Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Captivating, Innovative, Mesmerising, Fantastic and LIVE, 11 May 2000
By 
Mr. Russell Nicol (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Show (Audio CD)
Probably one of my favourite Cure albums, it has some of their best music within an amazing atmosphere that lets you relive past Cure concerts, as if you were there again. My favourites have to be Lullaby, Fascination Street & Just like Heaven. I also have the Video-CD of this compilation, which, actually has another FOUR tracks, including one of my all-time-favourites, Forest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazon review is hopelessly misguided, 25 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Show (Audio CD)
This is an album for the fans, clearly. And anyone who expects them to play an 18yr old cheesy hit like lovecats clearly doesn't know the first thing about them. this album captures them at their best period, with their best line-up, and with the exception of a few dodgy tracks (high and friday i'm in love being a bit meagre live), it's a riveting experience for those that know and like the songs. those that don't can find the ricky martin album in the next aisle... :P
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Live and louche, 6 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Show (Audio CD)
If you like Cure you'll love this! Good live atmosphere and some hits interspersed with less well known material. Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Cure's best concert captured in CD!, 13 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Show (Audio CD)
I've been a Cure fan since the 80s, and really loved most of their albums, especially 'Wish'. This album captures most of the concert's best performances (excluding the encore where they played Boy's don't cry, To wish impossible things, etc - as seen in VHS version)...basically a tour for the Wish album.

I wanted a DVD but not sure if they have released it yet. Well, this is the next best thing...very atmospheric, very live sounding and I consider the versions of 'Pictures of You' and 'From the Edge of the Deep Green Sea' to be the best ever captured digitally.

I've seen the Cure live in Singapore a few years back and I must say that they are fantastic playing live.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Always a pleasure, 10 Jan 2010
By 
Paula P. Plumstead "chilly feet" (Tiverton, Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Show (Audio CD)
I love The Cure. There music never disappoints. Show is probably an album for someone who already knows and loves their music. I am always amazed at the quality of their live performances. Having been to only one live concert unfortunately I found this album evoked the atmosphere wonderfully.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stands the test of time - a great showcase, 17 Nov 2002
By 
This review is from: Show (Audio CD)
If you've been to a Cure concert, you will know that they are a stunning live band. Capturing the atmosphere and the adrenalin of their shows on CD is well-nigh impossible, but nonetheless "Show" is an appealing reminder to those who have been there, and a damn good taster for those who haven't. Many of the songs also sound better than the studio versions on the recent "Greatest Hits" collection, as if you needed an extra reason to buy this.
The Cure's repertoire ranges from pop gems to dark, less accessible tracks appreciated mostly by confirmed fans, and while "Paris" (another live album released around the same time) concentrates on the latter, "Show" has enough of the pop to give it a wider appeal. It also came at a time when most of the band's best live tracks had already been written: while in my view "Bloodflowers" is their best studio album, none of its tracks or those on "Wild Mood Swings" are concert highlights.
The only problem with this is that "Show" will delight neither die-hard fans, who will criticize the inclusion of too many poppy tracks and mourn the absence of "A Forest" and "Play For Today", nor "casual" listeners who, like the Amazon reviewer, mourn the absence of "The Lovecats" and "Close To Me" and question the inclusion of less accessible tracks. All I can say is that Cure music is neither Lovecats nor Forest: it is both, and everything inbetween, and Show does a pretty good job of mixing these extremes and giving a taste of the full Cure range.
So, what is in this "showcase"? There are plenty of tracks from their most recent (at the time) studio album, "Wish". The pop tracks "High", "Friday I'm In Love" and "Doing The Unstuck" are perfectly good, yet quite forgettable compared to strong versions of pop classics "Just Like Heaven", "Inbetween Days" and "Lullaby". However, "Wish" is not all pop: the slow despairing "Trust" makes a welcome appearance, and the inclusion of "From The Edge Of The Deep Green Sea" - still a high point of any Cure gig - makes Show worth it for the sheer power of that one track alone.
Fans of the more intense Cure style will appreciate a loud and rocking "Fascination Street", while two more Wish tracks, "Open" and "End", provide some power at both ends of the album. "Never Enough" is a great version - I don't like the single version much, but this starts with a great guitar intro and does a good job of lightening the tone after "Deep Green Sea". If there's one song that should unite all fans in appreciation, though, it has to be a near-perfect rendition of "Pictures Of You", which is the high point of the first CD.
That leaves a few tracks which, while better than the studio versions, don't quite reach the heights of the rest: "A Night Like This", "Let's Go To Bed" and "The Walk". Add these to "High", "Friday I'm In Love" and "Doing The Unstuck" and for me you have six weaker tracks - none however needs skipping. You can't have an album full of masterpieces, just like you can't have an action movie with explosions in every scene: every song contributes to the whole, and the high points are all the better for the atmosphere-building between them.
How can Cure come up with a 2-CD live album without concert classics like "A Forest", "Killing An Arab", "Play For Today", "Shiver and Shake" and hits like "Close To Me", "Boys Don't Cry", "Lovesong" and (yes) "Lovecats"? Simply because they have such a huge repertoire, and so much of it is good live. If you are a big fan, buy "Show" and "Paris"; otherwise just get "Show" and play it loud. If you're not a fan, then maybe, like me, you'll listen to "Show" and learn to like the band, and then buy other Cure albums.
Perhaps one day Bob and the boys will release a new live CD - the 2002 Hyde Park concert for example? - but until then, nearly ten years on, "Show" is the best reminder I can get of their concert power, and remains a firm favourite. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just My Review....., 22 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Show Live (Audio CD)
Concentrating on their recent, pop-oriented material, Show is a good, if unspectacular, representation of the Cure in concert. Only devoted fans need to own this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Album, 19 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Show (Audio CD)
I bought this after hearing a friends copy. This is a great record of the Cure at the peak of their career , have listened to it about 10 times in the last few weeks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, 8 Jan 2006
This review is from: Show (Audio CD)
Capturing a performance in Michigan, during the American leg of The Cure’s 1992 “Wish” tour, this record’s upfront, confessional sound puts you right in the front row. Robert Smith (bass/lead vocalist) is on top voice, pouring the pain of unrequited love into Pictures of You and battering Fascination Street into life with bullying bass lines. Perry Bamonte (lead guitarist) is also on good form with Never Enough’s funky intro and The Love Cats’ frenetic fretwork.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Show Live
Show Live by The Cure (Audio CD - 1993)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews