Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The key release in the Kraftwerk "Catalogue" remasters series...
...and not just because it's my favourite Kraftwerk LP. But largely because the previous CD transfers were absolutely rotten. A fact which seems to have escaped most people.

"Computer World" is the only Kraftwerk release, in my view, which DEMANDS a re-master. The only one for which my usually undiscerning ears - not normally concerned with such trivialities as...
Published on 12 Oct 2009 by Colin McCartney

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Another loudness war victim
As other reviewers noted, this remaster has too much bass and it is too loud. Disclaimer: I'm an idiot that sold all my vinyl, including Computer World, back in the day. So I don't have that to compare to. I have 3 CD versions. While it is hard for me to make comparisons to original album about warmth, it is not hard for me to remember that the music was not dominated by...
Published on 16 Sep 2012 by A reader


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost perfect, 12 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Computer World [VINYL] (Vinyl)
I'm not reviewing the music itself, just the product. The LP is a substantial weight and the sound is as good as I've heard from vinyl, with minimal surface noise. Nevertheless, considering this is a premium edition and, presumably, one aimed at the "audiophile" market there's no shortage of annoying clicks and pops that keep going through several rotations. I've had better for similar money. One might assume that the price you pay here relates more to the recording and packaging, which are both superb, than to careful handling received by the disc after pressing. A similar experience with other Kraftwerk titles in the series leads me to doubt whether there'd be anything to gain in seeking a replacement. Ah well, nothing that conversion to MP3 and some judicious click removal couldn't solve... just for music on-the-go, you understand!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kraftwerk - Computer World, 3 Jun 2010
By 
Pip (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Computer World (Audio CD)
Just as Mad as I remember but I think my original vinyl copy has a better sound quality, any one who is a fan of Kraftwerk probably has this album if you haven't or are new to their unique sound you can't go wrong its a good intoduction to the group and even as a stand alone album i'ts excellent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greatest ever electronic album, 1 Jan 2003
By 
Robert Evans (Weston-super-Mare, North Somerset United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Computer World (Audio CD)
With "Computer World", Kraftwerk produced the last great album of their entire catalogue, and certainly the finest of their illustrious career. The album builds on the pioneering experiments of earlier albums such as "Radioactivity" and "The Man-Machine", in which newly advanced technology produces spectaular analogue melodies, bleeps and fulminating special effects. The playful "Pocket Calculator", devastating electro track "Numbers" (one to eight in different languages) and charming love song "Computer Love" are the cornerstones of this milestone in electronic music. You won't get better. Kraftwerk know this as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Greatest Album of All Time, 8 Dec 2006
By 
Mr. S. A. Cliff "Si" (Stoke, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Computer World (Audio CD)
This is easily Kraftwerk's best album, and I have been returning to it regularly for the past 20 years-it really is that good. Do yourself a favour and buy this album NOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best Kraftwerk album, 14 Nov 2009
By 
S. FREEMAN (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Computer World (Audio CD)
Apart from 'Pocket Calculator' - which I find annoying (if amusing), this album holds together really well, and is quintessential Kraftwerk - fusing great melodies with austere and sublime industrialness! I particualary love 'It's More Fun to Compute', once it gets going with those really trancy mantra synth sounds. Yes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Future (as imagined 33 years ago), 21 April 2014
By 
Brian Hamilton "brianhamilton14" (Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Computer World (Audio CD)
Computer World is another remaster of the back catalogue of Kraftwerk albums and this one is an absolute cracker. It contains slightly more up-tempo and lyric heavy tracks compared to some other outings (such as Autobahn and Trans Europe Express) and it does not suffer in the slightest from this different approach.

There are two well known, slam dunk classics on this album in the form of Computer Love and Pocket Calculator, both tracks are absolute standouts in the Kraftwerk ouevre and come across as very heartfelt, passionate tracks.

The last track, It's More Fun To Compute is an anomaly, it actually sounds quite modern even after all these years, it revolves around a slow-tempo but thumping bass with a crackling synthline overlaid, a very catchy combination that is the perfect counterpoint to the vocoder like male vocal that speaks to the track title repeatedly.

Although this was obviously a concept album, a paean to the possibilities of the dawning computer age, in retrospect it doesn't feel like other concept LP's such as Autobahn and TEE, where the high concept is met by lengthy tracks, this album feels more like a collection of greatest hits, distilled down to radio friendly length and perfection.

I have half of the remasters and will, soon, have them all, I think that this is my current favourite and definitely a good starting point for the newbie Kraftwerk collector.

Awesome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Super!!, 25 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Computer World (Audio CD)
This was the first Kraftwerk album I ever heard. This copy brings back many happy memories and sounds great.

Thanks Amazon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Kraftwerk, 24 Feb 2014
By 
Steven Jenkins (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Computer World (Audio CD)
Computer World was a great success at the time of its release and to a Kraftwerk fan like me it stilll holds its own as a piece of work. Contextualise it with its peer group and one can only marvel at the innovation and technical prowess of the band - and this is a showcase of that talent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brief but brilliant!, 20 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
On on this one Kraftwerk have everything in place; seamless, electronic rythmns, infectious melodies and genuine, quirky humour. Great music, lousy cover. Their masterpiece!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Blast from the past, 17 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Computer World (Audio CD)
Still as good as I remember it to be. Buying it takes me back to University and life in the 80's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Computer World
Computer World by Kraftwerk (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews