Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not Young, but still good
Sloppy though it is to get David and Neil the wrong way around, (and, by the way, the last two tracks of disc one are actually on disc two) the music on this album does not deserve to languish under just one star.

This expanded version of the original adds a solo song by each of the four, (although Neil gets three by means of a nine minute medley), all of which...
Published on 26 Oct. 2008 by Derick Holcombe

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Four Winds in Four Directions...
Don't be disheartened by the lack of votes if you're negative about this album - people are voting yes or no according to whether they agree with it or not, which is not the purpose. The question is, 'was this review helpful'? Opinions are likely to be divided. I remember a friend buying this at the time, and I thought first of all that the title was ironic: this is four...
Published on 23 May 2012 by Stephen A. Douglas


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not Young, but still good, 26 Oct. 2008
By 
Derick Holcombe (Sussex, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 4 Way Street (Audio CD)
Sloppy though it is to get David and Neil the wrong way around, (and, by the way, the last two tracks of disc one are actually on disc two) the music on this album does not deserve to languish under just one star.

This expanded version of the original adds a solo song by each of the four, (although Neil gets three by means of a nine minute medley), all of which are perfectly fine, with King Midas in Reverse an especially nice touch.

Otherwise, the album is not perfect, but it is a thoroughly enjoyable run through some of the foursomes best songs in acoustic and electric mode - and not always the way you would expect. If you like CSN&Y you will like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not clean crisp music, more.. rusty sweaty idealistic rock!, 5 Oct. 2004
By 
Claudio (Milan, Italy) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 4 Way Street (Audio CD)
To put it more clearly, this CD shows all the limitations of a live album, as usual sound is poor, lot of talking, nevertheless it was my first CSN&Y record some years back and I fell in love with the band. You have to remember that this is about 35 yrs old, so of course people were quite different at the time, they believed (or were supposed to believe)in peace, love and so on...nevertheless the music is still great. The version of Southern man is so much better than the "After the goldrush" version, interesting also the acoustic version of cowgirl in the sand (you won't find it anywhere else, not even in Neil Young's bootlegs). A lot of other songs are great: Chicago, The lee Shore, Right between the eyes, all of them don't suffer much from the live version. I saw some bad reviews but I think they are due to the fact that people bought it without knowing what to expect. If you buy the Woodstock record, you have to expect bad sound quality, confusion, lots of chat and so on, similarly for this record, the music might be better in the studio versions, but this remains like a historical testimony of a period, and the solos on the electric part are still great!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


52 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE YEARS HAVE BEEN KIND, 4 Aug. 2003
By 
J. C. Bailey (East Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 4 Way Street (Audio CD)
"4 Way Street" was the double vinyl album of two halves - acoustic and electric - that gave the world un-plugged rock & roll when Clapton still had long hair and MTV was a lifetime away. It was always an irresistible album, and since the current CD release has several additional tracks, the couple of less successful songs spoil the pudding even less than they did on the original release.
Only close friends with egos locked in mortal combat could have produced a manifesto as tense but as intimate. This rare combination – fierce rivalry crossed with artistic and emotional inter-dependence - comes across in several ways: Sarcastic/affectionate banter between numbers, impossibly perfect live harmonies often sung round a single mike, frantic duelling during the long improvised solos, and a collection of (with a couple of exceptions) superb examples of the singer-songwriter's craft.

The real fascination of this album, however, is the way time has played with the reputations of its stars. It was once fashionable to dismiss CSN&Y (or more realistically with hindsight, YCS&N) as a mismatched collection of solo numbers rather than a real band project, and to regard Crosby and Nash as junior partners - almost an irrelevance, in fact.
It will come as no surprise, then, that it is Neil Young whose songcraft and keening vocals make the strongest impression. He also sounds the most modern of the crew – again unsurprisingly, given that the grunge generation was so indebted to him.
What will come as more of a surprise (to everyone but hardcore fans – to whom I apologise in advance) is how downright unnecessary much of Steven Stills’ contribution sounds to modern ears: the cheesy Hammond organ…the clumsy lead runs on guitar…the interminable, shapeless, mock-soulful vocal improvisations. Sadly, the songs picked for the album don’t really do justice (apart from a blazing “Carry On”) to his fantastic song-writing skills.
And what will come as even more of a surprise is how well time has treated David Crosby. His raw/tender vocal work is finely shown off – indeed he now sounds the best voice on the album. More to the point, on the extended electric workouts that make up half the original package, the rambling guitar duels between Stills and Young (in which Young incidentally wins hands-down) are beginning to sound their age. What stands out now is the creative, driving, remorseless rhythm section comprising Crosby’s incisive guitar work, and Manassas stalwarts Johnny Barbata and Fuzzy Samuels on drums and bass.
A final word on those extra tracks. They’re a mixed bag. Stills’ Black Queen is utterly surplus to requirements, and Nash’s self-conscious acoustic treatment of the Hollies’ pop single “King Midas” is merely tolerable. However, with Crosby’s poignant searching song, “Laughing”, we’re really in bonus territory. And finally, for Young aficionados, his fresh and imaginative acoustic reworkings in “The Loner/Cinnamon Girl/Down By The River” almost justify the purchase price by themselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The original plugged/unplugged rock concert, 28 Oct. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: 4 Way Street (Audio CD)
The 1999 reformation of CSN&Y for a new studio album and tour is as good a reason as any for a retro look at the supergroup's definitive live recording from the early '70's, "4 Way Street". This was the double vinyl album of two halves - acoustic and electric - that gave the world the concept of unplugged rock & roll when Eric still had long hair. It was always irresistible, and, since the current release on CD has several additional tracks, a couple of less successful songs spoil the pudding even less than they did on the original release. Only close friends with egos locked in mortal combat could have produced a manifesto as tense but as intimate as "4 Way Street". This rare combination - rivalry crossed with artistic and emotional interdependence - comes across in several ways: Sarcastic/affectionate banter between numbers, impossibly perfect live harmonies often sung round a single mike, frantic duelling during the long improvised solos, and a collection of (with a couple of exceptions) superb examples of the singer-songwriter's craft.
Opinions will thus differ on whether this is really a group performance or a portfolio of solo numbers. The main competition for the spotlight is clearly between former Buffalo Springfield bandmates Stills and Young, and when they hit their respective strides the junior partners Crosby and Nash almost become an irrelevance. On the other hand, when David Crosby's superb voice is allowed to dominate, its raw-tender soulfulness carries material that might otherwise sound mediocre. Ex-Holly Graham Nash brings less to the party in the way of songwriting, but his tirelessly supportive vocal harmonising in support of stronger material from the three Americans helps bring home that this is ultimately a band project.
Standout tracks naturally include the live performances of all five of Neil Young's compositions, along with an extended jam around the CSN&Y studio number "Carry On". The rhythm section, comprising Johnny Barbata on drums and Calvin "Fuzzy" Samuels on bass, lays down a powerful groove on the electric sides. However, as with the four singer/guitarists, their key strength is the ability to share in the sensitive interaction that joins all six musicians into a tight but flexible ensemble. Even during the free soloing that fills over half of part 2, the interest never slackens and the polish never fades.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solo time, 10 Feb. 2013
By 
T. MANN - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 4 Way Street (Audio CD)
Having at long last bought the album at a good price after years of being scared off by eye watering price tags, I can listen once again, having lost the LP nearly 40 years ago. I believe it is an essential completion of the classic original recordings of this ensemble. BUT, it concentrates entirely on the songs, not the harmonies. They're all good, and I believe the performances are good too, but you'll get precious little satisfaction if you've bought it for harmony singing. So play "Crosby Stills and Nash", "Deja Vu", and then sit back and relax as these guys present their best songs.
All right, so Stills is pretentious and Nash too naive, but hey, it's rock music history!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars (Wonderfully) of its time..., 1 Feb. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 4 Way Street (Audio CD)
I must admit to being quite confused about the vitriol this album receives. I have been aware of it for years but have never listened to it until this morning in the car on the way to work.

Yes, performance-wise, it really is of its time. But you cant hold that against them, they were there (man), and they were, as the stock review says, totally at the zenith of their careers. It IS imperfect to say the least, but in my head CSNY/CSN/CN were never about perfection, and all about the feel (man). I'm not familiar with the original pressing, so I have no feelings about original sound and/or running order.

I always go back to the story Crosby (I think Hotel California: Singer-songwriters and Cocaine Cowboys in the L.A. Canyons 1967-1976) tells about being at Mama Cass's house in Laurel or Topanga Canyon, and she introduced Nash and Stills to him, and when they sang to together it was so incredible they fell about laughing, presumably in shock and wonder.

So, in conclusion if you want to listen to those gorgeous harmonies and lovely, hippyish lyrics, in a warm friendly atmosphere (even though it was probably recorded in huge barn-like 3000 seater arenas!) buy this, wait for a warm summer day (I'm told they do exist) sit on a stoop if you have one, light one if you got one, and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Intoxicatingly raw & electrically potent (at times!), 28 Aug. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: 4 Way Street (Audio CD)
I have this album in its original double LP format, which does not include the bonus tracks, which have since appeared on the CD. As a CS&N fan, and a Neil Young worshiper, I didn't find it hard to indulge myself in this album's somewhat raw and disorganised beauty.
Presumably they didn't waste any time bringing out their secret weapon. After an all too quick burst of the meandering and colossal Suite Judy Blue Eyes, Stephen Stills introduces "our friend Neil Young" and the rest is history! This ultimately proves costly for Crosby and Nash, who are cruelly uncovered as the weak links by Young's songwriting superiority. It's like as if Crosby and Nash arrived without any presents for the party, and there was Young, rubbing their faces in it with a plethora of gifts for an eagerly assembled audience.
It doesn't take a genius to notice ex-Buffalo's Stills and Young steal the show! Pre-Road Downs is a fine example of Stills' genius at work. Neil Young however is the real star. Not content with an acoustic version of the masterful Cowgirl In The Sand, Young has to go one better, with the hauntingly powerful Southern Man played "real slow". To round this lot off, he unleashes the mighty Ohio on the unsuspecting music world, which has since become one of the greatest songs ever written. Who invited this guy anyway?
If cherry-picking is your thing, may I advise you to purchase the 'Best Of' retrospective So Far, get those friends round for dinner, keep the volume to a minimum, and be done with it! On the other hand, if music's your thing, get this album in all its emphatic glory, turn the volume right up, forget about the period, forget about the politics, try to sit through Crosby's The Lee Shore without reaching for the remote, and simply "dig it!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Four Winds in Four Directions..., 23 May 2012
By 
This review is from: 4 Way Street (Audio CD)
Don't be disheartened by the lack of votes if you're negative about this album - people are voting yes or no according to whether they agree with it or not, which is not the purpose. The question is, 'was this review helpful'? Opinions are likely to be divided. I remember a friend buying this at the time, and I thought first of all that the title was ironic: this is four men, on the first half at least, heading in four seperate directions, and the breakup of the group looks imminent here as each parades their own material seperately. They're already sounding more like solo artists and less incohesive as a group. Secondly, I thought the second album with its long rock pieces to be less than CSNY's best and a bit raucaus.
However, nostalgia bites at my heels as I write these words, and I find myself wanting to own it. Niel Young has his own strong following, but for me Crosby's 'On The Lee Shore' is a fine rendition of a beautiful song, and Nash's 'Immigration Man' is another great performance - signalling that these two were both soon to deliver excellent first solo albums, and then together give their all on 'Another Stony Evening'. So, if you haven't got those, or if you have and love them, then Four Way Street is probably still worth having.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magic atmosphere of the seventies, 11 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 4 Way Street (Audio CD)
A wonderful acoustic album with the magic atmosphere of the seventies. Crosby, Stills, Nash and Young sings their best songs that made the history of West Coast music. Pleasant the bonus tracks. Very good the digital remastering. A buy to recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars hype or what?, 30 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 4 Way Street (Audio CD)
Well, I'm old enough to remember the amazing hype surrounding this lot. Eventually I bought the C S and N record second hand.
I sat and listened to the harmonys and the playing and the songs and that almost perfect production. Crosby and Nash were not particularly gifted musicians. Steve Stills was. Glad they are still going. Saw them at Glastonbury afew years ago. I should have worn my headband. It was as if I had hitched a lift back in time on the Tardis. Graham Nash seems to believe what they stood for even now. He still sings the songs with absolute conviction. David?.......well, I'm glad the ego is still alive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

4 Way Street
4 Way Street by Crosby Stills Nash & Young (Audio CD - 1992)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews