Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


42 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Metallica at their finest
Wow, this CD/DVD package is probably the best piece of Metallica merchandise that’s ever been released.

Before we get into the nitty gritty, let’s look back and take stock of exactly what we’ve got here. Many years ago my pal got his hands on a very exciting box full of goodies. It had Metallica videos and CDs in it (Metallica playing live...
Published on 11 Jun. 2003 by Mr. S. J. Welton

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star
Sleeve was in poor condition, CDs very dirty, not at all pleased!
Published 6 months ago by Dorte Bendix


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

42 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Metallica at their finest, 11 Jun. 2003
By 
Mr. S. J. Welton (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wow, this CD/DVD package is probably the best piece of Metallica merchandise that’s ever been released.

Before we get into the nitty gritty, let’s look back and take stock of exactly what we’ve got here. Many years ago my pal got his hands on a very exciting box full of goodies. It had Metallica videos and CDs in it (Metallica playing live – awesome!), it had a stencil and a mag (if I recall correctly). I borrowed the videos dozens of times. This was the height of my Metallica fanaticism. Nothing was better than the Live Sh*t: Binge and Purge box set my mate had.

Now, many years later, I find that it has been released on DVD, and oh how excited I was to get it through the post! Now neatly packed in a double-CD-sized case, it’s still the Binge and Purge box-set, but brought right up-to-date. The live CDs are here in all their glory, the Mexico City gig spread over 3 CDs, there’s the stencil and Snakepit pass, but the best stuff is on the 2 DVDs. These are region 1 however I’m guessing they’ll be available on R2 as well.

DVD1 is the gig from San Diego during the tour for the Black album in the early ‘90s. It’s an enormous slog through an amazing set of tunes, but standouts include The Unforgiven (what a solo) and The Four Horsemen (Lars does his dash across the stage during this one). That’s not to say any of the others are less amazing though. How often do you get to see them play Through the Never?

Then there’s the Seattle gig from 1989, on DVD2. This is pre-Black album and in my opinion captures Metallica at their greatest. It just doesn’t get better than hearing them open with Blackened, and the version of One from this gig remains my all-time favourite ‘live performance music video’ (thank you, Headbangers Ball). Because this is a little older, it’s a little more special than the San Diego gig. Plus they look kinda funny, being a little younger.

This is a beautifully presented package, small and neat, and very nostalgic. No more fast-forwarding to a particular song, just jump straight to it via the easy navigation system. The best part of the video for me was seeing the camera pan across the crowd just before they played Battery – now I can jump straight to it without searching through the damn tape! (If you’re like me and jam along to Metallica tunes, the Seattle set is one of those gigs you can play along with all the way through – but it’s a tad difficult, especially because they played a lot faster then than they do know. That Battery riff is a tad tricky to play along with on these DVDs! Orch, the ache!).

This is vintage Metallica – miss it, and miss out big time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Metallica at their peak. Who could ask for more ?, 3 Feb. 2004
Containing as it does, 3 CDs worth of live material and 2 complete concerts on DVD for under £30, this package is excellent value for money.
Its a little unfair to compare this to 'Cunning Stunts' which was created for DVD (whereas Live Sh*t was a child of the Video age). There is a slight graininess to the footage that bears out its origins as does the 4:3 aspect ratio and absence of pro-logic sound (far less Dolby 5.1).
Technical quibbles aside, the energy and performances are what a package like this should be about and these are excellent.
The visuals are well shot and keep the action interesting without over cutting or too many fancy moves. The sound quality is also pretty good for straight stereo.
The set list over the 3 CDs offers a real best of collection from the albums up to and including the magnificent 'Black Album'.
Songs from '..and Justice for all' fair particularly well (IMO) as the production quality on that album wasn't great and early numbers ( like Four Horsemen and Seek & Destroy) benefit from the fact the bands technical prowess has improved over the years.
DVD1 contains concert footage from San Diego in 1992. It kicks off with a 20-minute Metallica mini-movie with sound bites and behind the scenes footage. It’s quite interesting, but would perhaps have been better presented as an extra.
The concert itself is a peach; starting with superb Enter Sandman ripping through Creeping Death ..I'm not going list them all, but rest assured the quality and choice of songs is superb right through to the closing sequence. Jason Newstead comes across very well as real workhorse (he never gets a rest !) and his interactions with the crowd seem genuinely warm.
DVD2 contains a concert from the previous tour promoting ‘..and Justice for All’. It’s the lesser of the two gigs (simply because the material on the black album was so outstanding) but is worth owning if only for the excellent rendition of ‘The Thing That Should Not Be’.
The sheer energy of the band is awe inspiring and their technical abilities in terms of playing and song writing are both very evident.
A band, very much at the peak of their power, playing some of the best rock songs ever written.
Who could ask for more ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MUST HAVE!, 14 July 2005
By 
Danny (Withernsea, East Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
At the risk of this phrase becoming redundant, i still have to say that this DVD/CD is a MUST HAVE for any metallica fan! Not only is it filled with hilarious moments revealing the bands true drunken personalities, is shows their musical abilty and true talent at its peak.
If you are, like me, a true metallica maniac, you will already know that no Metallica DVD/CD in existance shows their early days at its peak, with a full live performance...apart from this one!
Please please buy this box-set, i assure you, you WILL NOT REGRET IT!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most awesome box-set..., 11 Feb. 2004
By 
M. Keil (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This box-set is truly amazing! The thought of having 2 shows on DVD and another show on 3 CD's is good enough in itself, but having sat down and watched it all, it's breathtaking.
Metallica during their strongest point in their history deliver on all fronts during their black album tour (DVD disc 1 and the CD's). The show is amazing and having not seen James do a drum solo before made it all the more greater.
DVD disc 2 is back in the Justice tour and even this CD is fantastic even though it's before their fame hit the roof. Churning out numbers like 'Blackened' and 'Master of Puppets' in such a flawless performance left me gagging for more.
BRING ON ANOTHER BOX SET!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Metallica at their very best,this set will blow your mind!!, 26 Oct. 2004
This 3cd-2dvd set is mind blowing, giving 8hours of music. The 2 dvds from the set are really good, 1 from the "...and justice" tour and the other from the "black album" tour, full of some of the best metallica songs, such as "for whom the bell tolls" "master of puppets" and many more greats. The 3cds are also very enjoyable, full of great tracks. If your new to this band, then i would advise to buy cunning stunts, or to listen to the first 3 albums a bit more. If you are a big metallica fan, like myself, this is a deffinet BUY! and well worth the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amaizing, 11 Feb. 2002
This review is from: Live Sh*T-Binge & Purge - USA (3 CD set plus NTSC format video) (Audio CD)
I've been looking for this box set for ages and always thought it has been a bit pricey, but it is worth every penny that you will pay for it. Everything that is done on this CD is perfect, the singing, the guitars and the humour that can come from nobody else but Metallica. Buy this box-set, it is will fufill your Metallica collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Monumentally Superb, 17 Dec. 2003
This compilation is, without doubt, huge - spanning 3 full 2-3 hour shows from the years 1989-93, in support of both the ...and Justice for All record and the Black Album, which has the potential to put anyone other than die-hard fans off.
This is unfortunate, because all three concerts relayed here are without doubt, incredible. To fellow Metallica fans, this will come as no surprise, however, it is the way in which the concerts are recorded that is most impressive. Unlike the 'Cunning Stunts' DVD of 1996, sycronisation between picture and audio is perfect - something which when not done perfectly can be rather detremental (particularly during James's opening riff of 'Master of Puppets'). Aditionally, the sound quality could not be much better; i urge anyone to play this set on a high-spec sound system and listen to the thunderous tones of Lars Ulrich's drums - particuarly the famous 'double-kick' juring the Justice Medley and 'One' (One wishes when producing the new album that Bob Rock would have listened to this recording).
Of course, the set is not without its bad points. This by no means reflects all of Metallica's work and cannot be considered a 'greatest hits' (perhaps the orchestra collaberation in 'S&M' should be considered if that is desired), and the 1989 gig in Seattle lacks somewhat in picture quality in comparision to more modern recordings.
However, such criticisms appear irrelevent when the sheer brilliance of this set is considered - buy it right now, or I'll 'dub thee unforgiven' :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Big Box, 25 Jan. 2003
This review is from: Live Sh*T-Binge & Purge - USA (3 CD set plus NTSC format video) (Audio CD)
After the release of the legendary 'Black' Album, Metallica went on a long tour that kept them on the road for more than two years and took the all over the world. This box set (as well as being a handy stop gap) commemorates this tour. It features a triple CD album of their show in Mexico City from 1993, a double video of a show in San Diego from 1992 and a single video of a show from the "And Justice For All" tour, back in 1989. Accomanying this is a book, featuring plenty of photos and random bits of paper such as riders, hotel bills and so on.
Firstly, the CDs. The setlist is as expected, though one can't help feel that perhaps an 18 minute version of "Seek & Destroy" is unnecessary and that the discs could have been filled with more material from the Justice album, and the absence of "The Thing That Should Not Be" will disappoint some. In addition, this was also recorded two years after the Black Album, and Hetfield's voice has started to lose that throaty, gravelly sound that it so effective on songs like "Creeping Death" and "Master Of Puppets" (Just listen to the change in his vocal style on "Load"). However, despite this, and despite the fact that in production terms, S&M is a better live album, this is the definitive Metallica live album.
Secondly, the videos. They are NTSC, so make sure you've got a video player that can play them. Also note that a DVD version of the set coming out soon which some might prefer. The double video is much the same as the CDs in every way, except it features a brief video introduction about the band, most of which is taken from "A Year And A Half In The Life Of" videos. The earlier video however is, in my opinion, a gem. Because it was recorded before the black album, the setlist features songs that just don't get played post-1991. It includes the only offical live version of "Blackened", a full, uncut version of "Master Of Puppets" and fantastic versions of "Fade To Black" and "One". Hetfield's voice is in great shape and the band sound fantastic.
Overall, this is a very expensive live album, but given you get 3 videos, 3 CDs and a book, it works out ok. The box itself also looks great on my shelf. Not for the casual fan, but still recommended - especially is you didn't like S&M and didn't like the setlist on "Cunning Stunts".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars FINALLY !!!, 4 April 2003
By A Customer
It's done! One of the most extraordinary CD/video packages ever released is now presented in an up-to-date format.
An old-fashioned double CD case hosts the original three audio CDs and on two DVDs the formerly three video tapes are presented.
Although the recordings of the videos are quite dated, the quality is still good. The only thing missing is the hardprint of
the book that was part of the original box-set. It's presented in digital form, but you cannot compare this to it's original.
But still it's a must-have for everybody who likes Metallica - despite of your thoughts concerning Metallica's history after the black album.
It will remain a part of music history for ever !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply outstanding, 25 Jan. 2004
By 
T. Treasure "Tazzdude" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm Going to use this review to point out a few things, if you already own 'S&M' or 'cunning stunts' DO NOT GET PUT OFF, this is an absolutely brilliant set of recordings and showcases the band at their highpoint. their is only one minor niggle I have and that is on some songs (on the DVD's) their does tend to be a bit of over editing the camera chops around to quickly at times and you may lose sight of the band for quite a while in favour of over exciteable yanky fans. That said the audio and video are tied perfectly and it doesnt look wierdly dubbed (like on the aformentioned 'cunning stunts') In response to another review I must defend the inclusion of the interactive reproduction of the original colour booklet, If you view it using your DVD drive on a PC then it is brilliant, sharp, easy to read and genuinely interesting. Another great thing about this set is the inclusion of the original scary guy stencil and replica backstage pass stiker (this is so cool i'm thinking of getting it laminated- I certainly would never want to waste it by sticking it to anything) at the beggining of each DVD their is also a very interesting mini documentary(Disk 1) and a timeline(Disk2). In conclusion this is worth every penny and is great for fans or as an introduction to the Godlike Metal of METALLICA. TT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews