Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Hits pressed in "Gold"
Just like any of the "Gold" series of C.D.'s by "DCC" compact classics this version of "The Cars greatest Hits" is vastly superior to the original disc.

All the big hits are still here from the opening song "Just what I Needed","Good Times Roll",and "My Best Friends Girl".(the best track that "Queen" never wrote, but it sure sounds like them,using "Queens"...
Published on 15 Dec 2003 by Milt Ingarfield

versus
15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hits, but not necessarily their best songs
The Cars wrote and recorded a good number of sharp, pithy, angular pop songs in their 10+ year career. Some of them are included here, but many are not. In their place we get the Record Company Man-in-suit's choice of singles from albums such as Candy-O, Panorama and Shake It Up and miss out on some gems.

There are some superb songs here; no-one could argue...
Published on 24 Aug 2006 by not_a_real_folkie


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Hits pressed in "Gold", 15 Dec 2003
By 
Milt Ingarfield "milt_fm" (Arbroath, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Just like any of the "Gold" series of C.D.'s by "DCC" compact classics this version of "The Cars greatest Hits" is vastly superior to the original disc.

All the big hits are still here from the opening song "Just what I Needed","Good Times Roll",and "My Best Friends Girl".(the best track that "Queen" never wrote, but it sure sounds like them,using "Queens" original producer helps,"Roy Thomas Baker" giving the song his unmistakeable touch)

The original released by "Electra" in 1985, which this release recreates faithfully, with the same 12 tracks from the band's first 4 albums and 1 cut unavailable on album("Tonight She comes")are still the tracks on the album as before.

The difference being the superior glossy card used for the sleeve notes and the disc itself being pressed in 24 karat "gold".

Like all the albums that "DCC" releases in this form the re-mastering is done using the original 2 track masters of the album, and then a custom made vacuum tube mastering system for the transfer of data, this allows the process to happen without further sonic influence.
Now what you hear are the tracks as the band and their producer wanted you to hear them and nothing else.

The use of this superior mastering process and the laser to etch the glass mould ( that is destroyed after 1 manufacturing run) gives the listener an experience that no other disc can give, with it's warmer sound that gives you that "in the studio" sound.

If you come across this disc and you are a fan of "The Cars" or just an audio fan invest in this version of this album the playback of the music contained on this disc more than justifies the cost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hits, but not necessarily their best songs, 24 Aug 2006
By 
not_a_real_folkie "not_a_real_folkie" (Farnham, Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
The Cars wrote and recorded a good number of sharp, pithy, angular pop songs in their 10+ year career. Some of them are included here, but many are not. In their place we get the Record Company Man-in-suit's choice of singles from albums such as Candy-O, Panorama and Shake It Up and miss out on some gems.

There are some superb songs here; no-one could argue with a large chunk of the track selection and the choices from the debut album and "Heartbeat City" are pretty much on the money. However, I'd gladly have traded the feeble title track from Shake It Up for something like "Victim of Love" from the same album. Where are "Double Life" and "It's All I Can Do" from Candy-O when there's space for the slightly shaky single "Let's Go"? Worst crime of all: including the rinky-dinky "Touch and Go" from the 1980 LP Panorama when "Down Boys" or even "You Wear Those Eyes" would reflect the adventurous nature of that album more representatively.

So, it's very much of its time (i.e. a 1985's-eye view) of the Cars albums up to that point, and you're probably better off getting The Definitive Cars... or making your own 'Best of' from the individual albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars When they're good, they're great..., 5 Aug 2011
By 
L. J. Baylis "beel" (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Greatest Hits (MP3 Download)
...but when they're not, they really aren't. About 1/3 of this album does it for me, the rest is a bit tacky and dated, I fear. Hardcore Cars fans will probably tell me that I am missing the point :D

That said, I absolutely love the tracks which I do like, and am pleased with the purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Cars Greatest Hits, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
The well known tracks are excellent. The others, fairly average.

First class service from the vendor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Best left in the 80's, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Bought this as my wife heard a Cars track on the radio and remembered she'd really liked them back in the day. We think it should've stayed back in the day! It's not something we'll be putting on the stereo a lot in future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars slight crack in case, 20 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
bought this for my dad as he desperately wanted this album. CD is fine and he loves the songs. Only thing was the case had a crack in it which slightly spoiled the appearance of the gift when he unwrapped it, but since nothing is wrong with the CD which is the most important bit, I wasn't worried about complaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic CD, 14 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
My first experience of "The Cars" a great taster and I have since purchased more-only 4 stars given as the last track on this (my) CD suddenly goes "quieter" however on another CD the same piece is OK maybe I was unlucky with my copy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars All the classics, 26 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Has all the ones you would expect and a few more on the CD, well worth it
Good to listen to some of those oldies again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 23 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Good vibes. Timeless music which would happily sit in today's charts fantastic rifts and beats. Absolutely love it, and I am sure would give any one a feel good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Takes me back, 3 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Trip down memory lane, loved the cars and had pretty well forgoten about them so it was brill to pick this up
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Greatest Hits
Greatest Hits by The Cars (Audio CD - 1985)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews