Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars20
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.93+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 October 2001
A bright and breezy collection of immaculate acoustic pop, this is one of the finest albums ever made. Why? Three reasons:
1. The opener, "Rockin' Stroll" describes the world from a toddlers point of view, something I never appreciated until I saw the video. This alone makes it a genius record.
2. The whole album clocks in at not much more than 28 minutes (without Mrs Robinson which was added after it became a hit), but crams about 56 stupendous tunes in each of it's twelve tracks (that's a definite guaranteed FACT). Brevity and more tunes than you can shake a stick at- marvellous!
3. Even the addition of a slightly cack-handed version of Mrs Robinson doesn't detract from this albums overall loveliness. It's that fantastic.
A pure melodic pop rush that you'll have on repeat time after time after time- yet still have plenty of time to enjoy the other finer things in life. Life's too short for long records!
This is, quite simply, a glorious, life affirming record.
0Comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2009
The problem with reviews on Amazon is that, most people only rate an album if they love it, so it inevitably gets a 5, when it should really be a 3 or 4. Make no mistakes here though, this is a truly great album, possibly the best of a generation of music called grunge, although I've always struggled to put it in this category myself. After nearly twenty years since it's release it sounds ultra fresh, an album that completely transcends both time and category. I bought it more or less when it first came out, and re bought it on CD, and still listen to it. I could go through the whole album bit by bit, but an album that isn't in a cardboard box under the bed after nearly twenty years should be testament enough to the brilliance of this pop classic!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2012
I hadn't listened to this cd for about a decade, so when I tossed it into the player and cranked up the volume to an indecent level, I was expecting the usual mix of faint nostalgia and mild disappointment. I was wrong! This bright, buzzing (and definitely brief) album hasn't dated at all and is just as brilliant as it was twenty years ago. Evan Dando and his playmates cram more musical invention and energy into thirty minutes of music than most bands manage in their entire careers. A rock classic.
22 comments|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 19 December 2015
The Lemonheads, the American based alternative rock band who formed in 1986, finally broke through to the mainstream of things in 1992, with the release of their fifth album, 'It's A Shame About Ray', which not only was it certified Gold in both Britain and America, but is now widely considered by the critics as a classic, and is also listed in the book: '1001 Albums You Must Hear Before You Die'.

With almost every song an instant classic, it demonstrates The Lemonheads' front man Evan Dando's great talent for penning meaningful and fun lyrics, and then turning them into catchy hooks and melodies. There's a great variety on here to feast on, from the up-tempo, hard/bouncy rockers, to the slow, emotional ballads, there is so much beauty throughout.

The album's main attractions are the band's top 20 hit cover of the Simon and Garfunkel classic 'Mrs. Robinson', which they gave a completely different spin on, and the wistful melody of the excellent title-track, which has always been a favourite of mine. The other real highpoints is the acoustic charmer 'My Drug Buddy', which was a minor chart hit, the sing-you-heart-out anti love story which is 'Confetti', and 'Hannah and Gabi', although most of the others on the record had the potential to be issued as singles.

'It's A Shame About Ray' is a very melodic and catchy pop orientated alternative rock album which has a lot of timeless appeal, and still sounds fresh today I still regard this one as Evan Dando's finest hour, the man is a great singer with a lot of warmth, sincerity and heart, if his lyrics are anything to judge him on. If you're eager to have your first fix of The Lemonheads - it doesn't really get much better than this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2013
I bought this album 20 years ago when it was first released but somehow misplaced it several years ago!! My new copy arrived a few months ago and I was transported back in time to when I was 16 years old....This album is nothing short of superb and shows that pop music can be raw and moving!! Okay....many of you may say that the Lemonheads are not pop but compared to others on the scene at the time such as Nirvana , Pearl jam , Soundgarden , Alice chains , Rage against The Machine , Dinosaur Jr....They were!!! Okay maybe pop/rock. But it was nice for me to listen to something much more chilled and gave my ears a break from the hard stuff. Vocal's great , song writing great , Evan Dando is a real talent. The sound is old fashioned and authentic but modern at the same time!!! When they say "they dont make them like that anymore" they really dont. When I think of great music I think of the 60's , 70's & 90's!! In my opinion The Lemonheads were the top pop/rock band of the 90's and this is their masterpiece. Shuch a shame that they are no longer talked about!! I would advise everyone to buy a copy....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Simply a stunning collection of songs. The fact that this album is so short (little more than 30 minutes) makes it so good. The songs are immediate and never overstay their welcome. Perfect Pop. The cover of Mrs Robinson, although an okay cover version, does spoil it a bit at the end. They were a very good live band and the follow up album to this, Come on Feel the Lemonheads, is equally as good.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2011
Classic album of early 90's stoner indie-rock. I still have the cassette from when it was first released & finally got around to upgrading to the cd, & glad i did because it's still great! Other Lemonheads albums are good, but this is the one that you NEED to own. If you can remember where you first heard it, you probably weren't there.....man ;-p
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2012
One of those albums that feels instantly familiar and reminiscent of better days gone by. Heartbreakingly honest at times in such an upbeat kind of fashion. Confetti, Rudderless and drug buddy are my personal favs. Hard to beat, perfect for chilling and rocking out, just a lil bit of everything =)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2016
I just learnt this album of beautifully stoned melancholic power pop that I've been listening to for more years than I care to remember is even better than I thought, because it has Jeff "Skunk" Baxter of Steely Dan on it. Woah!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2014
Forgot how good this was, after having it on release in the 1990's and selling it.
Got it back now for good!
Short and sweet rock!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)