Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars71
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£4.86+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 March 2013
Contains some of her best and most famous songs. Recorded just before she left folk for more adventurous music. Look out for the bargain price 10 disc set of her original albums
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2012
It really has been a most fascinating and enjoyable musical journey following Joni Mitchell's career.I was enchanted by the early folky style albums such as ' Clouds ' and ' Ladies of the Canyon ' until reaching maturity with the sound of ' Blue ' and my particular all time favourite which is ' Court and Spark '.I play it over and over because I just find it so damn lyrically sophisticated and melodic.I love my jazz and the influence here does of course make this album extra special.' Trouble Child ',' Twisted ' and the totally marvellous ' Down To You ' and ' Just Like This Train' hit the spot for me every time.What an inspirational lady she is and any human would have too go along way to match her extraordinary output over the years.Thank you Joni for all your wonderful music.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2013
A real delight finding an exquisite album by Joni Mitchell that I had missed the first time round, every track is great.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2005
Before this album was released Joni was vastly becoming hugely famouse with awards, critical acclaim, constant tours and more recently she was writng songs that appealed more to the mainstreem song like You turn me on i'm a radio a top 30 hit in America and her hits were becoming more radio friendly which is one way of describing this epic album. The album contain 3 huge hits in America, the top 10 'Help Me' the top 30 'Free man in Paris' both featured in Rolling Stones top 500 songs and the more minor hit Raised on Robbery. The album itself was one huge hit when it climbed its way to number 2 on billboards hot 100 becoming a record for a Canadian female until Alanis Morrissette hit number 1 with Jagged Little Pill in the 90's. After hitting number 2 the album sold 2 million copies was nominated for several grammys but only maaged one for the arranement of Down to you. The grammys recieved critism and Olivia Newton john recieved boo's that night for winning over one of that years most important artists. That year Joni got loads of coverage like appearing on magazines and she was winning other awards elsewhere. She was also doing loads of sell out dates in concert at the same time that Court and Spark and its 3 hits were all over the radio. The opening track is a combination of previous simple song and her new more jazz feel songs. Help me, the albums highlight, is a superb song which has been covered by Mandy Moore, Wynonna Judd and KD Lang, Free man in Paris is another huge highlight. People's paties is a less complex song so is Same situation, both important to be contained on the album to show Joni was stil true to herself despite all the fame and coverage. Car on the hill is very complex musically and very simple lyrically. Down to you, is a long epic masterpiece which earned its grammy, Just like the train is a more mellow song. Raised on Robbery was the fist song of the album to be exposed and was met with a great reception from not only Joni fans but fans of Rock 'n' roll, the song is another highlight. Troubled child is another excellent song and the last song Twisted is the only cover version on the album and is one of the only covers she has ever done. This album was 111 on Rolling Stones top 500 albums and has enteted the grammy hall of fame and is a true rare classic album that is of a very timeless piece of recording.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2014
Joni is in a league of her own. Although my favourite album of hers is 'Blue' this is by no means inferior and is a outstanding body of work by anyone's standards. Considered by some to be her best work, although if you are new to her music I would start with 'Blue' and make your way to this CD.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2015
Absolutely great album. I have had the CD from Amazon for years. It wasn't available on digital as well when I bought the CD. Getting it to my devices was easier than it ever has been for me this time for some reason. It has usually been really difficult.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2016
My original Album, background to my life way back was owned, played and played but went a wall - this restored lost memories. Wonderful songs by an amazingly inventive , creative woman. Hope you get better soon, Joni.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2016
As the incredible woman sings herself "You can't please 'em all, there's always somebody calling you down." But I haven't a bad word to say about her astounding musical talent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2015
Amazing classic album that takes you straight back to the mid-seventies.
Joni Mitchell's talent and artistry goes unsurpassed to this day.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2014
An album that i enjoyed in the seventies. Lovely music and lyrics from Joni Mitchell. Sung along with it despite my family's objections!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.41
£5.62

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)