Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the Busta I remember
Ever since his ELE album its been pretty much downhill for the ex-LONS member. I remember hearing this album in '96, when I was relatively new to rap, and all my friends acting as though the classic 'Whoo-ha' track was the only track on the friggin' album! That is not doing this LP justice. Busta's clever twisted humour shines throughout the album, and you could tell that...
Published on 4 Sep 2003 by keysersoze81

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars bustawwh
Dinco, Milo & Charlie Brown are all great rappers, but you know that you were waiting for the next Busta verse to show up when you put on a Leaders of the New School record. He was just too crazy; slickly demolishing the beats with near O.D.B.-level hip hop heroics. But schooltime is over & L.O.N.S. now only exist in lyrical references and in filler track at the end of...
Published on 8 Jan 2008 by 77


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars bustawwh, 8 Jan 2008
This review is from: The Coming (Audio CD)
Dinco, Milo & Charlie Brown are all great rappers, but you know that you were waiting for the next Busta verse to show up when you put on a Leaders of the New School record. He was just too crazy; slickly demolishing the beats with near O.D.B.-level hip hop heroics. But schooltime is over & L.O.N.S. now only exist in lyrical references and in filler track at the end of this album. So, how does The Coming compare?

Well, it's easy to sit behind a computer & label people as "sell-outs", so that's exactly what I'm going to do.

There's just no way in hell that the Busta Rhymes of 1993 would tolerate the wackness of the hook on 'It's a Party', or the completely generic production that appears on all but a few of the tracks. There's a handful of cool boasts here & there (I recall something about an ostrich) & 'Woo Hah!!!' is just bangin', yet this isn't the Busta that I know & love; it's just painful to hear one of hip hop's most distinctive & all-out mental rappers lower himself to something so boring.

& the pussy skit is awwwwful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the Busta I remember, 4 Sep 2003
This review is from: The Coming (Audio CD)
Ever since his ELE album its been pretty much downhill for the ex-LONS member. I remember hearing this album in '96, when I was relatively new to rap, and all my friends acting as though the classic 'Whoo-ha' track was the only track on the friggin' album! That is not doing this LP justice. Busta's clever twisted humour shines throughout the album, and you could tell that after his previous failures how much he felt he had to impress. On this album Busta's wildness is only matched by ODB, and with that wildness comes uniqueness, giving Busta a sound only he could create, making people sit up and pay attention. Classic tracks like 'Whoo-ha', 'Flipmode squad meets Def Squad' and 'Abandon Ship' keep this album forever in my memory. Even tracks like 'It's a Party' are well respected by real heads, cos it was an expression of hip hop culture at the time, unlike now, where a hip hop act and R n B act are put together every 2 seconds purely for financial gain. Top album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars kick u in your F!"%in head like my name was chuck norris, 9 May 2009
By 
Dr. Nicholas Marotta (UK - bournemouth) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Coming (Audio CD)
The pure comedy and on another planet imagination of Busta's tell me a story style lyrics on this CD is what realy got me in to hip hop along with when disaster strikes. Good tunes ridiculous lyrics and Busta continuously mkin ha and ooh noises in background.
Busta has defo got his own original off the wall style far removed from any other and few have ben able to imitate his lyrical creativity, speed and timing. A classic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wicked rhyming,vocals and beats!, 18 April 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Coming (Audio CD)
Busta Rhymes has been part of my collection for the last 10 years, so I thought I'd purchase his earlier music. I believe Busta to be one of the best rappers of the present climate. His rapping style and appearance in itself amazes me. His voice reminds me of the cool rhythmic melodies of that of Tone Loc, back in THE day. This album is indeed excellent, with (as expected) good tunes, good melodic rapping. WORD TO THA BUSTA!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Coming (Audio CD)
GREAT PURCHASE
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lively hard and funky, 8 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Coming (Audio CD)
I listened to this through out my university years, favorite songs are the 'woha' one and the 'party' one. Busta put some powerful energy into this album although one of the songs is a too bit rude, but the rest are spot on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Coming
The Coming by Busta Rhymes (Audio CD - 1996)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews