Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Black Friday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Amazon Fire TV Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop Now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars23
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CDChange
Price:£6.07+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
on 27 August 2012
This review is for: Dance, Dance, Dance
This is a superb collection of Chic's best known tracks in extended form. To get all these tracks on one CD is excellent value. Here you get the full 12"/album versions of "Dance Dance Dance (Yowsah, Yowsah, Yowsah) (8:30)", "Everybody Dance (8:25)", "Chic Cheer (4:42)", "Le Freak (5:23)", "I Want Your Love (6:45)", "Good Times (8:13)" and "My Feet Keep Dancing (6:46)". An impressive line-up.

"My Forbidden Lover (4:42)" is included in the album version (which is long enough to be satisfying, but the full 12" version at 6:22 would have been preferrable here considering the other tracks are all the 12" mixes. However, it is available on the 4CD box set: Nile Rodgers presents: The Chic Organization, Boxset Vol. I / "Savoir Faire" which I can highly recommend for a more comprehensive collection of Chic productions).

One glaring error though is that "Soup For One" (the track sampled heavily on Modjo's No. 1 hit; "Lady (Hear Me Tonight)" isn't 7:58 as listed on the inlay, it is actually the radio edit at just over 3 minutes (again, the full version is on the boxset mentioned above, although it should have been here). Considering this CD has been in print since 1991, the record company have had 20 years to rectify this fault and put the correct version on the discs (or change the inlay), but have failed to do so. But that aside, this is a pretty much perfect collection of Chic's best loved songs in extended form and shows why Chic's music is still being played and in demand over 30 years later. For what is on the CD, this is some of the best Disco music ever created and easily worthy of 5 stars.

By the way, I have also reviewed: Magnifique: Very Best of Chic
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
on 19 September 2004
One of the best (if not the best yet) albums in disco / dance history of the late 70's. This CD compiles one of the most detailed collection of top singles in the 'Saturday Night Fever decade', which you may like or dislike, but cannot disagree telling that you've heard almost every sound in this CD...

Then, if you can have the privilege to see them live you can tell it was worth the price, because Chic performs almost all of the songs contained in this CD. A must for not-so-young collectors.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 3 August 2013
One of the quintessential bands to emerge from the disco period, Chic's music was driven by the superb guitar combination of Nile Rodgers and Bernard Edwards, responsible for many hits for the likes of Diana Ross and Sister Sledge. Here though they showcase extended versions of their hits and lesser known singles. All the hits are in place, including 'Dance, Dance, dance', 'I Want Your Love', 'Le Freak' and the oft-sampled 'Good Times'. Their unique playing style and funk derived sound hit a note in the late 70's but their star had faded a little by the early 80's, with a tapering off of hits but still enjoyable tracks.

This is a good import and arrived in a reasonable time at reasonable cost. Unless you want a combined greatest hits with the likes of Sister Sledge this is probably the one to go for if you just want Chic.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
on 7 January 2005
Without doubt, I would place Chic amongst my all-time favourite bands, and not only that, amongst the most talented and most influential bands ever to have graced pop music, definitely amongst the likes of the Beatles, the Rolling Stones, Led Zeppelin et alia. Certainly having discovered them a year or so ago(I am only 20!), I have yet to get tired of their songs, and through having heard their stuff done by other artists like Sister Sledge ("We Are Family", "Lost in Music", "He's the Greatest Dancer"), Diana Ross ("Upside Down") and Carly Simon ("Why"), I cannot help think that Nile Rodgers and Bernard Edwards are on par with Lennon and McCartney, Bacharach and David, and Elton John and Bernie Taupin as great songwriting partners.
This album, for the neutral(for the Chic conoisseur, go for "C'est Chic" or "Risqué", their best albums), encapsulates why the group were brilliant, and would have been amazing to have seen live. Especially Nile Rodgers (guitar), Bernard Edwards (bass) and Tony Thompson (drums), they were definitely what defined the band. Quite frankly, whilst the female singers in Chic are very good, the musicians steal the show... which highlights how good Thompson, Rodgers and Edwards were. Thompson's pulsating rhythms, Rodgers' riffs, and Edwards mean basslines made them a phenomenal band musically, and certainly, I have yet to come up with anyone who could have matched or who can match Edwards on bass. Not even Flea from Chilis. Any suggestions? Okay, at their peak, they were a "disco" band, but they could certainly do rock too, as proved by their later contributions(e.g. work with David Bowie, Power Station, Duran Duran, Robert Palmer etc). In fact, if you take away the lush orchestration that gave the impression of effortless elegance, they would have been a very hard rock band. However, they DID define disco, and songs like "Le Freak", "I Want Your Love" and "Good Times" will always stick in people's minds as feel good songs that you strut and dance to. As well as songs that you can sit back, and just admire the handiwork of Rodgers, Edwards and Thompson.
This is a CD that I would definitely recommend for anyone's collection, as all the songs are just brilliant, and show why their music has influenced so many artists, from rock(Queen's "Another One Bites the Dust" was inspired by "Good Times") to rap ("Rapper's Delight", the first major rap song to hit charts worldwide, sampled the bass and guitar from "Good Times"). Even the lesser known songs you will recognise: "Chic Cheer" was sampled in a recent hit, and "Soup for One" in Modjo's hit song "Lady(Hear Me Tonight)". Overall, a fantastic set that has not dated whatsoever.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
Many a band are considered influential , some deservedly ,some rather contentiously but what is in absolutely NO doubt what so ever is that Chic , the American disco/funk band formed in 1976 by guitarist Nile Rodgers and bassist Bernard Edwards , are one of the most influential bands of all time. Plus they made music so expansively enjoyable that trees would uproot to dance to it.

Their music as well as being as being sampled in countless hits ( "Rappers Delight " by The Sugarhill Gang" , Grandmaster Flash's "On The Wheels Of Steel" both sampled "Good Times" while fairly recently Modjo sampled "Soup For One" on "Lady (Hear me Tonight")The bass line from Queens "Another One Bites The Dust" was also filched from "Good Times" after John Deacon bumped into the band while recording for The Power Station- a band who described their sound as Chic meets The Sex Pistols while being no where near as good as either. Even artists as far removed as Johnny Marr has acknowledged Chic's influence. If you can be bothered their stimulus can be heard in music today with horrid pseudo funksters like The Red Hot Chilli Peppers basing their whole rhythm section on the peerless playing of Edwards and drummer Tony Thompson.

It's the playing of Edwards , Rodgers and Thompson that really set Chic apart with gracefully complex bass lines, crisp confident percussion and the lustrous sheen of the riffs augmented by strings and delicately tiptoeing piano .The vocals by Norma Jean Wright and Luci Martin later replaced by Alfa Anderson are emollient smooth and effortless , never overindulging in extraneous vocal frippery and serve the music's mostly hedonistic verve supremely well.

The songs on this compilation are taken mostly from their excellent "Risqué" and "Ces,t Chic" albums released in 1979 and 1978 respectively -the bands golden period and if you can hear songs like "Good Times"-contender for the best disco track ever- or "Le Freak" ( Incidentally the "Awww Freak Out" line was originally going to be "Awww F**K Off" but was changed for obvious commercial reasons) without wanting to dance like a baboon in loon pants then you are either deaf, dead or might as well be dead. The same goes for "Everybody Dance"-here in it's 12inch remix version - or "I Want Your Love" or "My Forbidden Lover". Even the slower tracks like "Savoir Faire" are effortlessly cool as I believe it's errr cool to say . There is even a great lost disco classic here , at least lost in the sense it was never a single , the sassily superb "My Feet Keep Dancing".

A truly great band , rightly honoured numerous times for their influential sound and the production skills of Nile Rodgers( Edwards and Thompson have both sadly passed away) they have been nominated three times for induction into the Rock And Roll Hall of Fame but have never received the requisite number of votes. Dance music has long since garnered Chic with a similar award. No matter because we the people who listen to and have bought their albums know what a monumental band they were. To paraphrase a couple of songs off this essential compilation ( Essential if you don't own their other albums already) strike up the band listening to Chic will always cheer you up.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 15 May 2012
I read most of the reviews and they are selling it on viability not integrity.
All the tracks are consistent but consistently cak as sound quality goes!

Audio quality is poor and "Soup for one" is only 3mins 6secs long, not 7.58.
If your a die hard fan then it does matter.

My advice is dont buy into artists on the fly, if you like Chic then you will like this album for its content not its quality.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 11 December 2014
Well worth buying for the 12" versions it includes, this is an excellent compilation of Chic's best and most familiar output. When these discs were first released, the concept of dance - certainly in heterosexual clubs - was often much less fervoured and intense than it has now become and breaking into a sweat as a female dancer, unless having a go at Northern Soul, would mark you out as some kind of pariah. Ah, them were the days....Many will remember the 12" dance track with fondness. But how many stayed the course? Well I remember the dance floor emptying as Chic tunes soared beyond the three minute comfort zone. This is great music, at times even sublime music that defined at least one significant part of an age and music that has stood the test of time. Better still, since the recent great Nile Rodgers' revival, Chic need no longer be anyone's guilty pleasure. My favourite track is without doubt the instrumental Savoir Faire - I wish this was a 12"! But a similar effect can be gained by hitting repeat.....
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 2 February 2014
What can i say! takes me back to saturday nights at the disco, pure escapism and magic. Had forgotten how many hits Chic had back in the day, and were the inspiration for many artists who came along later. Sublime boogie.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2013
We gave this CD five stars because it really makes us dance to the beat in real long unabridged versions every time we play it! Yes, you get the longer versions you used to dance to in Disco Clubs! Sound quality is excellent! We loved all tracks as they really took us back to the 70’’s Disco Music! We recommend this product if you are a fan of Disco Music and had not the chance to get the longer versions of Chic’s Music you hear on the radio! A nice buy!
Warmest regards,
Eliezer, Elizeu and Maria Conceicao, Brazil.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2013
This has all the full length Chic songs that made them so sucessful in the 70 and 80s. However the sound recording seems pretty poor. Not sure if that's the case on all the "best of" CDs out there but was very dissapointing for me.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed

The Very Best Of Chic
The Very Best Of Chic by Chic (Audio CD - 2012)


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.