Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb collection from one of the finest Rock bands ever
If good ol' down home Rock 'N' Roll, bar room style with a blend of Blues and Country is your thing, then this is the CD your looking for. A great collection spanning the career of The Georgia Satellites when Dan Baird was still there kicking it up. "Keep Yor Hands To Yourself", "Battleship Chains" and "Hippy Hippy Shake" represent the Hits,...
Published on 4 Sep 2001

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Let It Rock - Says It All
Imagine the Faces meet John Fogerty for a drink fueled set, and thats what you get with this best of. The band even cover Fogerty's Almost Saturday Night with a seamless merge into Rockin' All Over The World to finish the track.
Let It Rock does just what it says, it Rocks. Don't expect anything expansive or experimental, from almost start to finish you are treated...
Published on 4 July 2009 by Sergeant Fury


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb collection from one of the finest Rock bands ever, 4 Sep 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Let It Rock: the Best of Georgia Satellites (Audio CD)
If good ol' down home Rock 'N' Roll, bar room style with a blend of Blues and Country is your thing, then this is the CD your looking for. A great collection spanning the career of The Georgia Satellites when Dan Baird was still there kicking it up. "Keep Yor Hands To Yourself", "Battleship Chains" and "Hippy Hippy Shake" represent the Hits, but Chuck Berry's "Let It Rock" shows this band at it's best, and for that track it's worth the price alone. Crack open the Beer, invite your friends round and Rock the House, it doesn't get much better than this....except for perhaps Dan Baird's "Love songs For The Hearing Inmpaired", what the Hell...buy em' both.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Short lived group knew how to rock'n'roll, 10 Jan 2004
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Let It Rock: the Best of Georgia Satellites (Audio CD)
Rock'n'roll had its heyday in the fifties but the combination of simple music and high energy often resurfaces in an updated form. The Georgia Satellites exemplified everything that a great rock'n'roll band should be, even if their music was updated for the eighties.
The group only recorded three albums although various extra tracks were also recorded. The result was one big hit, Keep your hands to yourself, and two lesser hits, Battleship chains and Hippy hippy shake (a cover of a song made famous in the sixties by the Swinging blue jeans, a Liverpool group).
They wrote most of their own material but they recorded several covers. Apart from Hippy hippy shake, this collection also includes Don't pass me by (Ringo Starr), a live version of Let it rock (Chuck Berry) and Another Saturday night (John Fogerty) – this track also includes a brief piece of Rocking all over the world (another John Fogerty song) at the end.
If you are looking for high energy rock music, this is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Let It Rock - Says It All, 4 July 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Let It Rock: the Best of Georgia Satellites (Audio CD)
Imagine the Faces meet John Fogerty for a drink fueled set, and thats what you get with this best of. The band even cover Fogerty's Almost Saturday Night with a seamless merge into Rockin' All Over The World to finish the track.
Let It Rock does just what it says, it Rocks. Don't expect anything expansive or experimental, from almost start to finish you are treated to thumping rock with a hint of boogie piano thrown in to give that bar-room feel. The only exception being the last track - Another Chance, with it's acoustic Faces influence. Stand out tracks for me are Keep Your Hands To Yourself and Battleship Chains, but there are no real 'duds'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Let It Rock: the Best of Georgia Satellites on CD, 1 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Let It Rock: the Best of Georgia Satellites (Audio CD)
Fantastic album, real blues / rock & roll nostalgia. Let It Rock: the Best of Georgia Satellites, forgot all about these boys. Not to be missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rockin' Music, 24 Aug 2010
By 
C. Robertson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Let It Rock: the Best of Georgia Satellites (Audio CD)
I hadn't really listened to any of their music before, but on hearing this greatest hits cd, I realised what I had been missing.With the exception of the last song, which is acoustic,the other songs are really rocking! The music is good old fashioned rock music, with lyrics that make sense, and good driving beats with lead guitar breaks.I am pleased to add The Georgia Satellites to my music collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What rock 'n roll!!, 2 Sep 2005
By 
R. N. Wilson "robinwilson" (Audlem, Cheshire,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Let It Rock: the Best of Georgia Satellites (Audio CD)
I was on a 'plane back from Canada, and a track "Keep your hands to yourself" by Georgia Satellites was on the music offered. I had never heard of the group before,being rooted firmly in 60's music, but thought the track was brilliant. I had to wait 45 minutes for it to come round again, and ditto! I bought this CD when we got home, and it has hardly left my machine since then!
If you like out and out rock 'n roll, with a touch of blues, buy this - fabulous!
Not so sure about the cover versions, though, but the rest of the CD is well worth getting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Received on time., 17 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Let It Rock: the Best of Georgia Satellites (Audio CD)
A well received album by my son who is interested in this music,and hopefully will enjoy listening to it many times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rocking CD, 12 Dec 2013
This review is from: Let It Rock: the Best of Georgia Satellites (Audio CD)
I had not heard of this band until one of there tracks was played on radio. I purchased this CD and have played if loads of times now . They are a great sounding band , a bit like AC/DC and chuck berry .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 11 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Let It Rock: the Best of Georgia Satellites (Audio CD)
Had not heard the Georgia Satellites for years and this is a good all round mix of their music and style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Georgia satellites, 29 July 2013
This review is from: Let It Rock: the Best of Georgia Satellites (Audio CD)
I had forgot just how good these guys are
They are a top rock group and deserve a lot more credit than they get
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Let It Rock: the Best of Georgia Satellites
Let It Rock: the Best of Georgia Satellites by Georgia Satellites (Audio CD - 1993)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews