Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars10
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
1
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£2.54+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 March 2002
Why is David Holmes so relativly unknown, even after producing work of this jaw dropping quality, when his emulators, such as Fat Boy Slim get so huge? This album just makes old Norm seem so...crass. Subtle, delicate, groovy and oh-so-cool, this album is a film, it's a huge hollywood blocbuster without pictures. It feels not like a collection of seperate tracks, but a continual narrative. An album in the truest sense of the word. I came across Holmes by accident and now just want everything he's ever done.
Buy this buy this buy this buy this.
11 comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2010
I've had this album for years and always go back for more. Constantly surprising, endlessly inventive, funky, funny and menacing all at once - reminds me of Hendrix in that way, if he'd had a synth, laptop and been born 30 yrs later. An under-appreciated classic - you'll wonder how you've gone so long without it.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2000
This is brilliant, plain and simple. A real mix of styles - some are plain funky (my mate paul), some are heartachingly beautiful (don't die just yet) and some make you want to laugh out loud with exhilaration (headrush on lafayette). All mashed together over a backdrop of the sounds of new york. Buy this.
And also buy his essential mix LP (it's on amazon, but not as david holmes. It's the essential mix 1998 one, I think, by various artists. The one that starts with contact by brigette bardot, anyway. That's even better than this)
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2013
It's strange that on this, which is without doubt the best album I've ever heard, there is not a single track that would feature in my top 100.

But this is not a collection of songs - this is an album. As another reviewer has said, it feels like a trippy trip through the city at night, meeting colourful characters on the way. Some parts are funny, some dark. At the end you feel as if you emerge into a city morning, happy for it, the city goes back to sleep as the people take over, and life goes on.

Whatever you do, don't listen to any track in isolation, as the album works only as a whole, and, as I've said, it's probably one of the best albums ever made.

Can't recommend it enough to open-minded people who like their music strange and deep.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2015
5/5. Love this cd. I am keen on a great deal of his work and some not so keen but this one has classics like Rodney yates on and others which makes it one of his finest cd's I believe. Very dark in places and nice use of street scene audio samples all together a great album. David Holmes has done alot of work in movies and you may like his work with the Ocean 11 movie or with Out of Sight. He has many albums aswell so I am sure that there is something that would work. For me it's this one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2009
DAVID HOLMES IS A GREAT MUSICIAN AND DJ SO HE HAS MADE GREAT WORKS AND HIS PEAK WAS LET' S GET KILLED. IT IS A MUST HAVE ALBUM. WHAT MAKES THIS ALBUM GREAT IS THAT DAVID HOLMES FINDS THE PERFECT BALLANCE FOR HIS IDEAS AND HIS MUSIC INFLUNCES. THE SOUND THAT REACHES YOUR EARS FROM THE MIXTURE OF ELECTRONICA, FUNK & SOUL IS PERFECT. GREAT ALBUM FROM A GREAT MUSIC PERIOD. THE ALBUM HAS THE HYMN MY MATE PAUL. LISTEN IT AND THEN YOU WILL BUY IT FOR SURE.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2015
Ienjoy it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 1999
Varied New York American sound with a fantastic atmosphere; really makes you feel like you're walking around the streets of NYC. Wicked!!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2000
What a superb album this is !
Bought it about 18 months ago.. & within about the 2nd/3rd airing of it, ABSOLUTELY fell in love with it.
Would MOST DEFINATELY now be in my "Top 5" CDs out of the 40+ that I own.
I rate it so highly that (about 2 weeks ago) bought his earlier album: "This flim's crap, lets slash the seats" (via this site of course ! ) just on the sound of this CD.
Favorite tunes for me are No. 3 and 12 - beautiful ! Moody, Mellow & Mysterious would be one way to describe all the tunes.
I say to all those who read this review:
"Enough of reading this - go buy it ! ".
You WON'T be disappointed.....
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 1999
only a few understand , along with DJ Krush,DJ food and Tosca(opera) this is the most shiverring album of 'em all my hat off for you Mr.Holmes
Hugo (Tate ?)
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)