Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful & Moving
Tori Amos's wonderful debut solo album sounds as fresh today as when it was first released in the early 1990s.
The album is essentially Tori Amos and her piano, it has a raw, emotional appeal - at times lush and beautiful, at others spare and stark Highlights include the haunting 'Me and My Gun', an autobiographical song about a sexual assault sung without...
Published on 11 May 2005 by John E. Davidson

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay
Really bought for one particular song,but thought that the others might be to my taste. Discovered that they were'nt!

Phil.
Published on 8 Feb. 2013 by Mr. PRJ Andrews


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A work of art!, 11 Feb. 2004
This review is from: Little Earthquakes (Audio CD)
First, I must say that I only accidently stumbled upon Tori Amos music by seeing the ~Strange Little Girl~ video. After Strange Little Girls and |To Venus And Back, my friend from France finally sent me Little Earthquakes which was graded as her best album ever. Were the critics wrong? Well, which album is her best I really can't say, but this one is apart being a very personal diary of the singer, a master piece.
Let's start from the top:
~Crucify~-brilliant song, that everyone can feel close to since it speaks about giving yourself in a relationship and yet getting nothing out of it. Very nice drums sections, and the lyrics are poetry.
~Girl~ I didn't quite learn how to appreciate this song until I have heard it live. It's melodic, nothing special but has a very strong bridge that you can't not scream out with when it starts.
~Silent All These Years~I can relate to this song very much. Being silent all these years and yet having a lot to say is a characteristic of a lot of us. A work of art if not her best. Lyrics are very inspiring.
~Precious Things~ Fantastic piano playing, a melody that never leaves your head and a song that has lyrics which will talk you into playing it whenever you feel angry, disappointed or frustrated. It's very healing. A good therapy.
~Winter~ Now, this song should never be changed. Not a single beat. Perfection. You'll understand what i'm saying the moment you hear it.
~Happy Phantom~ Hillarious. A quirky song, good for imrpoving your mood.
~China~ This could be a single mistake on the album. Maybe this song will grow on some people, but I can't feel it.
~Leather~ This is from the same basket as Happy Phantom. Hillarious and the bridge is awsome.
~Mother~ A very moving song with fantastic piano playing about her mother. A verywarm song.
~Tear In Your Hand~ Thsi single song is worth the money of the whole album. Probably her best work. Fantastic piano arrangements, and the lyrics are very optimistic. Have you ever felt that you haven't appreciated yourself that much and you finally decided to respect yourself a bit more, because after all you deserve much better. Than this is your theme song.
~Me And A Gun~ sung acappella. Disturbing. it's about Tori's rape. I always skip it. It's simply too painful. You only need to hear it once and understand the pain. The message is powerful.
~Little Earthquakes~ A fantastic ending for a fantastic record. It has three bridges which sweep you of your feet. This is my favourite Tori song. Simply beautiful. How did she come up with this?
So, all in all, you won't make a mistake by bying this record. It#s a sort of an album that you always run back to when you're feeling down. It's not something that will collect dust on your shelf. It became apparent after this album that Tori Amos is one of the greatest artist of our time and has a brilliant future ahead of her. I wonder what she will come up with next.
It just might be that in 50 years time we will be reading Tori Amos's poetry in our English classes, and learning her arrangements in music schools all over the planet. Perhaps a little farfetched but very much possible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Listening to music is never the same again, 24 Jun. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Little Earthquakes (Audio CD)
Ok, I am a boy. Still this album has got me through some of the hardest times of my life. It is unbeatable. Her other albums still beat anything else out there but following this up is an impossible task. I know it sounds obsessive but this record will change how you listen to music forever. Buy in complete confidence but give it plenty of listens because it takes some time to grow on you. Forget all the other singer-songwriters ( except joni mitchell) and buy this album now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fragile, 2 May 2004
By 
This review is from: Little Earthquakes (Audio CD)
Fragile and shocking are two words that come to my mind with this CD. Tori Amos was recommended to me by my singing teacher, and it deserves his recommendation.
Every song shows you some hidden side of her persona, one that makes you feel almost ashamed to listen to it. This is not a CD to listen to every day, and not one to listen to while in company or as background music. This is a CD to blow your mind. One for gloomy Sundays when it rains outside. One to savour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Her Best Album, 30 Mar. 2004
By 
This review is from: Little Earthquakes (Audio CD)
Why is it that some artists get followers who are devoted on the verge of being obsessed? Two examples are Morrissey and David Bowie, another Tori Amos. There seems to be something hypnotic about the redheaded & red-blooded Amos. Though she's outwardly a traditionally bohemian singer-songwriter, she somehow comes across as more edgy than Joni Mitchell, more passionate than Suzanne Vega.
All the songs on this CD are piano-driven, with strong melodies and some startling but still accessible lyrics. On later albums, her songs have become increasingly dense - here, she indulges the listener with great one-lines like "got enough guilt to start my own religion" and asking God if he "needs a woman to look after you".
This is the first of her albums I bought, and it's still my favourite one - and, a bit sadly, miles better than her latest material on "Scarlets Walk". Strongly recommended if you like Rickie Lee Jones, Suzanne Vega, Nike Drake or Rufus Wainwright.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Honest, powerful, beautiful, and meaningful, 20 Jan. 2003
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Little Earthquakes (Audio CD)
Although Little Earthquakes is Tori Amos' first CD, it is also her best. As much talent and innovation as she has shown in the years since this album was released, she has yet to re-achieve the well-nigh perfection of her initial offering. These songs utilize beautiful music, raw emotion, and lyrical poetry to address a wide array of issues, ranging from rape to relationships to religion. Tori's style is uniquely her own, and the contrasts between soft piano-playing and abrupt emotional outbursts of strident notes, instruments, and words are incredible. No one bares her soul through music as forcefully as Tori. This is best exemplified by the a cappella performance of "Me and a Gun," which deals with Amos' own experience of being raped. These songs are all about empowerment, courageously finding one's voice and taking control of one's life.
"Crucify" is probably the most recognizable song on the album. Its message is one of freedom; too often people restrict themselves out of the fear of being laughed at or judged unfavorably; and Tori preaches that you don't have to wallow in your self-guilt and suffering in order to achieve happiness. "Silent All These Years" suggests a life spent with an abusive or insensitive partner and the self-imposed exile and voicelessness such a relationship can lead to. "Winter" deals with standing on one's own two feet, believing in oneself, and bravely striking out in a world without your father's constant protection. "Mother" strikes a similar theme, evoking images of a caring mother pushing her child out of the nest and helping it begin a new life of its own. "Tear In Your Hand" is an anthem of self-discovery in which Tori tells the man who is leaving her for another woman that she is more fascinating and powerful than he has ever taken the time to realize. In "Little Earthquakes," Tori cries out for both life and pain, realizing that a full life by necessity includes both the good and the bad. "Girl" carries the message that you must be true to yourself, that if you live your whole life trying to please others and ignoring your own desires, you will go crazy. "China" explains how two people can gradually grow apart over time. "Happy Phantom" is a fun little jaunt in which Tori looks forward to forgetting her earthly troubles and becoming a ghost, but it ends on a more serious note about the limited lifespan of memory. The real prize of this CD is "Precious Things," an intensely emotional song hearkening back to days of unrequited crushes, cruel individuals, and adolescent pain; the message is that you must forget the painful memories of your past in order to become your true and ultimate self.
These songs may mean different things to other people, and it is almost impossible not to discover new hidden insights each time you listen to them. Tori Amos truly bears her soul for all to see on this CD, and we can all benefit ourselves as a result of her efforts. Tori Amos is a unique musician, and her music will not appeal to everyone, but this album is much more accessible, particularly lyrics-wise, than her later releases. As far as I am concerned, this is the greatest CD ever produced by any musician.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Precious Thing..., 3 Aug. 2002
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little Earthquakes (Audio CD)
After discovering Tori's fourth set, From The Choirgirl Hotel, by chance in a sale last summer, I took it upon myself to explore Tori's back catalogue. Starting with this, her 1992 breakthrough, Little Earthquakes. And I haven't looked back! From the subdued melodrama of Crucify to the semi-cabaret stylings of Leather, no one track can be singled out as "filler", such is the quality of the album. Other highlights include quietly powerful debut single Silent All These Years, the gorgeous Winter, Happy Phantom, a Kate Bush-esque ditty extolling the joys of dying contented, and the climactic closer Little Earthquakes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Emotionally and musically intense, 8 Sept. 2009
By 
This review is from: Little Earthquakes (Audio CD)
Tori Amos' debut album Little Earthquakes is at once moving and challenging, with a stunning set of musically complex and brutally honest songs.

Lyrically, the songs on this album are her best and most personal of her career - here she tackles the themes of sex, religion, relationships, identity, and loss in an uncompromising manner. The timeless classic Crucify is a lyrical highlight, in which she explores the bondage she suffered during her Christian upbringing: "Why do we crucify ourselves every day? My heart is sick of being in chains..." Another favourite is the bittersweet Happy Phantom, which juxtaposes playful melodies with lyrics about death and the afterlife.

Musically, the album is superb, with lush piano melodies, beautiful string arrangements, and powerful rock arrangements. The songs are complexly structured and excellently-executed, detailing some intensely intimate personal feelings, best showcased in the string-laden ballad Winter, which explores memories of her father, or the beautiful hit-single Silent All These Years. The electrifying Precious Things is another musical highlight (and my personal favourite), which uses powerful rock instruments to bolster an already powerful song, until its effect is almost violent.

There is much to be admired here vocally too - her voice is wide-ranging, dynamic and versatile, capable of handling many styles of music with relative ease. The vocal highlight of the album is undoubtedly the stark Me and a Gun, a disturbing account of her own rape. Sung without accompaniment, the song's dark subject matter is rendered even more harrowing.

A wonderful, accessible album, Little Earthquakes remains among her best works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amos joins the ranks of the finest singer/songwriters on her debut, 31 July 2008
By 
This review is from: Little Earthquakes (Audio CD)
After the failed experiment of her hair-metal/pop album, 1988's Y Kant Tori Read, Tori Amos returned to her Hollywood apartment and composed the material that made up her solo debut album. Eschewing the '80s fashions she had taken on in order to make it big (and failed), Amos returned to her roots - she had been playing piano since the age of two and was something of a "child prodigy."

Musically, these are complexly structured and excellently-executed songs detailing some intensely intimate personal feelings. Amos explores all the baggage of her Christian upbringing and tackles themes of identity, loss, and relationships - but also imbues the material with a sense of fun and humour, particularly on the jaunty "Happy Phantom" and the sexy, sassy bar-room swagger of "Leather."

The material is always grounded in Amos' superb piano melodies, with rock arrangements built around the songs, often to great effect, not least on the electrifying "Precious Things," boasting one of her best piano riffs, and the timeless "Crucify," an early example of Amos' ear for gorgeous pop melodies. Elsewhere, the arrangements are pared down, with the emotional "Winter" featuring an opulent string arrangement and the slow ballads "China" and "Mother" particularly naked. But most naked of all is the a cappella "Me and a Gun," Amos' quite chilling account of her real-life rape. Her references to Carolina biscuits and holidays in Barbados contrast with the horror of her character's situation to create a truly memorable effect.

Vocally, Amos is in fine form here. Her voice is a wide-ranging, multi-octave instrument that is capable of many styles and effects. It hasn't yet achieved quite the richness or depth that shines on later albums like 1998's From the Choirgirl Hotel, but it is excellent here. Lyrically, these are among her best and most personal songs. The imagery is evocative and poetic, and the humour cutting and memorable. She is finely musical and this is an emotional record but with personality. Really, Amos doesn't belong in the same category as some other "angst-ridden" female singer-songwriters of the '90s. She is more akin to the true greats, those being original visionaries Joni Mitchell and Laura Nyro, and later originals like Rickie Lee Jones and Kate Bush. Amos' originality and complexity only grew on later records, but Little Earthquakes remains among her best and most enduring works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing debut album, 17 Mar. 2008
By 
C. Hague "chriswakey77" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Little Earthquakes (Audio CD)
Well,there do i start,then i bought this album in 1993 i already had some of her single releases off this album but i did not realise that every track would be as special as these songs are.
First of all "Crucify" which was i song that i could instantly relate to with it's insecurities."Girl" is next and really touched me deeply as it reflected my life pretty well even though i am a man as i suffered the self loathing that is portrayed in the song and indeed on much of the album."Silent all these years" was the first track i heard of Tori back in 1991 when it was first released and has remained a classic in my eyes,"Precious things" is quite an angry sounding track but works so well for me "Winter" is a beatiful song in every way,i could never get enough of this track and never will."Happy phantom" changes the tempo and is a wonderfully joyous romp about being a ghost,i always loved the line where see mentions chasing nuns out in the yard,"China" is a deep song about a relationship breaking down and is still special to me now,"Leather" is a another great track for me,"Mother" never really did a lot for me even though there is some lovely piano work on it,"tear in your hand" is another great track,beautifully done "Me and a gun" well this is her rape track and is very very personal is fact too personal for me to listen to much but this was so brave to open her thoughts like this and just shows what a special and complex woman she is "little earthquakes" is a worthy end to a stunning album nearly 7 minutes of great piano and vocals.This is my favourite album of the 1990's along with "the Stone Roses" debut album,anyone that has not discovered "Little Eartquakes" really should do but remember she does take you on an emotional and deep journey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best albums of the 1990s!, 27 Aug. 2007
By 
Nik (Hull, East Riding Of Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Little Earthquakes (Audio CD)
Tori Amos' 1992 album 'Little Earthquakes' is arguably the greatest female singer songwriter debut since Patti Smith's 'Horses'. True it is highly derivative; the influences of Joni Mitchell, Laura Nyro and especially Kate Bush are highly evident in Tori's style and sound. A trained pianist, Tori has considerable skill in both playing and writing memorable tunes. She is also blessed with a truly wonderful voice, capable of soaring heights and sensual whispers. As if that isn't enough, Tori is also an accomplished lyricist, describing personal issues with accuracy and honesty - employing ringing phrases that remain with you.
Tori clearly had a great many personal issues and `Little Earthquakes' was her attempt to purge them through her music. The songs deal with self hate, rape, dysfunctional relationships and death. The subjects are described and performed in highly emotive and dramatic terms, these are songs that WILL make you cry.
Stand out tracks are `Crucify', `Silent All These Years', `Winter' and the title track `Little Earthquakes'. `Me And A Gun' is an acapella track that describes a horrible rape, this track I personally find a little too harrowing and frequently skip but its power is undeniable. There are also funny moments; `Happy Phantom' is a ghost watching her boy friend and `Leather' describes a sexual encounter with an air of resignation.
`Little Earthquakes' launched Tori on a long career that has produced many wonderful albums, however none have quite the power and impact of her debut. Tori herself inspired a whole generation of female singer song writers like Liz Phair, Alanis Morisette etc and 15 years later she is still capable of greatness. Thanks for the music Tori!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Little Earthquakes
Little Earthquakes by Tori Amos (Audio CD - 1992)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews