Customer Reviews


129 Reviews
5 star:
 (102)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic.
It's not often that you hear an artist quite as unique as Tracy Chapman. The soothing voice mixed with the very topical issues works perfectly. This is typified in "Behind the Wall" - a soothing acapella song about domesic abuse. "Baby can I hold you" was so cruelly ripped off by Boyzone, that it emerges as one of the best tracks on this LP...
Published on 3 July 2001

versus
1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The quality of the download is terrible.
I really like the album but the download quality is a terrible as the songs jump when I am listening to it. What is the cause of this?
Published 10 months ago by Antonio Abreu


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic., 3 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Tracy Chapman (Audio CD)
It's not often that you hear an artist quite as unique as Tracy Chapman. The soothing voice mixed with the very topical issues works perfectly. This is typified in "Behind the Wall" - a soothing acapella song about domesic abuse. "Baby can I hold you" was so cruelly ripped off by Boyzone, that it emerges as one of the best tracks on this LP. "Across the Lines" is a poignant testament to race violence, and "Why?" is simply beautiful. It's an album worth having - if only for the uplifting "Talkin' bout a revolution".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 13 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Tracy Chapman (Audio CD)
Put simply, Tracy Chapman is the most unsung hero of soul music in history. Forget the likes of Dido, Chapman did emotive music best. Much of the album is melancholy and at times shocking (the highly effective "Behind The Wall" for example). "Fast Car" has an instantly memorable acoustic lilt and for a time in the late 80s Chapman was hot property. Sadly she faded into relative obscurity. This debut album from 1988 was well ahead of its time; if anyone remembers the mid to late 80s there was an incredible amount of dross being churned out. This is excellent, and one of those albums that anyone could listen to and love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An album to be remembered, 28 Dec 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Tracy Chapman (Audio CD)
This album is excellent. Not just because Tracey Chapman has one of the most unique voices of her generation or because her songs are wonderfully created but because unlike the mainstream music of this generation they all tell stories about things that really matter. The music is lilting and it's impossible to refrain from singing along but more than that they stay in your mind and challenge with their themes, more powerful than the Westlife's of today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars & a half..., 16 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Tracy Chapman (Audio CD)
I owe owning this album to Spice Girl Melanie B, who, on a local radio show, played Fast Car, saying it was her favourite song. On hearing it, I bought the album. *TALKIN' BOUT A REVOLUTION opens the album in fine style; organs, guitars, impeccable vocals all make the track, but it's timeless lyrics propel this track into the league of 'standout track.' *FAST CAR is another standout - its simple instrumentation over which Tracy laments her tragic life makes this a classic. *ACROSS THE LINES deals with racism intelligently and fairly. One of the most evocative tracks on the album. *BEHIND THE WALL - a chilling, atmospheric acapella discussing domestic violence. *BABY CAN I HOLD YOU, which Boyzone covered in 1997, is another melodic lament of love, like Fast Car. *MOUNTAINS O' THINGS is one of the more different tracks on the CD - afro-caribbean instrumentation backs this story of materialism. *SHE'S GOT HER TICKET is the only song that blens both reggae and country influences. Funnily, its hook is the least appealing part of the song. *WHY? is possibly the weakest track on Tracy Chapman's debut, melodically at least, as it does deal with some important social issues. *FOR MY LOVER is another standout. A killer chorus, verse, melody and story make this track. *IF NOT NOW... sees Tracy change her mood from the previous two tracks, another love lament, which, again, has a stronger verse than chorus. *FOR YOU is a perfect album closer backed solely by an acoustic guitar. This album is full of quality music and deserves to be as highly regarded as many other albums of the time, but unfortunately, is criminally under-rated
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Fantastic, 25 Sep 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Tracy Chapman (Audio CD)
This album is among the best i have ever heard. From the easy listening introduction of ' Talkin bout a revolution ' to the peaceful and soothing 'if not now ' and 'for you', it really takes your breath away. A realy soothing and easy listening album. Tracy Chapman is one of my favourite female artists of all time with a strong character to her voice. Recommended to anyone, well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Once this is in my player it stays for a long time, 15 Nov 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Tracy Chapman (Audio CD)
This is obviously an older cd that most people have probably heard most of the songs from. There are some wonderful songs on this cd that did quite well for Tracy Chapman - Fast Car and Baby Can I Hold You are my two favorite songs here. These songs can be a bit depressing as the lyrics are true life and often have consistent themes of love lost or poor circumstances so it is probably not the one to listen to if you are in a bit of a funk. However, if you just want some great songs and lyrics this is worth a second listen. Every now and then, this cd makes it back to my stereo and there it sits for a few days before it goes back in its case. Tracy has such a distinct voice and this cd reminds you why you liked her the first time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A 5 star performance :0), 10 Aug 2000
This review is from: Tracy Chapman (Audio CD)
A saw Tracy for the first time on "Live Aid" on TV and she just blew me away ! She was one of the most outstanding artist's on that memorable day with an originality and style that is captured perfectly on this album. Buy it now, sit down, relax,and listen, and be transported by her simplistic lyrics and outstanding vocals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unique, 7 April 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Tracy Chapman (Audio CD)
Whether you like Tracy Chapman's music or not, it is unique, you do not hear anything else like it.
She has a very special way of singing. Her extreme voice underlines her strongly political lyrics in an emotional, but in no way exaggerated, way.
The best tracks are the superhit »Fast Car« and »For My Lover«. The most different song is the afro-reggae-inspired »Mountains O'Things«. Most of the songs are very short.
An interesting collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a must have!!, 22 Jan 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Tracy Chapman (Audio CD)
I think this is one of the most amazing records I have ever heard. I knew the songs for years but really took an interest after listening to it whilst travelling around South Africa. The lyrics seemed to compell me to keep listening especially 'Behind the wall'. This song said so many things to me that i had to keep listening to it, driving everyone else mad!!! This is a must have for your CD collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 110% Greatness, 2 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Tracy Chapman (Audio CD)
This album, I first listened to this album when my dad used to play it. This is probably her best album I have heard. Fast Car is probably the best song on the album with her Voice goes well with the instruments. Baby Can I hold U, is probably one of the best Love type song you will ever her, and this song was excellently done when i when to see Tracy Chapman in concert
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tracy Chapman
Tracy Chapman by Tracy Chapman (Audio CD - 1988)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews