Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "The Surprise Album From The Girl Of Happiness! "
This album was a surprise when released, since it was something I never thought would be possible, since it is so magical. There were three major surprises on the album. One was "When A Man Loves A Woman" from The Rose soundtrack. It is beautiful to hear her sing this, compared to other remake artists like Michael Bolton. I wish this song was even more...
Published on 22 Sep 2000 by Joseph J. Brigante

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit disappointing.
I was a bit disappointed as some of the songs are not the emotional, moving songs that I expected. Some of them were frivolous, jazzy songs which are not that good to listen to.
Published 19 months ago by Sue Lowe


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

44 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "The Surprise Album From The Girl Of Happiness! ", 22 Sep 2000
By 
Joseph J. Brigante "Joseph Brigante" (Norwalk, CT United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Experience The Divine [Greatest Hits] (Audio CD)
This album was a surprise when released, since it was something I never thought would be possible, since it is so magical. There were three major surprises on the album. One was "When A Man Loves A Woman" from The Rose soundtrack. It is beautiful to hear her sing this, compared to other remake artists like Michael Bolton. I wish this song was even more commercial at the time in 1979- 1980. That was always a classic from her. The second surprise was One More For My Baby (And One More For The Road), song Bette sung at the last Johnny Carson show. The third surprise, but not last for sure, was "Shiver Me Timbers", taking from the "Live At Last" album. Lew Hahn and Arif Mardin were responsible for managing this song, and it is one of her best and powerful tunes. It also does not surprise me Arif Mardin and Lew Hahn managed this performance, as they seemed to be the two men that saved performers when they were falling apart. That's right. Mr. Mardin and Mr. Hahn produced the last Culture Club album in the 1980's, "From Luxury To Heartache", and anyone who bought it knew it was just as solid as the first two Culture Club albums. In a way, the same applies to Bette Midler. With her music carrier, Bette was not really on the top in the beginning and middle 1980's. Then came Arif Mardin who produced the Beaches soundtrack, and Bette went to number one. That's right. The best two studio songs on this greatest hits album are "WIng Beneath My Wings" from Beaches and "From A Distance" from "Some People's Lives", both songs produced by Arif Mardin. As a matter of fact, this whole album is produced and compiled by Arif Mardin and Bette Midler, and it is a classic surprise. Even from the first thoughtful song, "Hello In There", we know we bought a classic. It is also fun to hear Bette sing "Chapel Of Love". She is just great. "Friends" is a fun song as well. Let's say it openly, this is a real greatest hits album, with each song being entertaining, and the original studio versions. As a matter of fact, The Rose is even more enjoyable on this album as we get to hear the song complete without screaming in the beginning of the song like on The Rose soundtrack. Kudos to the most lovable female singer of our time, and to one of our best and greatest producers, Arif Mardin. Thanks for reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Too Divine, but merely a sample!, 15 May 2007
By 
A. Russo (Cambridge, MA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Experience The Divine [Greatest Hits] (Audio CD)
Since 1973, Bette Midler has been recording ballads to rockers, show tunes to star standards. She has interpreted some of the best versions of American pop and has crafted some lesser known songs into her own. Her checkerboard singles chart history has only warranted this one and only collection of Greatest Hits. However, it does not scan all of her hits! I hope that someday, this superstar has a box set of single mixes (Chapel Of Love, Married Men), 12" mixes (Strangers In The Night, Moonlight Dancing) and rare b-sides (Samedi Et Vendredi, Bang You're Dead)(to name a few) collection.

This set includes her mega hit classics The Rose to From A Distance, to the lesser known concert favorites Hello In There to Miss Otis Regrets.

Missing are her early AC hits In The mood, Strangers In The Night, Old Cape Cod, You're Moving Out Today (would be nice to hear the 3:17 European version on CD), Storybook Children, Married Men and so on.

There is another version of this CD available that adds To Deserve You in two versions. The single mix and the #1 dance mix version. They also added Beast Of Burden (would love to hear the live video version released as a 12" on CD) and Favorite Waste Of Time.

Hopefully we can see an expansive collection of all sorts from The Divine Miss M's legacy! She deserves it! A true one of a kind performer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Divine Superstar, Another Divine Album, 24 Jan 2004
By 
This review is from: Experience The Divine [Greatest Hits] (Audio CD)
Bette Midler is one of the most popular and one of the most talented superstars on the planet. She has produced a numerous and large amount of number one hits, and this album is all about that topic. This album contains Award Winning songs "Wind Beneath My Wings (1989)", "The Rose (1979)", and many more!
All of her hits and deeply-fan loved songs are included on this Greatest Hits album, and this album DEFINETELY deserves 5 stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great covers of all kinds of songs, 26 Mar 2004
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Experience The Divine [Greatest Hits] (Audio CD)
Bette sings excellent covers of songs from several decades of popular music, each in her own distinctive style, as well as a few originals.
Among the originals, the outstanding song is The Rose, a song written by Amanda McBroom who was then unknown but has established herself as a cabaret singer since she wrote this song.
Bette is perhaps best known for two massive international hits. Wind beneath my wings started life as an R+B song but a Gary Morris cover made the top five in the American country chart. Lee Greenwood's cover became a minor British pop hit. Bette had a major pop hit on both sides of the Atlantic. Bette's version of From a distance, first recorded by folk-country singer Nanci Griffith, matched the success of Wind beneath my wings.
John Prine, an under-appreciated singer-songwriter, wrote Hello in there. Do you wanna dance is a rock'n'roll classic. Chapel of love is of a similar vintage, being originally recorded by the Dixie Cups. When a man loves a woman is a cover of Percy Sledge's classic soul song. The Beatles are represented by a wonderful cover of In my life.
Cole Porter wrote Miss Otis regrets, making it the oldest song here - it was a hit for Ethel Waters way back in 1934. Another old song, Boogie woogie bugle boy, was a hit for the Andrews sisters in 1941. Completing a trilogy of songs from the Great American Songbook is One for my baby, a 1945 hit for Lena Horne.
As a representation of Bette's music, this is excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit disappointing., 27 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Experience The Divine [Greatest Hits] (Audio CD)
I was a bit disappointed as some of the songs are not the emotional, moving songs that I expected. Some of them were frivolous, jazzy songs which are not that good to listen to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Experiencing the Divine, 20 July 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bette Midler is one of those artists who seem to have been around forever and so it is easy to forget just how good they can be.

I came across this collection of her songs one day when idly looking through the CD and download collection available on Amazon and for the fist time I decided to try downloading rather than waiting for a CD to arrive.

Later the same day I was walking our dog in the park and listening to some really great numbers. This was fine for me but the sight of a sixty something year old connected to his MP3 and singing his way along was alarming to some of the younger generation, who appear to consider the availability of music on the move as something for their use only. My canine friend has no such concerns and happily danced along.

In summary I can say that this is a good album that can make you laugh, cry and dance. Downloading with Amazon proved to be both simple and effective. Therefore I am happy to recommend both.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A blast, 28 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Experience The Divine [Greatest Hits] (Audio CD)
Great songs, great artist,wonderful quality! Fun Cd for all ages. Good driving and feel good list of songs. Get it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bette, 19 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Experience The Divine [Greatest Hits] (Audio CD)
Love all her music, and this CD doesnt let you down its great.
Will recommend to anyone we just love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars midler magic, 1 Jan 2014
By 
Mr. P. Blenkinsopp (birmingham england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Experience The Divine [Greatest Hits] (Audio CD)
my wife is a midler fan so that is why I purchased this item,only problem is that several of the titles are duplicated on another cd purchased, but no matter item great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 18 Dec 2013
By 
This review is from: Experience The Divine [Greatest Hits] (Audio CD)
Bette Midler has a wonderful voice and this is a great album.
The CD starts with the extremely melancholy tearjerker, `Hello In There' (1972) followed by a soft jazzy rendition of ` Do You Want To Dance' (1972).
Then there is that beautiful ballad, `From A Distance' (1990), it is not an anti-war rave, but a beautiful song of spiritual contemplation.
Her version of `Chapel Of Love' (1972) is also a great, feel-good number.
`Only In Miami' (1983) is a superb Calypso piece, which also brings to mind the plight of millions of Cuban exiles from the cruel Castro regime in Cuba.
`When A Man Loves A Woman' (1979) (is a bit different to the original, but certainly adds a soft touch `The Rose' (1979) is one of the most exquisite, inspirational love songs of all times.

The jazzy `Miss Otis Regrets' (1990) is a fun rendition of the 1935 Cab Calloway hit, and `Shiver Me Timbers' (1976) is another lovely imagery hit and who can forget the poetic `The Wind Beneath Mt Wings' (1988) from the `Beaches Soundtrack.'
And I also enjoy Bette's 1991 rendition of John Lennon's `In My Life'
This is a great compilation of some beautiful music.
Sit and listen , notonly to the words , but let the music speak to you !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Experience The Divine [Greatest Hits]
Experience The Divine [Greatest Hits] by Bette Midler (Audio CD - 1993)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews