Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb live stuff...
Until the release of this double version of this live recording from the U.S.A. this album was only available in the U.K. and Europe as a very inferior sounding single album that was cut to pieces.
But this version has been restored by the artist herself, using the HDCD process bring forth the depth of her supporting cast "Pat Metheny","Lyle Mays" and "Patorious"...
Published on 27 Jan 2003 by Milt Ingarfield

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Jazzy Joni
I am a huge fan of Joni's early work, and while her voice here is sublime as ever, and the songs top quality, it's just too much of a jazz album for my particular taste.
Published 15 months ago by joppajobby


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb live stuff..., 27 Jan 2003
By 
Milt Ingarfield "milt_fm" (Arbroath, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shadows and Light: Live (Audio CD)
Until the release of this double version of this live recording from the U.S.A. this album was only available in the U.K. and Europe as a very inferior sounding single album that was cut to pieces.
But this version has been restored by the artist herself, using the HDCD process bring forth the depth of her supporting cast "Pat Metheny","Lyle Mays" and "Patorious" this jazz playing band adding another dimension to the songs that Joni presents here.
The wonderful sound of her voice is prefectly counter-pointed by this excellent band which make the songs their own in a live environment.
Some fans might not like the arrangements of the more folk based songs, but remember with an artist like Ms Mitcell she is always trying to push the enevlope, myself I just hang on and enjoy the wonderful ride! Please note that this is not the whole album yet as it appeared on vinyl, but still the only live "Joni Mitchell" album worth having on C.D.
Buy this and wonder at this wonderful music icon from Canada, truly jaw dropping stuff...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Opened my eyes to Joni, 6 Feb 2004
By 
Martin Turner "Martin Turner" (Marlcliff, Warwickshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Shadows and Light: Live (Audio CD)
The double vinyl of this CD was my first encounter with Joni Mitchell, and I was instantly captured. I've lain on the sofa with the lights out listening to this album on repeat for so many evenings.
This is Joni Mitchell at her best, supported by non other than Jaco Pastorius and Pat Metheny, with long time collaborator Lyle Mays. Getting Joni, Jaco and Pat all on the same album is something in itself unmissable.
Slightly disappointingly, two songs were cut from the double vinyl to fit onto this CD, including the loss of Big Yellow Taxi.
However, you still get exquisite passion on every track. For me, Amelia followed by Pat's Solo is the climax — of this album, and perhaps of her entire career. Joni Mitchell finds a parallel to her own life in Amelia Earhardt, and the lyrics are both personal and striking (the sound of flying engines - is a sound so wild and blue - it scrambles time and seasons - if it gets through to you - then your becomes a travelogue... and ... I guess I've never really loved - I guess that is the truth - I've spent my whole life - at icy altitudes...).
Following this straight through, we experience one of Pat Metheny's finest moments on guitar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Joni's greatest LIVE recording, 18 Mar 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Shadows and Light: Live (Audio CD)
There is something masterful regarding "Shadows And Light" for many of the previously recorded studio versions of songs, seemed to fair better Live - such as the title track, and others like "Amelia" (the best track on this set), "Dreamland" and "Edith and the KingPin." Unfortunately omitted from the CD version of the Lp is "Don's Solo" which is a wonderful four minute drum-solo piece that evokes Joni's interest in primitive african/native drums. The omitted track originally appeared before "Dreamland" and provided an excellent edited intro to the well known Joni anthem. "Don's Solo" belted out a rhythm rarely heard outside of African/Native ceremonial dancing. Nevertheless, this CD is excellent, timely, haunting, crafted, and musicians tight together in delivery. It also shows how far Joni had come, leaving behind her folky roots and experimenting in jazz, rhythms, and lyrics. "Why Do Fools Fall In Love" is happy and fun. No risk here!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thanks "Beeb"..., 27 Nov 2002
This review is from: Shadows and Light: Live (Audio CD)
Having been into Weather Report I can still clearly recall the showing on BBC 2 of about half an hour of the "Shadows and light" set many, many years ago.
I was in no way prepared for the effect that this short cut of television would have upon my record collection!
I had been prepared to see some sublime Bass playing, but had no idea of what Joni Mitchell or Pat Metheny were about.
I'll keep this short.
I discovered in Joni Mitchell a songwriter/lyricist that for once lived up to *my* elevated expectations, and in Pat Metheny possibly the most sensitive and emotional guitarist that it has been my privalage to have heard.
"Amelia"/"Pat's solo (also featuring Lyle Mays) is one of the most moving pieces that I have ever owned, and proved a springboard into the careers of two of the most gifted musicians I have ever had the pleasure of listening to.
This album is a masterpiece from beginning to end, and if only once, a justification of the dreaded licence fee!
ENJOY!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars joni at her best, 30 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Shadows and Light: Live (Audio CD)
I bought this when it came out as a record(vinyl) The opening is quite amusing jumping from shadows and light to why do fools fall in love and some obscure dialogue then blasting into in france they kiss on main street with some brilliant lead guitar and a guitar solo not on the studio version.Joni`s voice on edith and the kingpin is superb .Coyote remains one of my favourites(similar to don Juan`s reckless daughter not on this album)Goodbye pork pie hat and the dry cleaner from des moines are jazzed up to the hilt with joni`s voice simply stunning.Amelia ,pat`s solo and hejira are breathtaking.The remaining tracks must be listened to to be believed.This collection is a must for a true joni mitchell fan just to listen in awe of that wonderful voice complemented perfectly with musicians of the highest order.The album versions of these songs are taken to new heights which is a feat not all artists are capable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Discovered a long time after, 10 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shadows and Light: Live (Audio CD)
I never knew this recording existed until a few weeks ago when I discovered it in a friend's vinyl collection and subsequently found it on CD. A live album featuring a super-group of musicians - Pastorius, Pat Metheny, Lyle Mays, Michael Brecker - with great live interpretations of some favourite old tracks from albums such as 'Hejira'. Joni's voice is terrific, as always, but check out her guitar work which is every bit as good as the studio recordings. Highly recommend this if you are a Joni fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Album Ever!, 11 Dec 2013
By 
Mr. Ian M. Dalton "Ian M Dalton" (Hamilton, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shadows and Light: Live (Audio CD)
This album has been my favourite for 20 years, and I don't see that changing any day soon. From Joni's pitch perfect voice, to the best virtuoso band you've ever heard, don't miss this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Joni Mitchell Shadows & Light CD (2 disc set), 16 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This CD set has all the tracks that are on Vinyl Album unlike the UK (european) version that was/is on sale in the UK stores.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't matter what the format - it's great music, 8 April 2013
By 
G. Wilson (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shadows And Light (MP3 Download)
An absolute classic. I got this on vinyl when it was originally released, and have revisited it after 20 odd years, and it still sounds just as good. Joni has a huge musical range, and manages to make a great job of most of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Album, 27 Jan 2013
By 
G. R. Chapman (Boston, Lincolnshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is worth buying just for the electric bass playing of the late Jaco Pastorius coupled with Joni Mitchell's distinctive voice
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Shadows and Light: Live
Shadows and Light: Live by Joni Mitchell (Audio CD - 1990)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews