Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Change was Cast
Over shadowed by the classic albums of the 90's such as urban hymes, defiantly maybe, stones roses, All Change is very much over looked. John Power emerged from he much troubled La's, to produce the first and best album by Cast. Although many of the tracks could be about the magic man himself lee mavers (front man of the La's) Back of Mind, Walkway to name two, Power...
Published on 3 May 2007 by L. porter

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A few good
Sounds a bit weak now. A few good songs
Published 2 months ago by DB


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Change was Cast, 3 May 2007
By 
L. porter - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: All Change (Audio CD)
Over shadowed by the classic albums of the 90's such as urban hymes, defiantly maybe, stones roses, All Change is very much over looked. John Power emerged from he much troubled La's, to produce the first and best album by Cast. Although many of the tracks could be about the magic man himself lee mavers (front man of the La's) Back of Mind, Walkway to name two, Power provides catchy pop songs, with a message to be listened to. (Mankind/ History)

The opening track all right is pop perfection, the next ten tracks offer pure Beatles, and Beefheart influenced Liverpudlian magic. Four Walls, Sandstorm , Relfections are all songs you want to run out and show all ya mates!!!!! Don't listen to the cynics, buying this wont be something you regret!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant example of how rock and indie should be, 14 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: All Change (Audio CD)
Cast are a band that don't get the recognition they deserve. Every track on All Change is a fine example of how indie should be. The singles Alright, Sandstorm, Finetime and Walk Away are all brilliant and worth the asking price on their own. The rest of the album shines with quality also Two of a kind is a masterpiece despite being slightly longwinded and Promised land is a fabulous tuneful song. John Power and the band have excelled themselves with this mine of golden musical nuggets. The La's despite being good don't hold a candle to the band their bassist John Power spawned. This is without a doubt the best of their albums to date and an essential purchase for any indie fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Refreshing, 22 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All Change (Audio CD)
I Grew up in the 1960/70's so Duran Duran, Level 42, Jam & Boston (ect) was the sort of music I'd generally listen to in my late teens 20's, I bought this Cast Cd and after a few listens I found that I'd really taken to it I've ordered some more Cast Cd's from Amazon..I was aware that 'Walk Away' & 'Guiding Star' was out in the 90's but not there album music I am now reinventing myself now from the mid-90's, getting to know some really good music that I'd missed in the mid-late 90's, but this album is excellent !!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Liverpool's Finest, 3 Jan 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: All Change (Audio CD)
Other than The Beatles, Cast are indeed the best band to come out of Liverpool. All Change was not the first Cast album I bought as I only started appreciating their music two years ago. I bought Mother Nature Calls, and can honestly say it is the best album I have ever heard. Live the Dream, always makes me cry and She Sun Shines and Guiding Star are just two of the fantastic tracks on the album.
After listening to All Change - I cannot understand why I didn't start listening to John Power's genius band sooner. I love Sandstorm,Alright, Finetime and Walkaway best but Four Walls and Back of my mind are also good.
John Power has written all these songs single handedly and I would just ask one question: Why do Cast not get as much recognition as Travis or Coldplay? They are truly great and a credit to Liverpool. Easily my favourite band ever!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 2014 Deluxe 2CD+DVD la!, 5 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a great debut album, a classic of the 90's - if you like guitar pop/rock/britpop/scouse rock whatever, you'll love this. I'm going to give a quick run down how this version of All Change compares to the previous Deluxe version from 4 years ago.

This album was originally released in 2010 as part of Universal's never ending Deluxe programme. Only All Change was released though and was a 2CD edition. It was pretty good - full album, b-sides and a plethora of demo versions, some very early given by John Power. Bit of a surprise when I heard the album was being reissued again, this time by Edsel (under licence from Universal) and as part of a set of all 4 Cast albums.

This issue comes in a more robust hardback book style case, very smart and more durable than the fidgety open out earlier Deluxe version. The full album and b-sides are here including the 7" only Finetime (Acoustic). All lyrics are included even for the b-sides which is a nice touch of detail. A DVD is included containing a new interview with John Power, all the promo videos and TOTP appearances and a few Jools Holland tracks they did. The DVD is something the earlier version didn't have.

A slight gripe I have is with Disc 2. Flying (which was a stand alone single between albums 1 and 2) has been included along with relevant b-sides. In my mind I see Flying as being part of Mother Nature Calls even more than the 1st album. It may have been written when the 1st album was also written, I'm not sure. In 1997 when Mother Nature Calls was released a special edition came out with a bonus disc of the Flying single, implying they belonged together. Strange to see it here and not album 2. The biggest down side is that most of Disc 2 is filled with BBC sessions. Thats great if you don't have the Cast BBC Sessions album but fans who do will have most of this already. There are a few tracks here that weren't on the previous Deluxe version - Walkaway (BBC session) and the two demo tracks. The reason for this might be because the BBC Sessions CD has been deleted - the Amazon price has shot up for this, so maybe this is the best way to get these tracks.

There are a few tracks that could have been included such as the Live At Leeds flexi track Tell It Like It Is and the 2 Japan-only b-sides of Flying (Four Walls live and Finetime live) which would gather up already released but obscure tracks. Not here unfortunately.

All in all though its a good reissue and the fact that all 4 albums have been done in the same style means they look great on the shelf together. Unfortunately a lot of the demos on the previous Deluxe version aren't here, so for completists theres no choice but to own both. For the general Cast fan this has everything you'll ever want anyway - full album, b-sides and a great DVD so I'd recommend this as the one to buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Youthful Dreams, 6 May 2013
By 
Red Army Follower (Northwich, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All Change (Audio CD)
I was 19 when this came out and like any music that grips you at that age, stays in your mind forever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Album, 3 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All Change (Audio CD)
* * * * * Great album, highly recommended. . . .arrived quickly. Very pleased! * * * * *
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 30 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All Change (Audio CD)
A classic album bought to replace a tape from years ago. Brings back some very happy memories from songs that don't really age. If only the same thing could be said of me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cast are so very underrated!, 13 Jan 2011
By 
Mr. S. G. Mccusker (Belfast, N Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Bought this after years of having it on tape. The deluxe version is worth the extra. Its a great recording in its own right also. Definately a recording for a time and a place. Excellent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You picked a fine time, 4 May 2009
This review is from: All Change (Audio CD)
Powerful yet bittersweet pop music from the Scouse scallies. Best album by far as they were somewhat limited musically, however this is an album that perfectly captured that late-90s feel and the optimism tinged with nervous anticipation that we all felt as the Twentieth Century came to a close.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

All Change
All Change by Cast (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews