Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The highlight of Waits' "drunk piano crooner"-career
"I was sick through that whole period. It was starting to wear on me, all the touring. I'd been traveling quite a bit, living in hotels, eating bad food, drinking a lot - too much. There's a lifestyle that's there before you arrive and you're introduced to it. It's unavoidable."

Tom Waits said this about the time the album was recorded, and these are exactly...
Published on 14 July 2010 by Thomicas

versus
4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars CAN'T FAULT ME FOR NOT TRYING!
I started off with "Nighthawks At The Diner", and as my Amazon review shows, I was unable to find any traces of the 'stardust' that Tom Waits sprinkles over many people. However, and to use a favourite expression of a politician about to go back on a promise "I have reflected", and have made an effort to leave no stone unturned in my quest for that elusive (as far as I...
Published on 23 Jan. 2011 by DOPPLEGANGER


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Good old Tom, 17 Nov. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Small Change (Audio CD)
Bought this on vinyl back inthe 70s and it had all the sultry melancholic overtones so typical of Tom Waits and here we are, middle aged and missing him having bought only one other of his many albums on cd.Not surprisingly Very American and extremely depressing if caught in the wrong mood,However the sax is delightful in addition to the old joanna. it has not dated one jot and the gruff power in his voice... Get it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An enthralling adventure, 3 Feb. 2004
This review is from: Small Change (Audio CD)
This is without a doubt one of the finest collections of music I have ever had the pleasure of owning and i feel it is the jewel in Waits' crown. A masterpiece of arrangements and lyrics which are undeniably Tom and which you will not find anywhere else. This album is an insightful and emotional journey through late night America where Waits is most at home. Slow, often painful melodies guide the listener through the sinews of the musicians mind where euphony and cacophony sit side by side surrounded my metaphors both obvious and obscure. If you are into good music, make that great music of any kind then you could not but appreciate this album. You will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must Have, 3 Dec. 2011
By 
This review is from: Small Change (Audio CD)
I was just looking through a list, and this came up at three quid. It's one of the best albums ever , if you don't have it, you don't have a record collection. Buy it. This is when Tom had tunes without kicking the garage door.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Waits at his best, 27 Nov. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Small Change (Audio CD)
I have been a Tom Waits fan for many years, and for me Small Change marks the peak of his talent. Despite being a gifted pianist and singer, Tom always says that words are his main instrument, and you have only to listen to "Tom Trauberts Blues" or "I Wish I was in New Orleans" to realise this is the case.
This album is a little known classic, and will wring every emotion from your heart as you listen to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 30 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Small Change (Audio CD)
To my mind this superb album by the magnificent Tom Waits has to my ears taken the very best of James Ellroy and turned him into poetry set to the most sublime music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Waits, 4 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Small Change (Audio CD)
I am a massive fan of Tom Waits, and this album contains some of his best work. Defiantly recommend.

Plus there is totally boobies on the cover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 6 May 2013
By 
John Harald Stenseth "Beyond71" (Oslo, Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Small Change [VINYL] (Vinyl)
No fillers here. Only classic Waits for every melancholy occasion. On Vinyl. Like it's supposed to be. Gravel and lifeworn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Songwriter's Album In The World...Ever!, 31 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Small Change (Audio CD)
"Small Change", in my opinion, is the finest addition to the Tom Waits cannon, and the best example I can think of of an album that consistently showcases brilliant songwriting. The quality never wavers, and the tone is more personal than on many other Waits albums. The result is a bar-stool confessional, life as seen through the whisky glass; hard luck stories told for anybody who cares to listen...all to a soundtrack that is both bluesy, jazzy, and beatnik-funky. Wait's pre-eminence as a writer has long earned him kudos from more prominent artists, and the classic opener on this album ("Tom Traubert's Blues") gave Rod Stewart (a confirmed Waits fan) an unlikely chart hit a few years back. This is a sorry, booze-soaked tale of unrequited love, underpinned by a lush, stringed arrangement that lends it a festive air, which wouldn't seem out of place on Heart Attack and Vine. Next up is the beat-poet satire on the mania of commerce that is "Step Right Up"...here Waits adopts the voice of a "closing down, everything must go" salesperson of irrelevant specificity - the song's all-embracing intentions are brilliantly inscribed with a wonderfully timed bit of scat singing as Waits recites "that's right you too can be the proud owner of this quality hoosay boosing boosong..!!" Classic. Waits wouldn't look out of place in the company of the contemporary literati. "Jitterbug Boy" is another boozy confessional, with Waits's down-on-his-luck narrator sounding as though he'd had a few too many before collaring a bar neighbour to spew out some unlikely stories to ("once upon a time I was in showbiz too..")...a similar tone but possibly even more pathetic (and beautiful sounding) lament arrives later with "Bad liver and a broken heart". In this, another alcoholic, sorry tale of unrequited love, Waits muses on the girl who "tore him apart", and in just a couple of pointed metaphors conveys a girl to die for: "she was sharp as a razor, and soft as a prayer." All the songs on this album are worth a mention. "The piano has been drinking" (not me!) is an hilarious description of a shabby late night boozer in a series of compressed metaphors ("the spotlight looks like a prizon break") in which the singer subtly suggests that maybe he is as lurid as everything else about the place; and yet comes out of it engagingly qualified in a turn of phrase as comic as it is acerbic ("the owner is a mental midget with the IQ of a fencepost".) This is a truly great album, at turns moving, funny, voyeuristic (witness the leering narrator of the album's second beat poem, "Pasties and a G-String", in which he confesses "I'm getting harder than Chinese Algebra" whilst ogling over strippers in a - you've guessed it - late night joint.) Overall, "Small Change" is an ingeniously written, booze-soaked love-poem to the late night wino life of the big American cities - by the unlikeliest crooner of them all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 23 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Small Change [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Tom Waits for no Man!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Witty, moving masterpiece, 14 Mar. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Small Change (Audio CD)
This is a great album, with some great jazz/blues backing to Waits' unmistakeable voice and superb lyrics. This is a much more moving, personal album than his better known ones such as Rain Dogs and Swordfishtrombones, and is well worth a look, especially if your are a fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Small Change
Small Change by Tom Waits (Audio CD - 1989)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews