Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Their Best Album.
Many will disagree with those words, but there is no doubt in my mind that here the boys really managed to do the imossible. To outdo both Vulgar and Far Beyond. Old school metallers like myself remember that around this albums release, the metal climate was changing,big names like Metallica and Megadeth had gone kinda "soft" and NU-Metal was beginning to rise. Again the...
Published on 27 July 2004 by A. Olafsson

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Heavy, Fast, Mellow, Pulsating, but not Pantera's best...
"Trendkill" is an amazing album, there is no denying that. From the opening scream, to the closing chords, you are taken on a journey that delves into many types of Metal music. However, but far not Pantera's best album. It gets boring and repetitive in places, and you can loose concentration. A definate must for Pantera fans, and indeed all Metallers.
Published on 1 April 2003 by taker1111


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Their Best Album., 27 July 2004
By 
A. Olafsson (Akureyri, Iceland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Great Southern Trendkill (Audio CD)
Many will disagree with those words, but there is no doubt in my mind that here the boys really managed to do the imossible. To outdo both Vulgar and Far Beyond. Old school metallers like myself remember that around this albums release, the metal climate was changing,big names like Metallica and Megadeth had gone kinda "soft" and NU-Metal was beginning to rise. Again the Texans went against what other bands were doing, and became heavier than ever.This album has a feel to it that cannot be discribed.Songs like Suicide note 1 and 2, Drag the Waters, War Nerve and their best song ever, Floods make this an astounding release.Give it a few listens, then youll understand,trust me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An underrated classic, 28 Sep 2005
By 
Mr. D. A. Cure "Sir Danalot" (Droitwich) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Great Southern Trendkill (Audio CD)
Why is it that every favourite album I have is the bands (and most fans) least favourite? It always means that they devote no time to discussing it, or more importantly, to playing the songs live. Anyway, for me, this is the best Pantera work, as it encompasses every aspect of their brilliance of musicianship (Living through me), technical ability (suicide note part II), song writing (Floods), southern edge (The Underground in America) and sheer heaviness (the first three tracks!)
Written just before Phil's heroin overdose, this is probably their most darkest hour, but the music is perhaps more diverse than the previous three efforts, and since the tragic demise of Dimebag, a great testimony to the power they once possessed. A great album by the greatest metal band of their time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best metal albums of the 90s, 1 Nov 2002
By A Customer
When people talk about Pantera's best work, only Vulgar Display and Cowboys From Hell (bizarrely) ever seem to be mentioned. This is really puzzling. In the ten years I've been listening to extreme music this is in my top ten of albums. The Great Southern Trendkill (1996) is dark, exciting and will probably never be bettered.
The album opens ferociously with the title track. An evil, grinding riff then gives way to some stellar riffing by Dimebag Darrell. This part of the song is just a pleasure to listen to, particularly as the end hints at even darker tunes in the rest of the album. War Nerve has a slow start, then quickly picks up into a driving, military riff. Vinnie Paul's sense of rhythm is superb. If Dimebag shone on the first track then this is Vinnie's 3 or 4 odd minutes. Drag The Waters was a single for the band but unsurprisingly didn't exactly go Top 40. This is a sort of heavy pop song with a dark message of greed and corruption. The band's Southern roots really stand out on this track.
Track 4 is 10s. Despairing, slow and a middle part that is just beautifully miserable and forlorn. 13 Steps To Nowhere is again another superb track that never seems to get much credit from Pantera fans. The riff is haunting and frantic, particularly in the middle of the song where it just slows to the sound of a bell being tolled in the distance. Suicide Notes Part 1 and 2 are excellent - SN2 is in the same vein as Hostile but much darker, whilst SN1 is the sound of someone in the throes of topping themselves.
Living Through Me is easily the weakest track on the album. Very forgettable and the only average track on the album. Floods is a 7 minute mix of bleak acoustic guitar and grinding axework. The Underground In America has yet another creepy riff whilst Sandblasted Skin is an excellent finisher. Phil Anselmo's lyrics are very well written throughout.
Not everyone seemed to like this album, but I can't understand how. Ten of the eleven tracks here are excellent. If you haven't heard this album yet, then what's stopping you?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW!!!!!, 30 Nov 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Great Southern Trendkill (Audio CD)
The title refers to what I thought when I heard the song "Living Through Me (Hells Wrath)" on the radio. It was the first Pantera song I ever heard. That was in 1997, and to this day, it is still my favourite Pantera track. Of course after I bought this album, I got their other stuff, and while everyone says Vulgar Display of Power was their best album, I disagree. Vulgar was good, but it had some boring songs at the end, unlike Trendkill. The album kicks off to an explosive start from the first track (the title track), and many highlights are the chugging Drag The Waters, Slow grooving 10's, The eclectic Suicide Notes Pt 1 and 2, and especially Floods, which starts off slowish and haunting, then comes in heavy,intersperced with thunder samples, while the ending leaves an excellent guitar part (which is to short in my opinion). Phil Anselmo's vocals, like the music itself, are filled with rage and different shades, making this album much more adventurous than previous efforts. Not only that, Anal C**t frontman Seth Putman appears on 3 tracks(nice to hear him alongside proper rock music). This is by far Pantera's best effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The art of intensity - Pantera's best album, 2 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This is by far Pantera's darkest, bleakest and heaviest album. This is where they went through the ceiling and pushed everything to the limit.The brutality and skullcrushing factor of the material on here is next to overwhelming. The title track caves your head in when it screams in at the beginning, and 'Drag the Nerve' features an extremely doomy riff, which conjures up visions of the Grim Reaper himself. '13 Steps To Nowhere' is dark and heavy, and 'Suicide Note part 1' is eerie, but 'Suicide Note part II' and 'Sandblasted Skin'are the most thrashing, screaming and insanely mental things Pantera have ever recorded.They also have a successful stab at stoner rock with 'The Underground In America'. This album has a massively brutal charm to it. Buy this, and 'Far Beyond Driven', and you will recognise the meaning of the word 'heavy'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pantera - The Great Southern Trendkill, 1 April 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The Great Southern Trendkill (Audio CD)
This is, without a doubt, the most underated album in the world of metal ever. The Great Southern Trendkill and War Nerve are typical heaviness, 10's and Suicide Part Note Pt. 1 involve new styles and the regular texan edge is apparent in 13 Steps To Nowhere and Drag The Waters. A truly great effort from the kings of metal. Standout songs: Suicide Note Pt. 1, War Nerve, Suicide Note Pt. 2 and 13 Steps Nowhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the way metal should be!, 6 Feb 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The Great Southern Trendkill (Audio CD)
i just picked up this album recently after hearing drag the waters, and suicide note pt. 2. I've been a hardcore pantera fan for sometime now, and i have to say that they never cease to amaze me. Tracks like drag the waters, war nerve, and sandblasted skin, show the band exercising their now trademark 'power groove' and delivering some of the most uncompromisingly heavy music to date, whie tracks like suicide note pt. 1 show the broad range of styles the band can cover. the best track on the album by far is floods, which shows a new level of vulnerabilty in phil, and dimebag's most fantastic solo ever. this song can literally reduce me to tears. If you dont like any other songs on this album buy it for that one, its just an amazing emotional piece of art. All in all, once again the late pantera have delivered another stellar metal release that packs a mighty punch from start to finish.
P.S. Rest in peace Dime, we miss you!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pantera's best disc, against all sense, 27 Dec 2007
By 
fps (London England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Great Southern Trendkill (Audio CD)
Pantera's sharpest songs aren't found here, they're on Vulgar Display, and their focus isn't as singular as on Far Beyond Driven. On this disc songs stop half way through (Living Through Me), riffs stutter and disrupt before joining a song (War Nerve), the title track is half hardcore screamfest, half glorious southern groove wigout- just because! These idiosyncracies and unpredictabilities contribute to the air of paranoia that grips this disc, recorded shortly before Phil's OD and at a low point in communication between him and the rest of the band. The album drips with atmosphere and is far and away the most seismic and complete listening experience out of Pantera's back catalogue. It's got my fave Pantera ballad, 10s, possessing one of my fave Dime solos, killer riffage on War Nerve and 13 Steps especially, and an inhuman vocal performance from Anselmo. Can't believe how underrated this disc is. Total 5 star album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Proper Music, 12 Feb 2004
This review is from: The Great Southern Trendkill (Audio CD)
When i first heard this album i thought that it was crazy, far to heavy and it just didnt make sense to me. then i listened to it a couple of months later and picked out some of the music in it and it has the most outstanding guitar playing in it. Each song has its own little bit which for me is outstanding, the main guitar solo in Floods is just brilliant. If you like heavy music then, this will give you a kick up the backside and make you love it. From the beginning to end this has some huge contrasts in styles. I think this album shows the true class of what i think is possibly the best band ever along with metallica. I think that this album works so well that I have to listen to it nearly eveyday. Just outstanding, no other word for it. If you like Pantera for what they really are then buy this album it shows true class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A overlooked album, but descent all the same., 5 Oct 2009
By 
G. RICE (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Great Southern Trendkill (Audio CD)
The Great Southern Trendkill is arguably Pantera's most extreme and overlooked album, in a number of ways & for a number of different reasons. Several of the opening tracks feature the band at their pulverising best, in particular War Nerve, which is probably the most un-compromising song the band has ever recorded (Which, by Pantera's standards, is saying an awful lot!#, with vocalist Anselmo muti-layering his vocals to the point where he sounds almost demonic. Songs like Floods and Suicide Note Part 1 show an experimental side to the band that is rarely seen.
Guitarist Dimebag's contribution is, as ever, essential to their sound. The man is in inspired form, and shows just how broad his talent really is. For a guy who churned out some of the heaviest riffs of the 90s, Trendkill sees him at times adopt a very reserved and melodic approach. Floods features one of his finest solos, and the outtro to the track manages to be both emotive, powerful and thought provoking. This is also the only Pantera album I've ever heard that features acoustic guitar #Floods).
One of Pantera's greatest strengths as a band, is the fact that they have always stayed true to themselves and their music, which is something they highlight in the lyrics of several tracks. This album features the same no-nonsense brutality Pantera fans have come to expect, but with some insightful, bitter and contemplative moments as well, which probably reflect the state of the band at the time. The subject matter is at times, particularly morbid, and it is a very dark album. For these reasons I see it as an essential purchase for any serious Pantera fan, but new listeners should probably enjoy Vulgar Display of Power first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Great Southern Trendkill
The Great Southern Trendkill by Pantera (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews