Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A magnificent glimpse of a great live band in concert
Led Zeppelin's only (official) live album is a 'must buy' for any genuine fans and, indeed, anyone who has seen the film or who likes the band but missed out on seeing them live.
The band really were a magnificent live outfit and for anyone not fortunate enough to have seen them live, this album, together with the accompanying film, offers a taste of what they were...
Published on 24 Jan 2002

versus
10 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not one of their better nights....
I found this album disappointing when I first heard it, as a fifteen year old....and my opinion is largely unchanged today.

Part of the problem is that, in the studio, Zep were a very precise band and somewhat reliant on Maestro's Page's mastery of technology to achieve their unique sound. In parts, here, they sound like an only slightly above average pub-rock...
Published on 5 April 2007 by Wakefield, 2011


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A magnificent glimpse of a great live band in concert, 24 Jan 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Song Remains the Same (Audio CD)
Led Zeppelin's only (official) live album is a 'must buy' for any genuine fans and, indeed, anyone who has seen the film or who likes the band but missed out on seeing them live.
The band really were a magnificent live outfit and for anyone not fortunate enough to have seen them live, this album, together with the accompanying film, offers a taste of what they were like in concert.
The band do great justice to their classic songs "Stairway To Heaven", "Rock 'n' Roll" and "Whole Lotta Love" - the latter being an extended version complete with the "Boogie Mama" middle section.
The highlight for me is a truly astounding version of "No Quarter". John Paul Jones excels himself on keyboards, while, not to be outdone, Jimmy Page contributes one of his most magnificent and memorable guitar solos. This track is vastly superior to the studio version, which sounds a little bit flat by comparison.
In similar vein the versions of "The Song Remains The Same" and "The Rain Song", although closer to their studio counterparts, are still superior.
"Dazed and Confused", at 27 minutes, may be too long for some... but with all the tempo changes and having see the film and remembering Jimmy Page playing the guitar with a violin bow at one point, the time seems to fly by.
Whilst "Moby Dick", which is John Bonham's drum-solo extravaganza, can be entertaining on screen it rapidly becomes rather irritating just listening to it.
The only other curiosity is the inclusion of "Celebration Day". The band play a decent enough version of it but it doesn't feature in the film and it seems to have been included on the soundtrack at the expense of "Since I've Been Loving You" which, for me, is the absolute highlight of the film. Very strange.
Those slight criticisms apart, this is still an excellent live album which captured the band at their peak. It is worth the purchase price just for "No Quarter".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The song remains a pain, apparently, but deserves better., 31 May 2003
By 
B. O. Hansen (Oslo, Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Song Remains the Same (Audio CD)
During the twenty years that is gone since I first heard 'The Song Remains The Same', it has become customary to read bad reviews about the album. An album cursed with an aura of being something close to a failure in the Zeppelin-catalogue. Indeed, even Led Zeppelin themselves claimed they were never too happy about the whole affair. And that to such an extent that Jimmy Page chose to neglect it when the studio albums got remastered in 1990. This - together with the fact that the movie 'The Song Remains The Same' remains lukewarm in the hands of the same critics, has caused a general tendency amongst them to be in denial of the indisputable qualities there are to be found in these 1973-recordings, qualities which everyone with an ear for rock and roll are likely to acknowledge sooner or later. Well, at least one can always hope. Frankly, I have never quite fully understood the critisism. As far as I'm concerned, I was in my late teens when I first heard this soundtrack-album. Tellingly, I was in the innocent situation that nobody told me what had gone before. No chance then for being influenced to believe anything about the record in advance. I simply got introduced to 'The Song Remains The Same' through a good friend of mine, a Zep-fan like myself, who happened to dig both the film and the soundtrack to death - everything in a time when Zeppelin weren't exactly the hottest news around. But triggered by that soundtrack, it didn't take long before I rediscovered the band and completely got hooked up into Led Zeppelin's almost formidable world of obsessive guitar-licks, drama, uncompromising drive, beauty, development, complexity, boogie mama and thunderous kit-thumping. Fans and musicians happen to dig this album, actually, also most of the ones I've met personally. Critics, on the other hand, are by contrast almost universial in their consensus of panning it. Therefore, in the wake of the release of the live-DVD and accompanying (three CD) live-album (which I haven't heard at the time of writing, I'm sure it's fantastic), I'd like to put in a vote for 'The Song Remains The Same' and encourage people with a soft spot for rock and roll to sit down and listen carefully to this soundtrack without prejudice. I'm not saying it's perfect, but to me it is more interesting to explore what is great about 'The Song Remains The Same', rather than focusing on the eventual shortcomings it's been accused for having, i.e. too few songs on too many minutes for instance, lack of film/tapes from more recent gigs never to be realised due to accidents/delays etc. O.K., so what? Stairway To Heaven, No Quarter and Rain Song are all beautiful, Dazed And Confused and the title track are both dazzling. What some songs lack on one level, they usually compensate for on another. To me, that makes the album very human, grounded as it is in a different soil than many of today's sterile live-productions. 'The Song Remains The Same' is a bold record full of risk-taking directions, a quality never foreign to rock and roll anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "The most expensive home movie ever made...", 29 May 2007
By 
This review is from: The Song Remains the Same (Audio CD)
To fully appreciate the impact this film had you must go back in time to 1976 - expensive

home videos had only just become available, computers, internet and mobile phones were

the stuff of science fiction, cars were still running on cross-ply tyres and leaded petrol,

there were still only three TV channels in the UK (no breakfast television) and the digital

age, and Sunday opening for the stores, was still something waiting to come in the far

distant future. As for Led Zeppelin, they were still at the top of their game around this

time, having completed a monster world tour and made a series of

legendary performances at London's Earl's Court the year before - I queued up at 7 o clock

in the morning to get tickets for this, and still feel it was the most exciting rock concert i

have ever attended.

The relationship between the press and the band was suspicious and bitter, to put it mildly,

only a privileged rare few were allowed into the "Houses of the Holy", any news about

them was scant to say the least and added to the mystique of the band, only music

papers such as "Sounds" and "Melody Maker" were really the only sources of information,

and the fanzine "Tight But Loose". The huge touring schedules Zeppelin undertook around

the world earned them a massive fan base, their concerts included many songs and

improvisations not available on their studio albums so a plethora of live bootleg albums

appeared, mostly with appalling sound quality. When visiting towns on tour Jimmy Page

would visit local record stores and buy up all the bootlegs he could find, believing they

spoiled the band's reputation obviously, eventually deciding to release an official live

album to counter the trade in illegal recordings.

The "Song Remains the Same" project started off as a self-indulgent home movie which

grew and grew, incorporating live performances which were eventually decided to be

filmed at Madison Square Garden, and to include a short film piece profiling each of the

band's home life, character (as in the runes on LZ4) and fantasies, which also included

manager Peter Grant.

The film, and this companion double album released in October '76, contains some

amazing performances, the sound quality is still very good, and kicks off with an exciting

version of "Rock and Roll" melding into "Celebration Day", but the album/film's crowning

glory in my opinion is the brilliant version of "No Quarter", the John Paul Jones section of

the film. This is the most amazingly proggish version of this song i have heard - the album is

worth buying for this track alone for the hardened progger, a truly amazing performance.

This set also contains their live favourite extended improvised version of "Dazed and

Confused" (Jimmy Page's amazing violin bow tricks were something to behold!) and "Stairway to Heaven". The now underrated "Moby Dick" is here (I loved

seeing John's solo at Earl's Court, and laughed when all he got was a banana for his

efforts!), also the beautiful "Rain Song", and a lively version of "The Song Remains the

Same", and their signature tune "Whole Lotta Love".

In 1976 this whole project seemed like an early Christmas present from the band to their

fans and should be appreciated as such in these modern times of media saturation from

every direction, and is something I will always value!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars One of the best live albums ever made, 18 April 2010
By 
This review is from: The Song Remains the Same (Audio CD)
I had heard the name Led Zeppelin long before I had learned what "hard rock" or "heavy metal" meant. Their music, though (if we don't count one song), was terra incognita to me even a while after I had become a heavy metal fan as a teenager in mid-80's.
"The Song Remains the Same" was the first Led Zeppelin record I ever listened to. It was mind-blowing. I was definitely not a fan of early (or even late) 70's metal, but it was unbelievable how modern this album sounded. They could have had written 1986 on the sleeve and I wouldn't have been able to tell that the music was actually from 1976. And I totally admired their virtuosity. All four members of the band were really skilful with their respective instruments. A very even, very technical band. I loved it. Most songs on this record are very long - as I learned later, the original versions on studio albums are much shorter. Led Zeppelin are possibly the best improvisers I have ever heard. They have a unique ability to add amazing solos and stuff to their songs with apparently no effort at all.

I don't like this album in its entirety as much as to rate it with 5 stars, but some of the songs are among the best ever created in the hard rock genre. Actually, this is the only Led Zeppelin album I like. Listening to the studio albums with their lame 70's-like sound was an anticlimax beyond words (except for one song on this album which's studio version I like more).

I've also watched the movie with the same name which contains almost the same songs, and I really recommend it, even more than this record.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Zeppelin at their peak in concert, 3 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Song Remains the Same (Audio CD)
When I was sixteen at least four copies would be at every party (so thats why my vinyl copy is covered in cheap lager!). This album was to many of us our introduction to Zeppelin. Oh we loved the film as well. Think JP at Bloeskin with the sword as his face passes through his life and beyond. the music is blistering throughout, only Moby Dick is consigned to the once a year bin. There are few live albums to better this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FULL UNEDITED EDITIONS OF THE ZEP CLASSICS finally available after being long out of print!, 24 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Song Remains the Same (Audio CD)
Even though this is NOT the remastered version (which finally features all of the songs at Madison Square Garden) THIS edition features the LP versions of the uncut Whole Lotta Love (extra guitar jam beginning of a minute & a half before the psychedelic theramin interlude), of which I've been looking for for quite some time (...I'm just looking for the bridge! section). You can hear it on the special edition dvd (out of context though) in the titles menu.
Another feature on this cd is the full length versions of No Quarter & Moby Dick. Why anyone would want to edit out Jimmy Page's guitar jam solos and John Henry Bonham's drumming by 2 minutes is beyond me! If Jimmy Page edited it out himself then by thunder! SOMEBODY TELL HIM TO PUT THESE BACK IN!
Dazed And Confused is edited by 2 minutes here but I can't pinpoint where! Was it in the audience noise? Here it's 26:53 and on the special edition it's 29:18. Hmmm... strange.
The special edition has more songs, correct running order & is remastered so I highly recommend it to the fans. But the LP version was what I was listening to growing up and there are somethings you just do not tamper with when it comes to the flow of the music coming at you from your Marantz 400 watt speakers!
And I finally found this flow intact in this earlier edition of this Zep classic.
For the price of this cd its worth every penny!
Which was 1970's prices to boot! Thank you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 100 Percent Platinum, 5 Dec 2006
By 
G. G. Saunders "Rock Dr." (West Sussex .UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Song Remains the Same (Audio CD)
I am not going to mention the film because after all this is a (soundtrack). All I want to say is this is worth the asking price just to hear madison square gardens NYC, going nuts to the sounds of, rock and roll, celebration day,the song remains the same,no quarter and extended work out of whole lotta love, the other four tracks are just as good but Mr Page& Co are as (one) playing the best version ever of No quarter!! If only it had been done like this on the houses of the holy LP! I shudder to think. go on treat yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Song Remains The Same. But Gets Better The More You Listen To It, 18 Sep 2006
This review is from: The Song Remains the Same (Audio CD)
Only people who don't understand the true meaning of live performances would give this album a bad review. Obviously the idea of a band playing live is for the image so its quite evident that there is a possibility that a live performance recorded onto a cd is not going to have quite the same impact as it live, but try driving down the motor way with the live version of Moby Dick blasting out of your windows and a smile is sure to creep to your face. Enough said.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Worth owning, 29 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Song Remains the Same (Audio CD)
This refers to the original, not the re-mastered version (which I gather has some different performances). I read a lot of reviews saying that i should get 'How the West Was Won' because it was better than this. No it is not. This one has its defects but has some great performances. After IV my fave Zep album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 24 Jun 2013
This review is from: The Song Remains the Same (Audio CD)
The unremastered version is worth buying for No Quarter, the version on the new remastered version is different, missing out some fantastic guitar. You should have the new version of Since I've Been Loving You, fantastic, both brilliant albums
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Song Remains the Same
The Song Remains the Same by Led Zeppelin (Audio CD - 1997)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews