Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars another masterpiece from skid row
1992,a year after metallicas black metal and the grunge revolution was killing metal and heavy rock,i had listened to skid rows debut at least 200 times before this was released and when my parents got it for me i threw it in the tapedeck,yes tapedeck folks,no cd players at this time, and i waited and the opener' monkey business 'blew me away,it seemed heavier...
Published on 1 Mar 2006 by sean paul mccann

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Raw, wild
It is very raw, it is nasty, it is wilder and less melodic than the first eponymous album. For those who seek a more gentle side to the band, there are of course the rock ballads. To me, "Wasted Time" belongs to the greatest tunes the rock scene had in the 1990s. All in all, an OK album, but its predecessor was much better.
Published 16 months ago by Jiri


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rockin' Good Fun!, 9 Dec 2002
This review is from: Slave To The Grind (Audio CD)
"It's too cheesy!", "They are too happy!" or "Eww! There hair is all long and girly!"
These are just a couple of insults hurled at bands of Skid Row's kind nowadays. Let them think what they like, if they choose to ignore this album on the basis of it being over ten years old then they are missing out...Big time!
To me, this album represents the hayday of great metal. Long solo's, emotional and often melodramatic lyrics and a serious amount of hair!
To me, modern music and "Nu Metal" cannot possibly stand up to the might of Skid Row and bands like them. What people seem to forget is that metal is supposed to be FUN! And the occassional lighter in the air/emotional ballad is always a welcome must.
Highlights on this album include: "Monkey Business", "Wasted Time" and "In a darkened room." This album is a great party album, although you would have to be careful because these days cheese metal isn't "cool" as such and that is a shame. I may be one of the few, but I am upset that bands do not do music like this anymore, with a few notable exceptions such as Iron Maiden and Dream Theater who have stayed faithful to their roots.
If you want angry, sololess "metal" then look elsewhere, but if you want REAL good time metal then buy this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A classic Rock album, 22 Jun 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Slave To The Grind (Audio CD)
I have had this album for over 6 years now and I am still amazed at the quailty and energy of this music. Ballards such as the brilliant "Quicksand Jesus" mix with infectious guitar work on tracks such as "Slave to the Grind" The skids are now long since gone. But this album is a very fitting epitaph to a great band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fab, 23 July 2013
By 
Lynda Morgan (Southampton. Hants. UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Slave To The Grind (Audio CD)
When my 15 year old niece was asking to borrow my skid row CD you know they have had a semi-decent musical upbringing! Glad a new generation will get to enjoy it all over again! Shame I couldn't find my copy to loan, so had to reinvest! Was really happy with the speed and quality of CD and delivery😀
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Skid Row Slave to the Grind, 1 Nov 2012
This review is from: Slave To The Grind (Audio CD)
Excellent service and Product. A real bargain. Great C.D with some real thought provoking lyrics. There should have been more from this band than this and the previous excellent album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars slave slave slave, 13 Sep 2011
This review is from: Slave To The Grind (Audio CD)
while there are some tracks on the album that stand out better than others,
it doesn't retract from the fact that this is one hell of an album.
it is a must for any rock fan. or and learn-ed rock fan
And Seb sings his ass off in his own unique screaming way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars one of best, 18 Nov 2009
By 
Sarmite Kraukle "Sarmux" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Slave To The Grind (Audio CD)
Legend,cool band,well,have nothing much to say,its skid row,if u like guns n roses,AC/DC this is one of liking too!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Slave To The Grind!!!, 19 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Slave To The Grind (Audio CD)
I was about 5 when this came out and heard tracks on the radio for all this time. Finally bought it and what an album it is!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Slave To The Grind (Audio CD)
A1
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Slave To The Grind
Slave To The Grind by Skid Row (Audio CD - 1991)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews