Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless Music
I have in excess of twenty albums by Dave Brubeck and his various groups, but this has to be my favourite.
This concert recording almost serves as a swan song of respected saxophonist Paul Desmond, who would die four years later from lung cancer. Some of Desmond's playing is some of the most lyrical I have heard, in particular a remarkable four-bar phrase towards...
Published on 31 Jan 2005

versus
0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars see comments below
this record was returned to you as it would not play from track 1 and jumped repeatedly on other tracks.
my other recent purchases have been from VG to EXCELLENT.
Published 19 months ago by Brian Robinson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless Music, 31 Jan 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: We're All Together Again For The First Time (Audio CD)
I have in excess of twenty albums by Dave Brubeck and his various groups, but this has to be my favourite.
This concert recording almost serves as a swan song of respected saxophonist Paul Desmond, who would die four years later from lung cancer. Some of Desmond's playing is some of the most lyrical I have heard, in particular a remarkable four-bar phrase towards the end of his astonishing solo in 'Unfinished Woman', a funky build-up of ideas written by Gerry Mulligan with an understated start. This is an amazing track!
The alto is also especially good in the evocative elegy 'Koto Song', with its eastern influences and chromaticisms, expressing a wistfulness of the quartet's previous excursions.
Gerry Mulligan's baritone sax. playing is equally musically competent, as seen in his melodic solo in 'Truth', introducing a 'way out' solo from Dave demonstrating his trademark heavy playing, before the number returns to the opening theme, as is the pattern of most of these tracks.
Shame about Dave's minute-long track 'Sweet Georgia Brown', as it is rather sub-standard compared to the other tracks, unlike the many encores played with the same band (minus Desmond) at the Berlin Philharmonie two years prior to this concert.
'Rotterdam Blues' really shows up the talent of these individuals though, especially Dave's, to generate musical ideas from scratch. Granted that it sits back into a less eventful chord progression, but the band pick up the groove nicely and Mulligan digs Brubeck's style well.
It is fun to hear two saxes playing in harmony on Paul's standard 'Take Five', Gerry's growling baritone balancing his voice-like, floating alto. The piano solo in this signature tune never fails to amuse me in its suggestive simplicity, then gradual ascension in pace, expansion and technicality. Dawson's electric mastery of percussion in this exciting solo is worthy of Brubeck's previous drummer, Joe Morello, though with a more contemporary influence of rock and funk in this recording made in 1973.
It is rare to find an album in which all the players are playing at their best, but here is a timeless example, containing fusions of funk and jazz which work effectively, and that I highly recommend as an investment for its sheer quality of music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sparkling!, 26 Sep 2011
By 
Simon (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: We're All Together Again For The First Time (Audio CD)
It's all been said in the first review. The only criticism I have is that it's not long enough! If you like this, you'll like Live at the Berlin Philharmonie too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars My first album that features thee of my favourite artists., 4 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: We're All Together Again For The First Time (Audio CD)
I knew that meeting of these Jazz greats would bring a very brilliant Album, and I was dully supported by my fellow jack collectors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Brubeck and other musicians., 16 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A tribute to the outstanding Dave Brubeck and other well known Jazz figures in the recording field. Sit back and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars We're All Together Again for the First Time. Dave Brubeck, 3 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: We're All Together Again For The First Time (Audio CD)
Wonderful - what more can I say - I am a devoted fan of the late Dave Brubeck - buy this and everything else he recorded!

Rita Craft.
London.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars see comments below, 24 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: We're All Together Again For The First Time (Audio CD)
this record was returned to you as it would not play from track 1 and jumped repeatedly on other tracks.
my other recent purchases have been from VG to EXCELLENT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

We're All Together Again For The First Time
We're All Together Again For The First Time by Gerry Mulligan (Audio CD - 1993)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews