good album that can make you laugh, cry and dance. Downloading with Amazon proved to be both simple and effective. Therefore I am happy to recommend both.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Bette sings excellent covers of songs from several decades of popular music, each in her own distinctive style, as well as a few originals.
Among the originals, the outstanding song is The Rose, a song written by Amanda McBroom who was then unknown but has established herself as a cabaret singer since she wrote this song.
Bette is perhaps best known for two massive international hits. Wind beneath my wings started life as an R+B song but a Gary Morris cover made the top five in the American country chart. Lee Greenwood's cover became a minor British pop hit. Bette had a major pop hit on both sides of the Atlantic. Bette's version of From a distance, first recorded by folk-country singer Nanci Griffith, matched the success of Wind beneath my wings.
John Prine, an under-appreciated singer-songwriter, wrote Hello in there. Do you wanna dance is a rock'n'roll classic. Chapel of love is of a similar vintage, being originally recorded by the Dixie Cups. When a man loves a woman is a cover of Percy Sledge's classic soul song. The Beatles are represented by a wonderful cover of In my life.
Cole Porter wrote Miss Otis regrets, making it the oldest song here - it was a hit for Ethel Waters way back in 1934. Another old song, Boogie woogie bugle boy, was a hit for the Andrews sisters in 1941. Completing a trilogy of songs from the Great American Songbook is One for my baby, a 1945 hit for Lena Horne.
As a representation of Bette's music, this is excellent.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2015
Sometimes referred to as a lesser Barbra Streisand, Bette Midler has not had such a star-ridden career, but what she did in her music was always worth hearing. This compilation chronicles the greatest hits from the first twenty years or so (1972-1992) of her career.
A few songs are taken from her breakthrough debut "The Divine Miss M", hit ballads "The Rose", "Wind Beneath My Wings" and "From A Distance" (the latter two big Grammy winners) are also featured. The take on Percy Sledge's "When A Man Loves A Woman" resembles Janis Joplin at her most emotional, while Cole Porter's "Miss Otis Regrets" is a great pop rendition of old standard. Also the remake of the Beatles' "In My Life" (from the movie "For The Boys" where she gave a stunning performance) is worth the name of the song.
Simply put, Bette Midler is a true artist who can sing a song. A good singer of good songs. And although her newer material has not been very successful in terms of sales, her level remains high.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2012
I was a bit disappointed as some of the songs are not the emotional, moving songs that I expected. Some of them were frivolous, jazzy songs which are not that good to listen to.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2013
Bette Midler has a wonderful voice and this is a great album.
The CD starts with the extremely melancholy tearjerker, `Hello In There' (1972) followed by a soft jazzy rendition of ` Do You Want To Dance' (1972).
Then there is that beautiful ballad, `From A Distance' (1990), it is not an anti-war rave, but a beautiful song of spiritual contemplation.
Her version of `Chapel Of Love' (1972) is also a great, feel-good number.
`Only In Miami' (1983) is a superb Calypso piece, which also brings to mind the plight of millions of Cuban exiles from the cruel Castro regime in Cuba.
`When A Man Loves A Woman' (1979) (is a bit different to the original, but certainly adds a soft touch `The Rose' (1979) is one of the most exquisite, inspirational love songs of all times.

The jazzy `Miss Otis Regrets' (1990) is a fun rendition of the 1935 Cab Calloway hit, and `Shiver Me Timbers' (1976) is another lovely imagery hit and who can forget the poetic `The Wind Beneath Mt Wings' (1988) from the `Beaches Soundtrack.'
And I also enjoy Bette's 1991 rendition of John Lennon's `In My Life'
This is a great compilation of some beautiful music.
Sit and listen , notonly to the words , but let the music speak to you !
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2014
Yes! A splendid CD. Bette is "Better" in the lower register of her voice. Higher up she tends to get a tiny bit raucous.

The worst thing about this CD is undoubtedly the cover. The picture is truly dreadful and does her no favours at all. This is what lost it one star.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2013
I purchased this for my mother in law, she is a fan & absolutely loves it.

No problems with product and she played this numerous times!

I would recommend this to a friend
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)