Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
9
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£10.26+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 January 2000
there isn't a single tune that i dislike - if this doesn't lift your spirits and set you humming or dancing then you're on the way out!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2004
This Brasileiro album is Sergio at his best. He is fantastic on this album and the chilling lyrics of his singers are flawless. Just click add to trolley and you will be in heaven.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2008
I cannot add any more superlatives to the ones that have already been given to this Grammy-winning album. It is a release that never falters; every cut is worthy of inclusion.

Being a forty-year fan of Sergio Mendes has given me a slightly bent bias toward him and everything that he has done. The current crop of popular Latin artists needs to give credit to this trailblazer and master musician.

I'm glad that new musicians, like Will.i.am are discovering Mendes's sound and bringing him again to the masses.
11 comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2011
Exposed to his original A&M albums from the 60s, Sergio became a new hero for the writer, amongst many others of popular music. His A&M LPs of the 60s are all classics, included in most comipilations: 'best of.........', '.very best of....', or 'greatest hits...' etc etc.
However, with this all said, the curious reader of this review or new candidates of Sergio Mendes& Brazil 66, 77, 88 etc music would be best advised to purchase this fantasitic album.

It is likely, that this album, or music from this album will, be again, ignored when it comes to compiling Sergio Mendes compilations.
Subsequently, it is predicted that one day that this album will become deleted, and will command prices far higher than his more traditional A&M albums.

Besides becoming a classic one day, the album is absolutely fantastic, it's music is so uplifting, Brazilian, tropical and really is a masterpiece. I have during my life had all of Sergio Mendes A&M albums or his mid 70s albums, but this album 'Brasilerio' is simply much better. Yes, his previous 60s stuff are classics, but this album, is better, and one day will receive the credit it deserves.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2011
I bought this cd:Brasilero,by Sergio Mendes,for a big fan of Sergio,thinking that it would be nice Latin music & a bit different to The Essential by Sergio,but unfortunately,it turned out to be totally different to all that Sergio had done before this.I suppose he did give a hint that it might be different,when he said that he had now done something he wanted to do for a while,which was to delve deeply into real Brazil music,which turned out to be very unlistenable to the fan I bought it for,& for myself.Instead of his easy listening,simple melodies,this cd was more raw Percussion & probably very clever,as Sergio took a lot of pains over this Album,which obviously appealed to his tastes,enough to market it,but not for us.Dont be put of by my comments,but I would advice Sergio fans of old,to try & listen to a track or two,on the MP3 track list,before buying.This cd would probably appeal to more advanced listeners,like maybe Musicians or Percussionists.Good luck,you may like it,we did'nt.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2012
I first heard Sergio with Brasil 66 when that first album was first issued. I loved the band and have everything he issued subsequently. Some were good, some were distinctly average. This album was a trip back to his Brazilian roots and I loved every single note of it.

His subsequent albums with will.i.am were OK but this album was simply his defining album.

I'd love him to go back to Brazil and make another classic album like this album was.

Thanks Sergio for giving an old man a lot of musical pleasure.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2014
Absolutely love this CD! The music is brilliant, fabulous drums and melodies.

Good condition and at a great price too!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2014
The opening track " Fanfarra " has the MOST hypnotic rythmn. Like latin beat? then you'll love this album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2015
Wife loves this.. Recommended
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)