Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A little hit-or-miss, but a fine album overall
Let me start by saying I'm not a knowledgeable Lynyrd Skynyrd fan. Of course, everyone knows Freebird, the greatest Southern rock anthem of all time, and just about everyone still mourns the loss of original front man Ronnie Van-Zant (as well as guitarist Steve Gaines) in a 1977 plane crash, but my familiarity with the band doesn't go much deeper than this. When I heard...
Published on 11 Mar 2004 by Daniel Jolley

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Nothing Fancy
Not what I expected, but I am sure it will grow on me eventually. Something Skynyrd fans need to get to complete the collection, but not one of their best.
Published 20 months ago by Mr. Robert Long


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A little hit-or-miss, but a fine album overall, 11 Mar 2004
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Last Rebel (Audio CD)
Let me start by saying I'm not a knowledgeable Lynyrd Skynyrd fan. Of course, everyone knows Freebird, the greatest Southern rock anthem of all time, and just about everyone still mourns the loss of original front man Ronnie Van-Zant (as well as guitarist Steve Gaines) in a 1977 plane crash, but my familiarity with the band doesn't go much deeper than this. When I heard this album's title track The Last Rebel, though, I knew I had to have this album. As both a proud Southerner and a man who oftentimes finds himself in a minority of one on certain issues, this song appealed to me on two levels. The music and lyrics combine to evoke vivid images of a Rebel soldier, alone and defeated yet still proud and resilient, leaving the scarred battleground to return home; it's a haunting track that, through front-man Johnny Van-Zant's gritty, hard-driving vocals, evokes a vivid image of that Southern soldier trying to find his way home in a world that has changed forever.
The album as a whole is a little hit-and-miss, in my opinion. There are some really great tracks, but there also some tracks that really just don't seem to do anything for me. The band seems to be going through the motions at times, but when Johnny Van-Zant sings about the South and bemoans a way of life that is quickly disappearing, his voice roils with an angst-filled emotional power that takes the music to a whole new level. Thus are born such winning songs as Can't Take That Away, Outta Hell in my Dodge, Kiss Your Freedom Goodbye, South of Heaven, and Born to Run. What some will call "redneck" songs actually resonate with fans all over the country for their lament for moral decline, the demise of small towns and small town values, and the code of honor that has always been a part of being a Southerner. Can't Take That Away is a particularly timely song today, as it rises up to challenge those who want to denigrate the flag, do away with the Pledge of Allegiance, and take away any association with God from the United States. Those South of Heaven will always fight for the ideals upon which this country was founded, and that is what Lynyrd Skynyrd sings about.
A few tracks on this album seem to take the band away from their origins, and the attempt to inject a more pop-oriented sound into the music finds unhappy results. Good Lovin's Hard to Find and Best Things in Life have an element of "good time sound" to them but really don't speak to me at all. They aren't bad songs, but they become tiresome rather quickly. The album does end on a strong note, however, as Born to Run not only speaks to Lynyrd Skynyrd's core themes but provides plenty of opportunity to Gary Rossington to play his guitar the way he alone can play it. Overall, the positives far outweigh the negatives on this 1993 release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars superb album., 2 Oct 2010
By 
Mr Blackwell (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Last Rebel (Audio CD)
an absolutely stunning disc,superior in every way to the previous 1991 album,Barry Beckett's production lifting the bands music to the heights it deserved and touching your soul.

Ten excellent tracks which augmented with horns sometimes stray towards Country and at others reminiscent of the Street Survivors' album.

From the slow burning title track,thru the rockier 'Born To Run',the lighter in the sky ballad 'Love Dont Always...' to the emotional,heart on sleeve anthems 'Good Lovins Hard...' & 'Kiss Your Freedom Goodbye' ,singing about American Life,themes that would be reprised on 2009's 'God and Guns' disc.

Without a doubt the best post 1977 album until the aforementioned God and Guns.

Typically,Atlantic dispensed with their sevices and the band would spent the next few years in the wilderness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars rebellious, 26 Jan 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Rebel (Audio CD)
The brand continues....sweet southern music for big hats. Not just a straight ahead guitar album, with shades of light and dark. Definitely a case of giving the punters what they wanted. No suprises but no disappointments either. A fine addition to the collection. The South will rise again, have no fear. Of it's time but timeless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lynyrd Skynyrd - The Last Rebel (1993), 26 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Rebel (Audio CD)
I'm a big fan of (pre-accident) Lynyrd Skynyrd so I approached this the 7th studio (the 2nd from the new line-up) with caution but due to the bargain price (£2.99) it was being offered at I thought I would take the plunge.

Well I'm glad to say that I'm pleased to have taken that plunge as "The Last Rebel" is a good album by a very good band!

Ok so it's not a patch on the classic Lynyrd Skynyrd albums but that said it does represent a nice slice of "Southern Rock" and lesser bands would kill to have it on their CV!

Track listing

"Good Lovin's Hard to Find" - (Johnny Van Zant, Gary Rossington, Ed King, Robert White Johnson)
"One Thing" - (Johnny Van Zant, Gary Rossington, Ed King, Dale Krantz-Rossington, Kurt Custer)
"Can't Take That Away" - (Michael Gerald Lunn, Robert White Johnson, Johnny Van Zant)
"Best Things in Life" - (Gary Rossington, Keifer, Johnny Van Zant)
"The Last Rebel" - (Gary Rossington, Robert White Johnson, Johnny Van Zant, Michael Gerald Lunn)
"Outta Hell In My Dodge" - (Johnny Van Zant, Randall Hall, Ed King, Robert White Johnson)
"Kiss Your Freedom Goodbye" - (Ed King, Johnny Van Zant)
"South Of Heaven" - (Michael Gerald Lunn, Robert White Johnson, Gary Rossington, Johnny Van Zant)
"Love Don't Always Come Easy" - (Ed King, Johnny Van Zant)
"Born to Run" - (Johnny Van Zant, Gary Rossington, Ed King, Donnie Van Zant)

BG's Verdict : 3.5 out of a possible 5.0 (Rounded up to 4 stars for Amazon)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The best 'late-Skynyrd' album, 12 Feb 2011
By 
This review is from: The Last Rebel (Audio CD)
As a confirmed pre-crash Skynyrd fan, I've not really enjoyed the later work of the band anywhere near as much. This album does however get very close for me and I would rate it as the best post-crash album. The title track has the power and depth of the earlier band and is definitely the show-stopper on the album. A recommended buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 July 2014
By 
David H. Morris (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Rebel (Audio CD)
good buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgia ain't what it used to be., 15 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Rebel (MP3 Download)
This is not the best work by Skynyrd but it is still better than a lot of the stuff put out by other groups. Nice to listen to while sipping on some Jack Daniel's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a Great Album, 4 Feb 2014
By 
Madgrandad (St Albans, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Rebel (Audio CD)
This is a necessary purchase for all Lynyrd Skynyrd fans and lovers
All of the tracks are great
Must buy!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Better than I thought, 29 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Rebel (Audio CD)
I heard the title song on Planet Rock and thought it was pretty damn good so bought the album, and have not been disappointed.

Good songs, great guitar work. Sounds good in the deep south.

If you like a bit of grit to your blues/rock you will like this to a band that have created their own sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good, workmanlike southern rock album, 7 Sep 2013
By 
Brian Coates (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Rebel (Audio CD)
You always know what you're getting with Skynyrd - their songs have a bit more depth to the lyrics than most bands in the same genre and there's always that killer guitar work to keep you interested. I only started building up my collection of LS albums recently (known 'em for years, never got round to buying them) and I've never been disappointed with any of their work.

If you've liked any of their other stuff, buy this as well: if you didn't like what you've already heard, then they're probably not the bad for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Last Rebel
The Last Rebel by Lynyrd Skynyrd (Audio CD - 1993)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews