Customer Reviews


98 Reviews
5 star:
 (79)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless, captivating, and utterly beautiful.
In May this year I worked out that I must now have listened to this album over 10,000 times since I first heard it in 1989. And yet the gently persistent windchimes that introduce this album still make my hair stand on end and as they crash into the wall of sound that is Plainsong, I feel the same thrill I did the first time around. Here at last was the piece of...
Published on 31 Aug 2000

versus
19 of 24 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The sound has been damaged, not improved
It always grates on me when all a person has to do is see the word "remastered" and they immediately spew out the blind praise that it "sounds amazing". In most cases, that's a very incorrect statement. The two recent Duran Duran reissues are some of the worst I've heard, (and notice the difference between reviews of those CD's on Amazon's UK site compared to here)...
Published on 14 July 2010 by Scott Davies


‹ Previous | 1 2 310 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful gem......, 28 May 2010
I've never bought a Cure album before (apart from the greatest hits collection) & was curious to know what a complete body of work by the band would be like.
I ordered this after reading the excellent reviews (well, most of them are excellent!) & I was not disappointed. What a great intro for me to get into The Cure's back catalogue - this album is great! Stand out tracks for me already are Prayers for Rain, The Same Deep Water as You & Disintegration - fabulous!
I will be checking out further releases now to increase my Cure collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the Cure at their very best?, 17 Jun 2007
By 
K. K. Jakubczyk "Sofa King" (Subversive Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Disintegration (Audio CD)
Like many of the records I've reviewed on Amazon, I remember going to buy this on the day of it's release, which was way back in 1989. It was a very warm summer's day and I tramped around Bristol eventually picking up this record and Depeche Mode's "101". Upon getting home (after work - it was a week day!) I stuck "Disintegration" on the hi-fi and fell asleep.

Now I've been listening to this album (on and off) ever since and even during the years when I disowned the Cure I would still place this album within my all time top ten. None of their other recordings (before or since) can match the consistency of "Disintegration" - there is real quality throughout.

This high level of consistency makes it difficult to pick out individual tracks but out and out favourites have always been 'Same deep water', the title track, 'Homesick' and 'Untitled'.

If you're looking to buy your first Cure album I'd probably point you elsewhere ("Staring at the sea" or "Head on the door") but this remains their high watermark.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just My Review....., 22 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Disintegration (Audio CD)
Expanding the latent arena-rock sensibilities that peppered Kiss Me, Kiss Me, Kiss Me by slowing them down and stretching them to the breaking point, the Cure reached the peak of their popularity with the crawling, darkly seductive Disintegration. It's a hypnotic, mesmerizing record, comprised nearly entirely of epics like the soaring, icy "Pictures of You." The handful of pop songs, like the concise and utterly charming "Love Song," don't alleviate the doomy atmosphere. The Cure's gloomy soundscapes have rarely sounded so alluring, however, and the songs ¡X from the pulsating, ominous "Fascination Street" to the eerie, string-laced "Lullaby" ¡X have rarely been so well-constructed and memorable. It's fitting that Disintegration was their commercial breakthrough, since, in many ways, the album in the culmination of all the musical directions the Cure were pursuing over the course of the '80s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best cure Album by a country mile!, 2 May 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Disintegration (Audio CD)
In the late 70s/early 80s I had been into Joy Division et al in a big way and subsequently found The Cure to be a perfect augmentation to my playlist. Faith and Pornography were my faves; Kiss Me and Head were great LPs too but, when Disintegration came out I was knocked sideways!

There's no need to add anything to the many positive reviews already posted here, except to say this album is quite simply the best thing they have ever done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Flawless, 29 April 2007
This review is from: Disintegration (Audio CD)
I have only become a fan of The Cure within the last year, and while many would feel that doesn't qualify me to tell you what a decent Cure album is I sincerely disagree. Disintegration was the first Cure album I purchased and each song only made me adore the band more. My favourites are Plainsong (a brilliantly atmospheric introduction into the album), Disintegration, Pictures of You, Lullaby and the utterly brillaint Fascination Street.

I wouldn't be able to offer a low point on the album as I am in such a debt to it for opening up the world of The Cure to me, where by I could move backward to the even more melancholy Faith or forward to the dizzying light hearted sound of Wish.

An incredible album for anyone, from first-time Cure fan to someone rediscovering the genius that is Disintegration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another valuable addition for all you incurables out there.........., 16 Jun 2010
By 
Mr. S. J. Riley (CITY MANCHESTER ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ok so if you're into the Cure, you were always going to add this to the collection. However I have found other groups are keen to fleece the fans by making one or two subtle changes to material you already have umpteen times, and stung you for plenty of money in the process. Not so with the Cure, this stands up along side the previous Deluxe Releases, and at the price I paid via Amazon, represents even better value than ever before.
The Album and Entreat are of course familiar to most of us, but the real treat for me was a little gem hidden amongst the 20 demos and outakes also included here in a 3 disc set (which also has the tastefully done plastic packaging and extended sleeve notes with unseen pics).
The gem I refer to is titled Pirate Ships, a solo effort by Lancashire's finest, Mr.R.Smith.
The track simply blew me away, had it made the album and a single I'm sure it would have been another classic. I played it to the wife, who despite not seeing them since the 80's, still likes to listen to them, and she was in full agreement - The best unheard Cure track we've certainly come across. Buy it while you can, there is something for everyone on these three discs. Enjoy!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The last great Cure album, 19 April 2009
This review is from: Disintegration (Audio CD)
This was probably the last great cure albums. It is moody and dark but most of all it is honest. Smith was always best when he was vulnerable, honest and just a little cynical. Unfortunately, the Cure made so much money after this album that they forgot about honesty and cynicism.

Disintegration though is simply a must have album, full of cries of desperation and the real simplicity of love. Take my advice and buy this one, you won't regret it. Shame that the same can't be said of the Cure albums post Disintegration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Devastating, flawless, 23 Jan 2007
By 
Pingu (Providence, RI USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Disintegration (Audio CD)
Atmospheric and haunting, Disintegration is a masterpiece. Building around the listener's angst, loneliness, sense of loss and sorrow, it deepens in the imagination granting the quiet, devastating moments we all bear a beauty and poetry that real life never grants. Though the album is such a recklessly epic masterpiece it is never alienating; the songs draw you in and envelop you. Robert Smith never out-did this album, but then again, who can blame him?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Twilight Garden!!!!, 9 Dec 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Disintegration (Audio CD)
WOW What a masterpiece!!!!!!! A true dark late 80's feel. Everytime i put it on it puts me in Dark Ethereal state, all of the beautiful songs just completely flows thru. 2 capture its best listening glory iz 2 listen 2 this album on ur walkmen, walking the streets in freezing winter when the sky is all sorts of colours like blues and reds. Recommended for every dark wave fans out there!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Genuine Masterpiece....., 17 Nov 2009
By 
Mr. S. Wood "simonwood27" (london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Disintegration (Audio CD)
There are not enough words to express just how great this album is..from beginning to end, every song fits and compliments the overall feel and beauty of this magnificant opus...I could write a lengthy review/analysis and select the best songs, but what would be the point when every song has been carefully crafted and selected...

The Cure, one of the most underated of all british bands in the past 30 years..Robert Smith, one of britains most talented songwriters/lyricists etc..of all time...do yourself a favour, get hold of this album, place it in your cd player, dim the lights, pour a glass of red wine and get comfy..this album will take you on a journey and for an hour you can lose yourself in something dark and beautiful, it will take hold of your hand and never let go...

..this is an album I have played again and again over the past 20+ years, and it still gets better with repeated listening..go on and lose yourself, you won't regret it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 310 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Disintegration [CASSETTE]
Disintegration [CASSETTE] by The Cure (Audio Cassette - 1989)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews