Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars36
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£9.20+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 October 2007
What a gem of an album this is. I've had a vinyl copy for years, and although I'd updated the six studio albums and Absolutely Live to CD versions a few years ago, I'd left this one behind. Having listened to it again a few weeks ago, I have to ask myself - Why?

This is an excellent album with John Densmore, Robby Krieger and Ray Manzarek having reunited in 1978 to record backing tracks to Jim Morrison's poetry from a session in 1970. It works beautifully, and is a fitting finale to the main canon of The Doors' musical output.

Not suprisingly, I'm now the proud owner of a CD copy of the album.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2006
This is the 1978 release of music layed down by the remining members of The Doors over a poetry soundtrack recorded by Jim Morrison in 1970. For some reason when people write about The Doors this album is rarely mentioned. However, any real fan of The Doors must surely own a copy of this album. It really captures the mood of the end of the hippy period, when things were looking far more dark and menacing than they had for some years. It also is the perfect encapsulation of everything that Morrison was about. He much preferred to be thought of as a poet than a rock star. the interlacing of The Doors music over Morrison's words works phenomenally. The music reflects the poetry and the whole thing does NOT look like it was thrown together with 8 intervening years. It's a really under-rated album and worth anyone spending their money on.
11 comment|28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2013
the best of Jim Morrison. Great editing to couple up his poetry with The Doors catalogue of hits. This needs listening to to understand Morrisons gift of creating poetry that epitimised this era. Great loss.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2015
If you like The Doors, this is a must have in your collection. Being made a few years after Jim Morrison's untimely death, this is made up (mostly) of poems and stories recorded at sessions during the late 60's. The words of these poems have been very well amalgamed with the prose by adding new music written by the original members of the band. The Doors are not everyone's cup of tea but everyone should at least listen to this album to get a glimpse of what a deep character Jim Morrison must have been. He saw himself primarily as a poet and not a songwriter and we all know that poets can be troubled souls :(
Eclectic, ethereal and double meanings abound within this, and is typically Morrison. Some expletives obviously, but do not seem out of place in the context of the verse.. Fantastic production on this and some of the music shows how good the remaining members are at making a great sound. It is mostly continuous with only brief gaps between some songs and is something you should listen to in a darkened room with your eyes shut just to savour the wonderful mix of blues, soul, jazz and (surprisingly) funk and the classiness of this groundbreaking group. This record still sounds as fresh and vibrant now as it ever did RIP J.M.........
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2014
I purchased this to complete my Jim Morrison/Doors library. If you are a fan you will not be disappointed and it will give you a closer insight to a mind cut short so wastefully. Some of Morrison's poetry seems naive and deliberately constructed to impress, but there is enough naturally flowing free verse to show how his mind worked - to a point. He was a good poet, the Electric Poet, but I'm not sure he was the 'Lizard King'. Worth buying.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2004
This album always seems overlooked by Doors fans. I am not a Doors fanatic, but this album was lurking in my record collection, and from the moment I put it on the turntable and played it I was speechless. It is slightly difficult to determine which track is which, but Black Polished Chrome, Latino Chrome and Albinoni: Adagio are brilliant. I also really like the one with the 'blood in the streets, in the town of New Haven...' lyrics, which I think is Dawn's Highway. Really worth buying - I am soon going to get it on CD, my record is very scratched - and any Doors fans without it should be ashamed of themselves.
Any comments, please send to 'meddle67@hotmail.com'. Thanks, Holly.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2003
An American prayer is a collection of poems wrote by jim before he died with music by the rest of the doors.
Its such a fitting album for his sad end as he refers to his own death in the ablum many times. which contains some great work such as ghost song and bird of prey. When i first heard the album i thought it was great and i still feel that way about it everytime i listen to his calming voice and the hypnotic music of the doors.
Contains explicit language
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2014
Shaman, poet, charismatic performer...all in one. American prayer is one of my favourite pieces created by Jim. Full of magic and new perception of world. World seen with eyes of Lizard King. Pure poetry that will linger in your mind and flow in your blood. Every time i listened to American prayer I felt like going into trans that led me to different levels of darkness, deepness, wilderness. Atavistic and prime. Still so intense... Lizard King welcomes all of us to experience the taste and flavors of shadows that are inside each of us... Enjoy Feast Of Friends!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is an incredible album in many ways. It was recorded after jim had shuffled off the mortal coil. The band had no new person lined up up to replace him, not that they could, although Ian Astbury came close(I thought) on the tour that they did a decade ago. So faced with the need to get a new album out there and the need to get vocals for the project eventually led to the great idea of using tapes of Jims spoken prose and set it to music.

This setting of the spoken prose to new backing tracks cut in the studio and then editing it all into a coherent whole album works so well you would think that Jim was in the studio for the recording sessions. It is hard to believe that the mix and match was all done using a razor blade and great ears.

I had forgotten about the Lament track.....Jim must have felt it important to write an ode to his chap, a sentiment I fail to agree with. Freud might have liked it, even used for a commercial if he had been around......

I first heard it about 30 years ago and still love it. An amazing album and treat to listen to on a good hifi.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2000
The Doors have always been fantastic. I would say this is one of the best .. the lyrics are mind-boggling and really makes the adrenalin in ur veins to pump hard.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)