Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What's New - a classic!, 18 Dec 2002
By 
Sean Keyes (London,, England United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: What's New [DVD AUDIO] (DVD Audio)
Initially released back in 1983, this is a wonderful re-issue on DVD-Audio format for her Platinum selling, Grammy Award winning album. Linda proves herself to be the ideal interpreter of these classic songs, lushly orchestrated by Nelson Riddle. The album was followed by two others of similar material, each critically and commercially successful. The ideal accompaniment to a quiet romantic evening by the fireside with a loved one.
Additional features include several enhanced, remastered audio tracks (some only playable on latest DVD-Audio compatible players), photo gallery and the video single for the title track "What's New"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a sleeve, 16 Aug 2011
This review is from: What's New (Audio CD)
Linda Ronstadt has always been an occasional dress wearer and can be seen in the video weaing different ones.
She sings the songs straight with orchestrations by the man who worked with Frank Sinatra and Rosemary Clooney
This is the first of 3 albums with Nelson Riddle and increased her stock of covering songs from all periods.
In fact Linda Ronstadt in spite of no solo hits in the U K is the future of music.
In time everyone will do covers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What's New, Linda Ronstadt, 27 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What's New (Audio CD)
I had this in LP form back in 1986 and it got lost along the way. Have been meaning to replace it over the years. It appears to have held its price too. Nelson Riddle always brings out the best in a performer. Linda Ronstadt at her very best. Am pleased the CD is in my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ronstadt, 14 Jun 2011
By 
Michael S. Stewart "michaelstewart" (Bushey Heath, Herts. UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What's New (Audio CD)
Not this singer's usual metier but nevertheless, well done. Her diction is good, with a sweet tone and unlike many of today's pop singers, she actually sings IN TUNE ! All the time !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MUSIC, 1 Dec 2010
This review is from: What's New (Audio CD)
WHAT REALLY PLEASED ME ABOUT THE AVAILABILITY OF THIS CD WAS THAT I HAD THIS ON AN LP, AS WE NO LONGER HAVE A RECORD PLAYER(DOES ANYBODY ANYMORE?) AND REALLY LOVED THIS ALBUM, FINDING IT ON AMAZON WAS GREAT IT'S GOOD TO KNOW THAT "OLD" LP'S ARE STILL THERE FOR PURCHASE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sound Quality Stunning, 30 Jun 2009
By 
Terence Cook (Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: What's New [DVD AUDIO] (DVD Audio)
Buy this dvd audio / dolby digital the higher sound quality from dvd audio has to be experienced The production of Linda Ronstadt on this dvd is second to none
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars pure class, 5 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What's New (Audio CD)
i got this album back in the eighties, and loved it then...it just gets better. do yourself a favour and buy it, and enjoy the luxury of this class album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An album worth having., 27 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What's New (Audio CD)
Ronstadt keeps it pretty straight on this album, there is none of the stylistics of Horne, Holliday or Fitzgerald. Her voice suits the material very well. And you can't go far wrong with Nelson Riddle as arranger. If you wanted to learn a 'standard' in a relatively straight form this is a good place to start. The only slight downside for me is the 80's production values - all lush reverbs and too much compression - but of course that's just my opinion.
Conclusion: Love it to bits, and have had it on vinyl since the 80's. I hear that there is another two albums that Linda Ronstadt has made of similar material, they are definitely on my list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars For more sentimental reasons....., 17 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What's New (MP3 Download)
This album carries on with the previous one left off. Sit back and relax. A joy as always. Brava Linda
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Linda Ronstadt revisited, 9 Jan 2014
By 
S. A. Short "Hippychick" (Bristol) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What's New (Audio CD)
This is a replacement for an LP I had which I love! A really laid back album of old songs. Linda has a beautiful voice which suits the tracks on this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

What's New
What's New by Linda Ronstadt (Audio CD - 1984)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews